The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump Stop + Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96900-jump-stop-foul.html)

johnnyg08 Mon Dec 30, 2013 04:51pm

Jump Stop + Foul
 
What do you think about this play? Proper mechanics? Posted here for discussion purposes. What, if anything, can we learn from this play?

http://goo.gl/m38Zs4

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/aatIX1xtV9g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JetMetFan Mon Dec 30, 2013 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 916316)
What, if anything, can we learn from this play?

First and foremost, don’t shoot video clips off of a TV screen :rolleyes:

Second, that’s not continuation. I doubt Red 11’s habitual motion to attempt a try includes a jump stop then taking off again. If he put up the shot while he was contacted in the air prior to the jump stop then it's continuation.

Raymond Mon Dec 30, 2013 05:25pm

I am liberal with continuous but not for jump stops.

OKREF Mon Dec 30, 2013 06:19pm

In my corner of Rome, we have been instructed to call this a travel. A jump stop in which the feet don't land simultaneously is a travel. This is from our state association.

APG Mon Dec 30, 2013 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916329)
In my corner of Rome, we have been instructed to call this a travel. A jump stop in which the feet don't land simultaneously is a travel.

That is simultaneous in my books.

Rich Mon Dec 30, 2013 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 916330)
That is simultaneous in my books.

Mine too.

deecee Mon Dec 30, 2013 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916329)
In my corner of Rome, we have been instructed to call this a travel. A jump stop in which the feet don't land simultaneously is a travel. This is from our state association.

If they mean the exact same time then I think they are asking too much of any human being. Might as well take jump stops out of basketball.

johnnyg08 Mon Dec 30, 2013 07:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 916320)
First and foremost, don’t shoot video clips off of a TV screen :rolleyes:

:rolleyes:

Remington Mon Dec 30, 2013 08:01pm

Gather?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916329)
In my corner of Rome, we have been instructed to call this a travel. A jump stop in which the feet don't land simultaneously is a travel. This is from our state association.

Although it's not clear, it does not appear he has gathered the ball until both feet are in the air. He has the ability to then establish a pivot foot. I would not call this a travel even if you felt the feet didn't land simultaneously.

Adam Mon Dec 30, 2013 08:03pm

No way I'm calling this a travel unless I clearly hear two thuds. I'll make that call, and I've had a coach start telling me from across the court that it was a jump stop. I looked at him, and mimicked the landing by taking two steps in place. He smiled and let it go.

OKREF Mon Dec 30, 2013 08:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 916332)
If they mean the exact same time then I think they are asking too much of any human being. Might as well take jump stops out of basketball.

Yes, at the same time. If one lands before the other it isn't simultaneous.

AremRed Mon Dec 30, 2013 08:27pm

Traveling or continuation doesn't matter because I'm calling a charge.

deecee Mon Dec 30, 2013 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916336)
Yes, at the same time. If one lands before the other it isn't simultaneous.

Except in reality we give some leeway in this.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:42am

If the issue the OP wished to raise was a discussion of continuous motion, then I don't believe that this will end up being so clear, following some discussion.

First the text of the rule:
"If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or *stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight."

My personal opinion aside, a good case can be made that the player was stepping while being fouled and completing the jump stop should be considered the usual foot or body movement in such a case. Just because it is a rare situation doesn't mean that it isn't covered by the rule.

For those who support awarding FTs (or counting a goal) for a player who is fouled while gathering the ball and then completes his stepping movement prior to following through with his attempt for goal, what is the difference here with the jump stop?

johnny d Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916329)
In my corner of Rome, we have been instructed to call this a travel. A jump stop in which the feet don't land simultaneously is a travel. This is from our state association.

Does your state consider the play where the offensive player stops his dribble or catches the ball with both feet off the ground a jump stop? If so, they are wrong to insist that the player has to have both feet land simultaneously for the jump stop to be legal.

