The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correct ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97139-correct.html)

Refk Wed Jan 29, 2014 02:26pm

Correct ?
 
My son plays college basketball and I was watching his game last night when he drove to the bucket, made the shot and was fouled. Unfortunately, he and the defensive player had been chirping at each other all game and just as the official is going to report the foul ---- wack!!! he gets a T. The officials huddled and decided to shoot the Technical FT's then my son shot his FT then the opposing team received the ball for throw in.

Just curious if this was done in the correct order ?


BTW I get double bonus when watching him play : Getting to watch my son play ball and also observing the college officials.... pretty cool.

RefK

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920320)
My son plays college basketball and I was watching his game last night when he drove to the bucket, made the shot and was fouled. Unfortunately, he and the defensive player had been chirping at each other all game and just as the official is going to report the foul ---- wack!!! he gets a T. The officials huddled and decided to shoot the Technical FT's then my son shot his FT then the opposing team received the ball for throw in.

Just curious if this was done in the correct order ?


BTW I get double bonus when watching him play : Getting to watch my son play ball and also observing the college officials.... pretty cool.

RefK

Sounds like it was an Class A unsporting technical. So yes, the technical is shot first. However, after that it should have been POI. So the players fill the lane with your son shooting his And 1; there would be nothing by rule that Team B gets the ball for the throw-in.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:05pm

This "shoot the T first then resume POI" has been the rule since at least last season (maybe even before; I forget). Yet, we get this question here seemingly once a week.

Seems strange to me.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 920322)
Sounds like it was an Class A unsporting technical. So yes, the technical is shot first. However, after that it should have been POI. So the players fill the lane with your son shooting his And 1; there would be nothing by rule that Team B gets the ball for the throw-in.

Of course, if his son makes his FT, then the opponents get the ball for a throw-in, by rule! ;) Perhaps that is what the OP is describing.

Refk Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:38pm

He did make his FT , they received the ball at mid court .

Thanks

Refk

tjones1 Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 920322)
Sounds like it was an Class A unsporting technical. So yes, the technical is shot first. However, after that it should have been POI. So the players fill the lane with your son shooting his And 1; there would be nothing by rule that Team B gets the ball for the throw-in.

What about dead ball contact?

Nevadaref Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920338)
He did make his FT , they received the ball at mid court .

Thanks

Refk

Ouch!

tjones1 Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920338)
He did make his FT , they received the ball at mid court .

Thanks

Refk

Sounds like there may have been (or they ruled) dead ball contact.

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 920339)
What about dead ball contact?

The OP doesn't have any dead ball contact...unless chirping is dead ball contact.

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920338)
He did make his FT , they received the ball at mid court .

Thanks

Refk

If they received the ball at half court, then they ruled it a single dead ball contact technical. Which in the OP, you didn't describe.

So either your post is not detailed enough and described it poorly...or the officials didn't adjudicate properly.

Refk Wed Jan 29, 2014 04:09pm

It wasn't a contact foul, talked with son after game and said that he received a T for what he said to opposing player .

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920353)
It wasn't a contact foul, talked with son after game and said that he received a T for what he said to opposing player .

Then the officials did it wrong.

It should have went...Technical shots first, lane clear for team B.

Resume at POI, which is your son at the line with lane filled. If he makes it, then team B gets their throw in from the end line. If he misses, then it's rebounding action.

And away we go.

There are only 2 reasons we take the ball out at the division line on either side, single flagrant 2 technical foul and single dead ball contact technical.

Refk Wed Jan 29, 2014 04:16pm

Thanks for the information, I was unsure of the ruling since it was college rules.

Always learning,

Refk :)

Nevadaref Wed Jan 29, 2014 04:21pm

If it had been a dead ball contact T, then his son should have attempted his FT first. The T administration would then follow.

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920364)
If it had been a dead ball contact T, then his son should have attempted his FT first. The T administration would then follow.

Correct. Thanks for clarifying since I omitted that information.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1