The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   AP Blunder (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96834-ap-blunder.html)

Terrapins Fan Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:23pm

AP Blunder
 
I saw this tonight, in a JV game.

Jump ball called, it's Visitors ball, AP Arrow shows it, trail calls it and lead gives it to Home on the end line. Throw in completed and the table blows the horn to tell them, it is Visitors ball. Game stopped, but because the throw in was completed, ball goes back to Home for the throw in on the side line ( where the ball was )

Now here's my question, because Visitor should have had the throw in and didn't, they did not turn the arrow, there for giving the NEXT position to Visitor.

Were they correct to NOT turn the arrow? Fair, yes, Correct??

bob jenkins Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 915434)
Were they correct to NOT turn the arrow? Fair, yes, Correct??

Of course.

JetMetFan Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:30pm

NFHS 6.4.1 SITUATION D (edited):

It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A (a) commits a throw-in violation...

RULING: Once the throw-in ends - it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession.

refiator Sat Dec 21, 2013 01:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 915436)
NFHS 6.4.1 SITUATION D (edited):

It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A (a) commits a throw-in violation...

RULING: Once the throw-in ends - it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession.

This is a brain fart by ALL officials. Should never happen, but, unfortunately, it some times does.

Raymond Sat Dec 21, 2013 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 915434)
I saw this tonight, in a JV game.

Jump ball called, it's Visitors ball, AP Arrow shows it, trail calls it and lead gives it to Home on the end line. Throw in completed and the table blows the horn to tell them, it is Visitors ball. Game stopped, but because the throw in was completed, ball goes back to Home for the throw in on the side line ( where the ball was )

Now here's my question, because Visitor should have had the throw in and didn't, they did not turn the arrow, there for giving the NEXT position to Visitor.

Were they correct to NOT turn the arrow? Fair, yes, Correct??

Visitor never received an AP throw-in, so why would they lose the arrow?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1