![]() |
Throw In Violation?
See this occassionally and it always gets me doubting myself.
Ball is at dispoisal of A1 for a throw in. While passing in the ball, A1 steps on the boundry line but not actually onto the court. Violation? |
Why would it be?
|
The line is out if bounds...so no violation.
|
If the court was marked with a two-foot wide boundary line would you penalize a thrower for standing on it?
|
Quote:
|
This is one of those things that is so simple it is possible to never give it a thought. I had a veteran coach bring this up to me. He was talking about a play made by his own team, and thought they had gotten away with something: "On the throw-in, I think my guy stepped on the line." I said: "So what?" After a brief explanation, he appeared embarrassed. "Oh, yeah......DUH."
|
Quote:
|
Ask those senior refs how they call it when you have a 3 foot wide solid belt around the floor.
|
Quote:
If part is inbounds and part is out of bounds, then it's a violation, even though the player is still out of bounds. |
See 4-9-2 The inside edge of these (boundary) lines define the inbounds and out-of-bounds areas.
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a throwin violation, not traveling. A player inbounding the ball may “dribble” the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. |
The player inbounding the ball is allowed to jump and make a pass, correct?
|
Quote:
|
Second Time Is A Charm ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
As to the question in this thread it's very valid. I've had the same question asked during my BV and GV games at least three times the past two years.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Do I hear an echo? |
How bout if they lose their balance and touch the court with the ball. Violation?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In the Ancient Days, it was a Violation for the Thrower to step on the Boundary Line if the Boundary Line was two inches wide, but not if the Boundary Line was wider. This Violation was legislated out of the Rules between twenty and 25 years ago. Surprisingly, there are still people who think this is still a Violation. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Misty Water Color Memories ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Billy: That is the first thing I do every morning: I look in the obituaries, and if I do not see my name and picture, I know it is going to be a good day. Of course, every time I go to the Post Office I do see my picture, :p. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am. |