![]() |
Travel or Illegal Dribble?
JVB 2 man
I am T. H1 dribbles into the front court and picks up his dribble while being guarded closely by V1. He attempts to pass to H2 who cuts away at the same time causing the ball to bounce around 5 feet away as it was a soft pass. H1 realizes that V1 is going to pick up the ball runs and recovers his own pass. I ruled it an illegal dribble. As his "pass" hit the floor and then he picked it up. I determined this to be a second dribble. The coach disagreed thinking it should be a travel. Although I don't know why he thought this as either way his team loses the ball. I believe he was just testing me. I gave him quick explanation of " when the pass hits the floor and and he grabs it with no one else touching it then that was a second dribble. |
Did he lift his pivot foot before releasing his pass/2nd dribble?
|
Quote:
|
You should have said, "Okay coach, you win, it was a double dribble"
Then he would have looked at you very confused.:cool: Oh and to answer your question, it's a double dribble. As BNR was walking you through how it could have been a travel first, had he lifted his pivot prior to the 2nd dribble, then it would have been a travel. Nothing further needed to happen on the play, violation, move on. But as his feet were unmoved, it becomes a double dribble when he is the first to touch. |
I think this is one where FED has gone back and forth over the years.
I'd probably respond with "It could be either, so we're both right." with a grin. |
Quote:
|
This is an illegal/double dribble violation in NCAA(W). A.R. 70. And I actually made this call for the first time in my career in my first game of this season.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm. |