![]() |
Duke vs Miami double foul vid request (Clip Added)
1st quarter 7:16
One official called block on a duke player other official called charge on Miami player. 0nly 2 officials huddled. Ruled double foul. Miami gets throw- in on end line. |
Quote:
oh no. A blarge. |
Blow and hold!!! Blow and hold!!!....lol
A blarge is never fun, and although it sometimes makes no difference whether or not is discussed in the pregame-as far as I am concerned personally I will always discuss this in pregame and will always do my best to avoid such situations by waiting that second longer to make sure no blarge happens before I give a preliminary! It happened to me a few years back, and I don't ever want it to happen again! |
Quote:
Lead (Jamie Luckie) had a charge and C (Tony Greene) had a block. Looks like any easy block as the defender lost LGP when moving forward. |
Best Dickie V comment in response to the realization they are calling a double foul: "They are just making everyone happy."
That's our goal in administering the rules, just make sure everyone is happy...:) |
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/57SEK0mR8hM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
|
I don't see an immediate signal from C, so why bother with the huddle and double foul? Plus isn't that L's call all the way?
I don't have a problem with the PC here. Tough call with the offense coming in hot like that. |
Quote:
It's a block - the C is correct. Why penalize the offense for "coming in hot?" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Not sure how the L saw this as PC. Doesn't really even look that close. Different angles, I guess. |
I don't mind C having a whistle but I think he has to give L first crack. That being said I think the C got the call right.
From the sideline view looks like a charge, but looking at the end line view I have a block. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As is, the C had the right call IMO. |
You know, I want to take back what I said about transition -- the L was in perfect position to take this play and, well, missed it.
Related thought: I've always found it odd that the L making the wrong call is preferable to the blarge -- at least ONE of them got it right. :D |
Quote:
The L should have been able to see that but it would have been much more difficult. The L would have seen lateral movement better, but not forward movement....and laterally, the defender looked like he got there to me. |
Quote:
|
On another topic I noticed the start of this game was delayed for several minutes while the officials sorted out an issue. At the end after talking to several players, one person off the Miami bench I didn't recongnize and the head coach one player removed his all white arm compression sleeves and the game began. Another player was wearing orange an white sleeves. I don't know what the NCAA rule is buy I would guess it is the sleeves must match for all players?
|
I agree with tjones1 and APG here, in that L is in best position to call this (although it might not have been the right call on this play. It's debatable, at least). Additionally, this is one of many examples, in my opinion and watching experience (certainly not calling), of officials in the Men's game working a lot more loosely with PCA's than in the Women's game, and being way too quick to whistle on fouls in others' PCA's.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Orange and white sleeves stayed on and the solid white ones got taken off. You could tell when the official was talking to the Coach that the Coach thought what ever he was saying was rediculous. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If there was a memo, it would be great if someone who has access could copy and post it. |
I posted in another thread that I had one conference supervisor who sent out an email specifically to address undershirts.
There is a waiver this season concerning dual-colored arm sleeves, so adherence to the rule was addressed in that memo. |
Block all day every day.
With that said, this should be a single whistle from the Lead and the Lead would have been wrong. No problem, we're all wrong sometimes. If i'm the C, I'm only cracking if my Lead doesn't have a whistle at all. Thanks BNR for the update on sleeves at the Div 1 level. |
I'm going to disagree with the crowd ok this one.
Defender has legal guarding position and moves laterally to maintain that position - and contact comes on the torso. Dribbler was never airborne so the requirement to be set prior to the upward motion doesn't exist. This looks player control to me. |
I have a PC foul as well. The defender does not move towards the defender, he moves laterally.
And IMO, this is in transition, I have no problem with both officials have a crack on this. The C just has to be aware that someone else could have a whistle on this play. Peace |
Quote:
The problem is that the C and L both go right to a preliminary signal without even considering the other could have a whistle. The L doesn't even go up with a fist. We can get away with that most of the time, but not all of the time. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Just doing my part to be sure we have all the possibilities covered. At least we all agree that a "no-call" is not a valid choice. |
I didn't really want to be the first one to say it (Thanks guys), but I thought PC as well. I think it would look like PC in real time.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And yeah, the refereeing the defense thing was a joke, lighten up guys :P |
Quote:
If it is a block, what did the defender do wrong? I cannot think of anything that shows the defender was wrong in his movement. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I've sat in meetings where official's supervisors have watched similar tapes and had diverging viewpoints. As long as we know what to look for, we'll get more right. And, both sides have explained that they know what to look for. There's no need to try to "win" this debate by convincing the other side. (directed generically) |
Quote:
When the 2 players were about 10' apart, the defender was about 3' above the top of the letters "ACC". When they were about 5' apart, one foot was near the "ACC", at the time of the collision, one foot was on the "ACC" and the other one still shuffling forward to try to match. Block. |
[QUOTE=maroonx;919658]1st quarter 7:16
One official called block on a duke player other official called charge on Miami player. 0nly 2 officials huddled. Ruled double foul. Miami gets throw- in on According to the replay shown the L should be the primary and it would be his call. The C is secondary and after he blew his whistle he should have just waited. Of course NCAA might be different than how we call it for high school games. I wonder if the officials discussed this in their pre-game? That being said I see this as a block on the Duke defender but that's just hinsight--looking at the play in slow motion. If I was on the court as either the C or the L it's difficult to predict what I would have called in real time!! |
Quote:
|
For close plays like this one, I have found that something will be obvious that would indicate that the play is a block.
I didn't see anything that is obviously a block. I did see something that tends to a PC, although it wasn't a clear-cut case for that either. In the end, I've got a PC. I think the L gets the first crack at this one. I agree with bob that a no-call is wrong, so if I'm the C, I'm stepping in only if the L doesn't. I definitely don't see this as a "crew call" that was mentioned in another thread. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm. |