The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kansas vs Okla St - Blarge (Video Request) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97059-kansas-vs-okla-st-blarge-video-request.html)

grunewar Sat Jan 18, 2014 06:22pm

Kansas vs Okla St - Blarge (Video Request)
 
2:29 to go in the second half.

This game has had six, T's too......

AremRed Sun Jan 19, 2014 01:50am

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/DgSjEhiX1N8?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Camron Rust Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:00am

That was a block....not really even close. The defender was still moving forward even at the time of contact when he had to have stopped before the upward motion started.

For those that assert the "blarge" call should default to to the primary official, this is a perfect example of a case that would penalize the wrong player if that had been the way it was resolved.

AremRed Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:10am

Announcers got it wrong. Doug Sirmons was the C, John Higgins was the Lead. I agree this is a block, but after seeing the baseline view I can see a faint case for a charge call from Lead. After all it was a secondary defender from Lead's area, thus Lead's primary. C had the best look at whether the player had established LGP before upward motion, which the defender clearly never had. Not a terrible call considering the offensive player looked out of control as well. Now if I ever have a blarge I can just say "well, two Final Four officials had one..." :D

JetMetFan Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:14am

Am I the only one who thinks it's odd the T didn't blow his whistle since the drive originated in his primary?

JRutledge Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:19am

I got a charge. Then again that is what I default to.

Peace

Raymond Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 919053)
Am I the only one who thinks it's odd the T didn't blow his whistle since the drive originated in his primary?

I'm not surprised.

And it was a block.

APG Sun Jan 19, 2014 03:12am

Easy blocking foul...defender is moving forward toward the offensive player at the time of contact.

JugglingReferee Sun Jan 19, 2014 04:26am

Block

Nevadaref Sun Jan 19, 2014 04:49am

Blocking foul. As several other have stated the defender is clearly moving forward, although from the Lead's angle this movement would be difficult to see.
Note the crew correctly went with the double foul.
Does anyone who watched the game know if they went with the AP arrow (to Kansas) or if Kansas got the throw-in because it had team control at the time of the double foul (try was yet to be released)?

PS what's with the black undershirt on the defender?

easticles Sun Jan 19, 2014 06:02am

Block! The defender continued to make a forward movement once the shooter was airbourne. I see it all to often here in Australia where players get greedy and try to take position!

AremRed Sun Jan 19, 2014 06:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 919053)
Am I the only one who thinks it's odd the T didn't blow his whistle since the drive originated in his primary?

I think you are the only one. I cannot see Trail having a whistle on this play under any mechanics set. Unless both Lead and C pass on it (not gonna happen).

bob jenkins Sun Jan 19, 2014 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 919053)
Am I the only one who thinks it's odd the T didn't blow his whistle since the drive originated in his primary?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 919065)
PS what's with the black undershirt on the defender?

The play never would have happend if the officals had TCB. ;) (The shirt was one of the first things I noticed in the video.)

Raymond Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 919053)
Am I the only one who thinks it's odd the T didn't blow his whistle since the drive originated in his primary?

The Trail could have saved the crew with a 3rd whistle and calling a travel. :D

Only have joking, b/c it is very close to A1 gathering with his left foot down.

Sharpshooternes Sun Jan 19, 2014 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 919118)
The Trail could have saved the crew by with a 3rd whistle and calling a travel. :D

Only have joking, b/c it is very close to A1 gathering with his left foot down.

Did you guys see, that play? The blargavel? Triple whistle, one block one charge and one travel, all of whom signaled the preliminary at the time of the whistle.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1