Rich Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 916346)
If the issue the OP wished to raise was a discussion of continuous motion, then I don't believe that this will end up being so clear, following some discussion.

First the text of the rule:
"If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or *stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight."

My personal opinion aside, a good case can be made that the player was stepping while being fouled and completing the jump stop should be considered the usual foot or body movement in such a case. Just because it is a rare situation doesn't mean that it isn't covered by the rule.

For those who support awarding FTs (or counting a goal) for a player who is fouled while gathering the ball and then completes his stepping movement prior to following through with his attempt for goal, what is the difference here with the jump stop?

I'm with you -- I'm not all that sure it's clear cut.

I'm half tempted to bang it home just to hear everyone scream, "He wasn't shooting!" Hell, they all do it when it's obvious he's started a try for goal. :D

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:18am

I think that it is a charge or a no call. Defender has two feet down in the path facing ball handler, definitely before the shot. Defender looks like he tries to sell the contact from this angle. Ball handler attempts to go around defender with the jump stop.

How can it be a block on the secondary defender? He sure didn't do anything wrong. If the foul was on the primary defender with a push or some thing than it definitely is not continuation but I don't see anything foul worthy from that player either.

For discussion sake though, if you had the exact same play with a euro step instead of the apparent jump stop, it is defiantly a shooting foul. But I think I am with the majority that say action before the jump stop is not continuation but a foul after the jump stop most defiantly would be continuation.

VaTerp Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 916346)
If the issue the OP wished to raise was a discussion of continuous motion, then I don't believe that this will end up being so clear, following some discussion.

First the text of the rule:
"If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or *stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight."

My personal opinion aside, a good case can be made that the player was stepping while being fouled and completing the jump stop should be considered the usual foot or body movement in such a case. Just because it is a rare situation doesn't mean that it isn't covered by the rule.

For those who support awarding FTs (or counting a goal) for a player who is fouled while gathering the ball and then completes his stepping movement prior to following through with his attempt for goal, what is the difference here with the jump stop?

If I thought this was a block I'm scoring the bucket here.

It looks like a PC to me though.

And if you come out of this play with a travel......... No bueno for the assignors I call for.

Rich Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 916375)
If I thought this was a block I'm scoring the bucket here.

It looks like a PC to me though.

And if you come out of this play with a travel......... No bueno for the assignors I call for.

It's a good discussion that could come out of this post -- did the L do a good job of refereeing the defense on the secondary defender?

OKREF Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 916347)
Does your state consider the play where the offensive player stops his dribble or catches the ball with both feet off the ground a jump stop? If so, they are wrong to insist that the player has to have both feet land simultaneously for the jump stop to be legal.

We have been instructed, at a camp, by staffers, any jump stop in which both feet don't land simultaneously, is a traveling violation.

Adam Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916391)
We have been instructed, at a camp, by staffers, any jump stop in which both feet don't land simultaneously, is a traveling violation.

johnny is right, though. This is only a travel if the ball is gathered prior to the jump rather than gathered in the air.

ballgame99 Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:34am

If that dribbler clearly ends his dribble before take off (I don't think he did in this case), then I could see a travel there. There is a lot going on in that play, and for the lead to ascertain when the dribble ended, if the defender had LGP, and whether the jump stop was clean, all in the span of .5 seconds, I will cut a guy some slack if he doesn't see the feet.

I don't see that contact being signficant enough to be a PC, although he did appear to be in LGP. He flops a bit anticipating more contact than ended up happening. Therefore this is a no-call for me. But if you have a block here I see it as a shooting foul. If he was doing a euro step it is clearly a shooting foul, so why not on a jump stop?

Rich Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 916399)
If that dribbler clearly ends his dribble before take off (I don't think he did in this case), then I could see a travel there. There is a lot going on in that play, and for the lead to ascertain when the dribble ended, if the defender had LGP, and whether the jump stop was clean, all in the span of .5 seconds, I will cut a guy some slack if he doesn't see the feet.

