The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2014, 03:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,023
Suspension coming

Sad to see the official give up on the play like that.
When the right foot touches the floor it is simultaneously both traveling and an OOB violation. There is 0.7 on the clock at this point.

I have a charge on the 2nd play. If that's going to be a blocking foul by rule, then defenders have no reasonable amount of protection anymore and coaches will be teaching their players to run everyone over.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2014, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
The official was too close to the sideline play to see the travel and the out-of-bounds violation.

As for the block/charge play, that's an easy block under the revised NCAA-M rules this year. The official HAS to get this correct (especially w/1:05 left on the clock).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2014, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Sad to see the official give up on the play like that.
When the right foot touches the floor it is simultaneously both traveling and an OOB violation. There is 0.7 on the clock at this point.

I have a charge on the 2nd play. If that's going to be a blocking foul by rule, then defenders have no reasonable amount of protection anymore and coaches will be teaching their players to run everyone over.
They already are, and on the other side, you see many players just getting out of the way and giving the easy lay-up. I think that's part of what the NCAA wants.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2014, 05:58pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Under the new NCAA block/charge parameters, that was a block.

Under HS rules, that was a charge.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
When the right foot touches the floor it is simultaneously both traveling and an OOB violation. There is 0.7 on the clock at this point.
I agree.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 650
I was watching the game, and as it ended was asking myself why the other two officials didn't come together to talk about the play to make sure they got it right. Instead, they all just ran off the court.

Not sure if there is any NCAA protocol for a situation like that. Apparently, there isn't.

Any of you NCAA guys have further input?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by #olderthanilook View Post
I was watching the game, and as it ended was asking myself why the other two officials didn't come together to talk about the play to make sure they got it right. Instead, they all just ran off the court.

Not sure if there is any NCAA protocol for a situation like that. Apparently, there isn't.

Any of you NCAA guys have further input?
It's not a monitor review item (I don't think), and neither of the other officials would have a look at the line.

On the travel, you (as one of the other officials) need to decide if you had a good enough look at it and if it was a "crew saving" call. If so, then make it. don't get together after the fact to try to correct it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's not a monitor review item (I don't think), and neither of the other officials would have a look at the line.

On the travel, you (as one of the other officials) need to decide if you had a good enough look at it and if it was a "crew saving" call. If so, then make it. don't get together after the fact to try to correct it.
Is this a situation that the SEC assignor will review with the official(s)? I hate seeing any official make mistakes that could result in harsh reprimand and/or consequences. But, that mismanagement of the game was a pretty big deal. I'm somewhat surprised the Auburn coach hasn't made a big deal about not getting an opportunity for another inbound play that would give his team another chance to tie or win the game.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 01:44pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
NCAA rules are different than NFHS rules for a subset of technical fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
The circumstance you describe would.

NCAA has you shoot the tech first.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 02:02pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
Most technical fouls in NCAA-M are two shots and play resumed at POI, not two shots and the ball to the offended team.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by #olderthanilook View Post
Is this a situation that the SEC assignor will review with the official(s)? I hate seeing any official make mistakes that could result in harsh reprimand and/or consequences. But, that mismanagement of the game was a pretty big deal. I'm somewhat surprised the Auburn coach hasn't made a big deal about not getting an opportunity for another inbound play that would give his team another chance to tie or win the game.
I don't work the SEC, so I'm only speculating, but -- officials are reviewed after almost every game, and it would not surprise me if they all got a downgrade for this (and maybe lose a game). And, there are procedures for a coach to raise this issue -- and those do NOT include "making a big deal" our of it publically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
Missouri had the ball, Auburn committed a foul, then committed a T and then Auburn inbounded? That doesn't sound correct.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 02:23pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
Assuming that the Missouri player made the last free throw, then the POI would be Auburn inbounding the ball from the endline. They should have shot the two Technical free throws first, then brought everyone back into the lane spaces and shot the 2 for the personal foul. Play would resume from there.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 02:29pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I just remembered another play in this game I needed some help on. In the second half a Mizzou player is fouled on the shot, it is the defender's 5th. The defender apparently said something to, or bumped into an official (never showed any replay or got clarification) and got a T. Missouri shoots two shots, then shoots two technicals, then Auburn inbounds. I was very confused. What circumstances would result in Auburn getting the ball back after a T has been called?
What type of throw-in? Anywhere along the endline or designated spot?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vid request missouri at nc state jeremy341a Basketball 33 Wed Jan 01, 2014 01:44pm
Video request: Michigan/Duke-OOB, scuffle, technical, resumption of play (Clip Added) fiasco Basketball 18 Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:23am
Pacers vs Heat - Game 5 (Video Request) grunewar Basketball 49 Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:28am
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm
Video request: Memphis/Xavier inbounds play Nevadaref Basketball 12 Fri Mar 01, 2013 08:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1