The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Play and Opinion (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97164-play-opinion.html)

deecee Sat Feb 01, 2014 09:20am

Play and Opinion
 
Team A shoots the ball, ball goes off the rim and carroms about 10-15 feet away from the basket. by the time the ball is off the rim, and 0 chance for a rebound or any players below or near the rim A1 jumps and snaps the rim.

What's your call?

Toren Sat Feb 01, 2014 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 920852)
Team A shoots the ball, ball goes off the rim and carroms about 10-15 feet away from the basket. by the time the ball is off the rim, and 0 chance for a rebound or any players below or near the rim A1 jumps and snaps the rim.

What's your call?

Is it emphatic?


So far it sounds like a HTBT

johnny d Sat Feb 01, 2014 09:56am

Double Dribble.

Rich Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 920852)
Team A shoots the ball, ball goes off the rim and carroms about 10-15 feet away from the basket. by the time the ball is off the rim, and 0 chance for a rebound or any players below or near the rim A1 jumps and snaps the rim.

What's your call?

Traveling. There, I got it out of the way. :)

I'd have to see it -- I could see calling a technical foul, I could see calling nothing.

deecee Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920861)
Traveling. There, I got it out of the way. :)

I'd have to see it -- I could see calling a technical foul, I could see calling nothing.

Me too. I called the T. The coach and player said he did that to protect himself but there wasn't anyone under the basket and usually in a dunk to protect yourself you would hang on the rim until congestion below clears. Plus since the ball was no where near only exacerbated the whole scenario.

BillyMac Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:18am

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 920863)
... there wasn't anyone under the basket.

That was a part of the rule about twenty-five years ago. No longer. Now it's just to protect himself, even if nobody is under him.

"A player shall not: Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury."

Rich Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 920870)
That was a part of the rule about twenty-five years ago. No longer. Now it's just to protect himself, even if nobody is under him.

"A player shall not: Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury."

Maybe it's not part of the rule text, but it's certainly a factor in deciding if he's truly protecting himself.

BillyMac Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:16pm

No Chin Ups ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920872)
Maybe it's not part of the rule text, but it's certainly a factor in deciding if he's truly protecting himself.

If the kid's off balance, and needs to "get himself set" before landing, I don't care if there's somebody under him, or not.

Adam Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 920878)
If the kid's off balance, and needs to "get himself set" before landing, I don't care if there's somebody under him, or not.

I'll give him that on a dunk, but not on a rebound attempt. If he's that uncoordinated, he shouldn't be jumping that high.

Rob1968 Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 920870)
That was a part of the rule about twenty-five years ago. No longer. Now it's just to protect himself, even if nobody is under him.

"A player shall not: Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury."

10-3-3 "A player shall not: . . . Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury, . . ."

As I recall, the older wording included ". . .(to prevent injury) . . . to himself or another player." In the OP, neither possibility seems imminent. But, it's a HTBT, for sure.

deecee Sat Feb 01, 2014 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 920884)
10-3-3 "A player shall not: . . . Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury, . . ."

As I recall, the older wording included ". . .(to prevent injury) . . . to himself or another player." In the OP, neither possibility seems imminent. But, it's a HTBT, for sure.

It was neither. He jumped towards the rim, and could have landed just fine. I will add, after halftime as I was about to inbound the ball to his team, he was the inbounder. He apologized and said he is just very afraid of injuring himself. If he didn't grab the rim he would have landed just fine as there was no one near the area under the basket. If I thought for a minute this was to prevent an actual injury I would have, but usually dunkers dont just grasp the ring and let go. They will at least hang there for a second or two.

RulesGeek Sat Feb 01, 2014 02:10pm

From the OP I am getting that the ball was already 10-15 feet away when A1 jumps. That sounds like grabbing the rim out of frustration. Maybe HTBT, but I think player earned the T before we ever reach the question of whether he could safely come down.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 01, 2014 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RulesGeek (Post 920892)
From the OP I am getting that the ball was already 10-15 feet away when A1 jumps. That sounds like grabbing the rim out of frustration. Maybe HTBT, but I think player earned the T before we ever reach the question of whether he could safely come down.

I agree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1