I don't see that contact being signficant enough to be a PC, although he did appear to be in LGP. He flops a bit anticipating more contact than ended up happening. Therefore this is a no-call for me. But if you have a block here I see it as a shooting foul. If he was doing a euro step it is clearly a shooting foul, so why not on a jump stop?

I think people say "flop" when they mean something else entirely. This is not a flop.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916391)
We have been instructed, at a camp, by staffers, any jump stop in which both feet don't land simultaneously, is a traveling violation.

well, if you gather the ball in the air, and then land with the feet one-two, it's not a jump stop, so I guess the statement is correct. ;)

OKREF Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 916403)
well, if you gather the ball in the air, and then land with the feet one-two, it's not a jump stop, so I guess the statement is correct. ;)

Thank you. Someone finally got it.

APG Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916423)
Thank you. Someone finally got it.

Everybody got the statement...I just find it hard to believe that anyone wouldn't think what was show in the video wasn't simultaneous. At least for me, it has to be more obvious than that for me to judge it not being at the same time.

ballgame99 Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 916401)
I think people say "flop" when they mean something else entirely. This is not a flop.

Embellishment? :confused:

Camron Rust Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 916424)
Everybody got the statement...I just find it hard to believe that anyone wouldn't think what was show in the video wasn't simultaneous. At least for me, it has to be more obvious than that for me to judge it not being at the same time.

I find it hard to believe anyone can claim much of anything for THAT video. It was like watching TV through a frosted glass window.

OKREF Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 916424)
Everybody got the statement...I just find it hard to believe that anyone wouldn't think what was show in the video wasn't simultaneous. At least for me, it has to be more obvious than that for me to judge it not being at the same time.

It's close, either way.

Adam Tue Dec 31, 2013 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 916428)
I find it hard to believe anyone can claim much of anything for THAT video. It was like watching TV through a frosted glass window.

Agreed. I couldn't tell either way from the video. If the official had called a travel, I wouldn't be able to argue with him.

JRutledge Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:18pm

The video is so grainy I cannot see anything definitive. And it gets worse on the moment the play is being discussed for what should be called.

Peace

Rich Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:19pm

You need to watch the replay in the second half of the video.

JRutledge Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:22pm

It is still grainy and is hard to see what significance the contact had on the play. But for discussion sake, if a player gathers the ball to perform a move to the basket, I am giving them the shots. A jump stop does not exclude the ability to be going to the basket.

Peace

AremRed Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 916446)
But for discussion sake, if a player gathers the ball to perform a move to the basket, I am giving them the shots. A jump stop does not exclude the ability to be going to the basket.

If you are giving a player shots for this, you are also counting the basket. If you are waving off the continuation because of the jump-stop you should also wave off any shooting motion and give the ball out of bounds.

JRutledge Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 916449)
If you are giving a player shots for this, you are also counting the basket. If you are waving off the continuation because of the jump-stop you should also wave off any shooting motion and give the ball out of bounds.

I did not say anything about not counting the basket. I know what continuous motion means too.

Peace

Ref16 Tue Dec 31, 2013 06:03pm

Although it is hard to tell from the quality of the video, from what I CAN see-I tend to agree with the guys who said they would have a charge here.

Jmo

Raymond Tue Dec 31, 2013 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 916329)
In my corner of Rome, we have been instructed to call this a travel. A jump stop in which the feet don't land simultaneously is a travel. This is from our state association.

In this play, did he gather in the air or on the ground? I sure can't tell.

JRutledge Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 916476)
In this play, did he gather in the air or on the ground? I sure can't tell.

I can't tell either. Which makes this hard to see with the quality of the video.

Peace

rpirtle Wed Jan 08, 2014 04:45pm

I've got a foul during the jump-stop...while shooter is still in the air. The contact caused the shooter to travel (feet did not land simultaneous...not by the standards here in N TX). Wipe the basket & give 2 shots.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1