![]() |
Technical foul on substitute—mechanics
Let's say a Team A substitute is sitting on the bench wearing his warmup over his jersey. He says something to me that crosses the line and I call a technical foul. Obviously I have to get his number because it counts as one of his five. What is the best way to go about obtaining his number? Ask him to pull up his warmup shirt or tell the coach to ask him?
Also, what is the best way to report this to the table? Let's say his number is 12. "White, 12, technical foul. That counts as one of his five. That is also charged to the coach. Coach, by rule you must sit for the rest of the game."? Thanks! |
Quote:
Quote:
Table might not need this reminder (esp. if kid is still wearing his warmups -- it's unlikely he will play enough to get 5 fouls) |
I didn't mean to include the part about the coach having to sit (obviously I would let him know).
But why not let the table know to mark the T to the coach, as well? To avoid accidentally marking two team fouls? Thanks Bob. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
You need to read the table to decide how much information to give them. If you give them extra, it's probably better to do so "face-to-face" at the table, rather than from the reporting area.
You should be able to remember how many Ts (D or I) the coach has. ;) |
Quote:
|
I never report indirect Ts to the scorer. I just inform the coach.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Come, Mister Tally Man, Tally Me Banana ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Shorthand ...
Quote:
Does a running score really need to be recorded? If the player points are recorded, isn't that enough to figure out who wins the game? Just add them up. Plus, "the scorer shall record ... notify an official immediately when ... the third technical foul is charged to the head coach." If the scorer is supposed to notify the officials when a third technical foul (direct and indirect) is charged to the head coach, shouldn't he have that information recorded for easy reference? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46pm. |