The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2014, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
throw in violation?

College game. Team B scores. A2 steps out of bounds along endline followed by A1 stepping out of bounds with ball along endline, A1 passes ball to A2 while both remain out of bounds. Partner later comments that a throw-in violation had occurred since both players were out of bounds before the throw-in started and during the throw-in.

Both NCAA men (7-4-6b) and NFHS (7-5-7) rules allow the privilege of passing to a teammate out of bounds after a score. I can find no rule or case citation that indicates that the privilege is not granted if both players are out of bounds before the start of the throw in and during the throw-in.

Any clarifications or citations?
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Throw in violation lucky1313 Basketball 3 Thu Mar 09, 2006 09:50am
Throw in violation? Rick Durkee Basketball 6 Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:33pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw-in violation Bruce Taylor Basketball 3 Thu Feb 24, 2000 10:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1