![]() |
10 seconds back court violation?
Resuming play after a T.O. on opposite end of the court for the offensive team. Time remaining is exactly 1:00 minutes. Throw-in caught and clock starts properly. Offensive team is granted a time out, offensive team is still 5' in the backcourt and the clock reads 48.7 seconds. The C and L have definite knowledge that the clock started properly.
1. If you had been either the C or L would you have blown this violation? 2. During the timeout discussion, the T freely admitted that he wasn't aware of time on the resumption of play but stated that his count had not reached 10. If your answer is no you wouldn't have blown this violation from C or L, would you have blown it if the clock had gotten to 45:00? |
1. No. Not my call to make and clock starting and TC starting are not necessarily the same thing.
2. OK, then he/she needs to do better. Peace |
There's a specific FED case where the violation cannot be called (same as if it was called but the clock read :51).
In NCAA, C and L have joint responsibility with T on 10-second calls -- they use the shot clock. |
Quote:
Bob, Using Fed, when (:45, :40, "50) would you be comfortable putting a whistle on this play? Once you start making these kinds of calls, where does it stop - i.e. closely guarded plays, throw-ins, f. throws, etc.... |
Quote:
Curious to find out the answer! |
New for this year, NCAA-M use the shot clock for the 10 second back court violation as well. Watch the games on tv, you will notice the officials no longer have a visible count.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
That said, at some point, I would step in. You can't let, for example, a team hold the ball in the BC for 8:00 minutes. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
When did they add the ten second violation for NCAA W?
|
Quote:
|
I would definitely blow this violation if I were the L or C, even in high school game. Of course, here in MA, it's a little easier to justify making that call, because we use a shot clock. So everybody knows exactly when 10 seconds has expired in the possession.
I agree with the people who say you can't call the violation once the TO is granted. |
Quote:
Scrapper, Wow! Are there other timing violations that you would step in and handle for your partner? For example, would you blow a closely guarded count out from under your partner if the shot clock indicated that the player had been closely guarded for 6 seconds? Throw in at 6 seconds? I don't mean to ask these questions in an argumentative manner. I guess I'm just trying to understand how important this particular call is to you verses other violations????? |
Quote:
I just don't understand why it took so long to use the shot clock instead of a visible count in order to get these violations. |
Quote:
Throw in: No, because there is no situation where the shot clock is running during a throw in. Also, you've either got a situation where the clock hasn't started, or there is judgment involved in when the throw in started. By Fed rule, I'm not getting this until it gets ridiculous (as bob indicates above). Even then, I'm more likely to blow it dead and have a quick chat with my partner, quietly, to make sure he's paying attention. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
How would I know what the throw-in count is? I guess it would be possible to check the game clock at the start of the throw-in after a made basket, but really, how practical is it for me as the off-official to check the game clock at the start of every throw-in after a basket? However, when everyone in the gym can see the shot clock at 20 seconds, it's obvious that the violation has occurred, even if my partner's count is a little slow. So -- especially if there is backcourt pressure -- I will get the violation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Scrapper, I see your and Rich's point about the shot clock. We don't use shot clock here but it was clear that the game clock was at 1:00 for resumption of play and was at 48.7 when it stopped for a granted T.O. If no shot clock, but game clock did start properly - at what point, would you have blown this violation for your partner? 49.9? 49.0? Would you treat this situation the same as if you had had a shot clock? |
Quote:
However, if the clock was stopped for time-out with 1:00 remaining, I suppose it's possible that I would notice this and have some definite knowledge about when the violation should occur. In that rare case, I would come get it at 0:49. But I think that's extremely unlikely. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Everybody can see 1:00 on the clock after the time-out. You can see the ball possessed immediately inbounds. And you can see the clock hit 0:49. It's obviously a violation. It's just as obvious as if you had a shot clock, except that it's not on a separate clock. If you would do it with a shot clock, I don't see the rationale for not doing it without one. |
I'm wondering why the off-official is watching the clock instead of the players in his area... but that's just me.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
One of my big pet peeves: Assuming that officials can only look at one thing at one time and that being aware of something else means they're looking there at the expense of their primary responsibilities. Really? We can't multi-task? We don't have peripheral vision? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Either way, you can either be looking at the clock or looking at play, but not both. Every split second spent on the clock is a split second not looking at your primary. |
Quote:
How do you ever get an illegal screen in your primary when you're on the ball? I mean, every split second you're watching that screen you're not watching the ball handler. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Very odd responses.
