The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Game over? (video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96865-game-over-video.html)

JetMetFan Tue Dec 24, 2013 06:02pm

Game over? (video)
 
The moral of this story - for me, at least = work the game until it's over.


<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/pr2YNTcnm6g?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

bob jenkins Tue Dec 24, 2013 06:28pm

Is reviewing the timing on a violation an acceptabel reasdon to go to the monitor? I don't see either official call either a violation or indicate the game is over.

JetMetFan Tue Dec 24, 2013 06:43pm

My issue is no one put a whistle on the violation in the first place. If that happens then we can go to the monitor.

Zoochy Tue Dec 24, 2013 07:03pm

Did his Butt hit the ground with .8 remaining. Or was he able to brace himself?

Raymond Tue Dec 24, 2013 08:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 915856)
Did his Butt hit the ground with .8 remaining. Or was he able to brace himself?

He travels at 1.3 when he replants his pivot foot.

Ky ref Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 915859)
He travels at 1.3 when he replants his pivot foot.

The lead ref looks at the losing coach,maybe going to the other ref to discuss the ending will help

Adam Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ky ref (Post 915863)
The lead ref looks at the losing coach,maybe going to the other ref to discuss the ending will help

To what end? The L has to trust the c to have this travel call, if it's there, because the L cannot see if the ball is being controlled as his feet are moving. C has a perfect view. If C doesn't call it, L has no business getting this one.

Having a pow wow at this point is meaningless. The call was missed, but they can't go back and get it later.

JetMetFan Wed Dec 25, 2013 06:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 915864)
To what end? The L has to trust the c to have this travel call, if it's there, because the L cannot see if the ball is being controlled as his feet are moving. C has a perfect view. If C doesn't call it, L has no business getting this one.

Having a pow wow at this point is meaningless. The call was missed, but they can't go back and get it later.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ky ref (Post 915863)
The lead ref looks at the losing coach,maybe going to the other ref to discuss the ending will help

Again, to echo Adam, if you don't put a whistle on the play there's nothing to discuss...at least not until they're in the dressing room. I'm baffled as to how the C could look dead at the play and not blow his whistle at all, even when the player with the ball hits the floor.

By the way, don't look at the time remaining on the screen graphic. The player traveled with 0.9 remaining and hit the court with 0.4. You can see the arena clock behind the basket and in the upper right.

JugglingReferee Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:36pm

This play reminds me of the NCAA game a few seasons back. I think it was even a tournament game, where a player traveled and touched OB on the bench sideline in front of the table. L and T were both on that sideline and neither called anything. The C was mid-court and had to have seen what happened and also called nothing, possibly because his two partners were veterans.

JetMetFan Wed Dec 25, 2013 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 915885)
This play reminds me of the NCAA game a few seasons back. I think it was even a tournament game, where a player traveled and touched OB on the bench sideline in front of the table. L and T were both on that sideline and neither called anything. The C was mid-court and had to have seen what happened and also called nothing, possibly because his two partners were veterans.

It was a 2011 Big East tournament 2nd Round game between Rutgers and St. John's. The same thing ran through my mind on this play.

NCAA official head: Finish 'unacceptable' in St. John's win - ESPN

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/HmZEbe3Q2ps?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JRutledge Wed Dec 25, 2013 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 915885)
This play reminds me of the NCAA game a few seasons back. I think it was even a tournament game, where a player traveled and touched OB on the bench sideline in front of the table. L and T were both on that sideline and neither called anything. The C was mid-court and had to have seen what happened and also called nothing, possibly because his two partners were veterans.

I do not put any of this on the C, he was across the court from the play. The new L should have seen the out of bounds pay on the sideline and had a good look (or should have had) at the clock. And I am not convinced he traveled, but clearly stepped out of bounds. Sometimes the right official is the only one that can make such a call like in this situation with the OP.

Peace

TriggerMN Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:27am

The LED comes on the backboard when the clock on the score panel reads 0.3, FWIW. Take that into consideration when formulating your opinion.

JetMetFan Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TriggerMN (Post 915902)
The LED comes on the backboard when the clock on the score panel reads 0.3, FWIW. Take that into consideration when formulating your opinion.

You mean in the OP, obviously.

Again, that’s 0.3 on the on-screen graphic clock, which is always slightly behind the clock in the arena. The actual game clock is what the officials would’ve been dealing with…had a whistle been blown.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1