Let me ask this. My partner is walking up with the dribbler ... and has a count. I have pretty much everyone else until they get closer. I agree that it's certainly possible for me to stop watching my primary and glance over at the clock. But why am I doing this? Are we now advocating that it's part of our responsibility to babysit our partners? Unless the clock just happens to be in my peripheral vision, I see no need to make any undue effort to glance at the clock at this moment. |
Quote:
I see what everyones saying, it is certianly more than possible to do this, my view point is why would you...? |
Quote:
And, frequently, the players in the FC aren't really doing anything in terms of denying the ball / setting screens until the ball gets to the FC. So, you have time to glance at the clock. |
Quote:
You're abandoning your primary to fish in your partner's pond. Quote:
|
Most every game I work, there is a clock at both ends of the gym. Not very hard to see the clock and my primary at the same time. :rolleyes:
The above is a just a statement of fact. Not indicative of what I would or wouldn't in the various situations being discussed. |
I wonder if you guys know how misleading your peripheral vision can actually be? If as an official you *only* know whats going on in your primary at all times that must be very limiting IMO. Plus there are times that the clock isnt started, or the shot clock may be reset by mistake, and having an excuse that, "oh that's my partners primary" just doesn't cut it.
|
I'm not necessarily advocating calling a violation on this play as the off official. I'm only arguing the point that an off-official wouldn't be able to look at this clock in this situation.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Fair enough. I'm not saying that glancing at the clock is not possible. I'm saying that I can't imagine the need or desire to do so in lieu of just about anything else I might primarily or secondarily be responsible for.
|
video
Here's a ten-second call from the C, with yours truly starring as the man with the whistle. I even got fancy and superimposed a clock on the screen.
<iframe width="640" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/tuSOGs6Eo7M?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
IMO, that was to close for "help" in HS, was this college? And does college use the clock, not the count?
|
Quote:
And yes, the clock is used which is why I ended up making the call while the T was watching the ball handler and defender. |
Quote:
And C (and as a last resort L) can specifically get this in NCAAW. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
JetMet, looks to me like you blew at 20. Isn't the violation supposed to occur at 19, due to 30 not being a whole second?
|
Quote:
20.0-20.9999 (1 sec).....21.0-21.99999....all the way to 29.0-29.99999 (10 sec) |
Quote:
Quote:
The clock, internally, starts at 30.000000 but only displays 30. At the very instant it is turned on, it internally drops to 29.999999. However, it may either still show 30 (rounding up) or it may show 29 (rounding down). In either case, it will remain the same until is crosses below 29.000000. In the case of a clock that rounds up for the display, the violation would occur the moment it shows 20. In the case of a clock that rounds down for the display, the violation would occur when it shows 19. An easy way to tell is to see if the horn sounds the instant it reaches 0 (a clock that rounds up) or if there is a delay of 1 second between the horn reaching 0 and the horn (a clock that rounds down). I believe that most, if not all, modern clocks operate by rounding up so that when it shows 0, it is truly 0.0000000 and not 0 and a fraction.....or that when it shows any whole number, it has passed below that whole number but not yet reached the next whole number. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
MOST shot clocks stay at 30 (or 35) for a second before changing. They round up. THe horn sounds as soon as the clock shows 0. In any event, the rule / mechanics are clear to blow the whistle as soon as the clock hits 20 (or 25). |
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02am. |