The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You Decide - Block, Charge or Travel (Clip) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96804-you-decide-block-charge-travel-clip.html)

xyrph Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:02pm

You Decide - Block, Charge or Travel (Clip)
 
You Decide - block, charge or travel for high school game?

Traveling? - YouTube

JetMetFan Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:07pm

remember...
 
"Embed" is your friend...

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/zf4ppGoMZWU?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

ballgame99 Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:22pm

Man, I never want to be THAT partner. Lead had the defensive foul (correct call IMO), and this guy comes in and says I don't care what you have, here's what I have, BANG!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:23pm

1) This is a charge.

2) The blond haired Ron Burgundy needs to replace his gray shoes with black shoes.

3) Ron Burgundy needs to worry about his PAC and not his partner's PAC.

MTD, Sr.

johnny d Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:25pm

I think block is the correct call as well. From this camera angle, it is hard to tell exactly when the player ended their dribble. Not sure how the official that called the travel saw that clearly either.

johnny d Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 914892)
Man, I never want to be THAT partner. Lead had the defensive foul (correct call IMO), and this guy comes in and says I don't care what you have, here's what I have, BANG!

I doubt that is what he is thinking. I don't even think a conversation is necessary here. If you are calling a travel, it is pretty obvious that the travel had to have occurred before any contact was made. Therefore, it doesn't matter whether the other official had block or charge.

I do agree, that he is fishing outside of his primary though on a play that he doesn't have an ideal look.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 914893)
1) This is a charge.

2) The blond haired Ron Burgundy needs to replace his gray shoes with black shoes.

3) Ron Burgundy needs to worry about his PAC and not his partner's PAC.

MTD, Sr.

I think the girl travelled twice (once before the dribble and once after), but it's hard to tell. If it wasn't a travel, then I agree that charge is more likely than block.

Since the play started in the T's Area (I'm assuming this is two person), I have no problem with T making a call.

westneat Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:36pm

Not a great angle but I'm calling a block here

Bad Zebra Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:40pm

That old warhorse needs a tongue lashing at the end of the half. Grey shoes look like crap. Wristwatch looks like crap. He reached WAYYY across and called an inconclusive travel that he couldn't have possibly seen clearly...then waved his partenr off after he made a good call dead in his lap. I don't care how new or inexperienced the partner is, this guy looks horrible.
  • Stay in your primary.
  • Trust your partner.
  • Look the part.

I'm scratching this goober before my next game.

AremRed Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:41pm

Based on this angle I have a no-call (and thus OOB white). No way partner should be overruling here, he had no whistle and didn't have his arm up. Looks like he just decided after the foul to go back and get a phantom travel.

JRutledge Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:43pm

First of all, I have no problem if a partner has a violation before a foul. That can happen from time to time in a game and really happens in 2 person games. I am just not in favor of the body language of the officials and that includes both of them. If I have a call he is going to have to do a little more to talk me off of it than a "wave off" that was shown by the Trail here. And I have as much problem with the lead going to get the ball, turning his back on the players as I do with the body language of the Trail. The ball is not going anywhere.

Peace

ballgame99 Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 914896)
I doubt that is what he is thinking. I don't even think a conversation is necessary here. If you are calling a travel, it is pretty obvious that the travel had to have occurred before any contact was made. Therefore, it doesn't matter whether the other official had block or charge.

I do agree, that he is fishing outside of his primary though on a play that he doesn't have an ideal look.

He gives his partner a stop sign 3 times and doesn't consult with him at all. It just looks bad. If I'm the lead, I'm taking his gestures as "I got your foul for you", so I would let him report it. Which is what looks like what happened here. L lets his partner take the call, and then sees he got overruled, and at that point you have to go with the call. But if I'm lead, I'm having a conversation with that guy later.

APG Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 914893)
1) This is a charge.

I can buy a no-call...but there's no way the contact in that play warrants a charge call.

DRJ1960 Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:59pm

Don't work much 2 man....

If he is T rather than C on this play why is he where he is?

zm1283 Wed Dec 18, 2013 01:16pm

Wow, that is just bad.

As rare as it is, I agree with Rut's post on this one.

This is either a block (not likely) or just an OOB call. (More likely if it's me)

rockyroad Wed Dec 18, 2013 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 914905)
Don't work much 2 man....

If he is T rather than C on this play why is he where he is?

Gotta believe it is 3 man mechanics and the T is just really deep and never comes into the camera view.

Guy is way out of his primary, and is out of line for just waving his partner off like that.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 18, 2013 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 914904)
I can buy a no-call...but there's no way the contact in that play warrants a charge call.


I can see the L having an out of bounds off of the the dribbler in this play. Looking over the T's shoulder it appears to be a charge, but I think that looking from the L's position it would be a six of one and a half a dozen of the other with regard to a charge or out of bounds off of the dribbler.

MTD, Sr.

zm1283 Wed Dec 18, 2013 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 914910)
Gotta believe it is 3 man mechanics and the T is just really deep and never comes into the camera view.

Guy is way out of his primary, and is out of line for just waving his partner off like that.

I can't see this game having three officials on it. It is 2-man and the Trail is working deep toward the endline.

Rich Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:18pm

The first travel is about as blatant as it gets. Fred Flintstone doesn't get that kind of jump when he's driving his car. And THAT'S in the T's primary.

Love the wave off by the T. Not.

SWKS Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:36pm

No Call...
 
I have a no call on that play. From the T or C position whichever he is in...I don't believe he can see when you gathered the ball. He might have a better angle than what we get to see here, but I don't have a Charge/Block call either, just and OOB and give ball to white.

I also don't see how some have a travel when A1 gets the ball unless there is a reverse angle we don't see to see when she pushed the ball to start her dribble.

Thirdly, I would ask the guy did he acid wash his hair before the game to make a move like that. At half, between games, or maybe a timeout, I would politley tell him to never do that again!!!!!! :mad:

Rich1 Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:42pm

I can't tell if she puts the ball on the floor in the beginning of her steps and I don't think the Trail can either so I am doubting that is what he has.

From this angle it looks to me like she has not traveled at the end of the play either as she is bumped by the defender before her pivot foot returns to the floor.

So, what I do see is a clear block. The defender moved into her pathway causing the contact.

HokiePaul Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 914903)
He gives his partner a stop sign 3 times and doesn't consult with him at all. It just looks bad. If I'm the lead, I'm taking his gestures as "I got your foul for you", so I would let him report it. Which is what looks like what happened here. L lets his partner take the call, and then sees he got overruled, and at that point you have to go with the call. But if I'm lead, I'm having a conversation with that guy later.

That's what I was thinking as well ... And once I realize he has overruled me and announced the violation, there's not much the lead can do. Unless he said something like "I've got a travel first" ... but I doubt it because the players seem totally confused as well until after the signal.

rockyroad Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 914914)
I can't see this game having three officials on it. It is 2-man and the Trail is working deep toward the endline.

You really think so?

In two person, why would the T be below the free throw line extended? That's where he would set up as C in a 3 person crew. I really think it's 3 person...which makes him even more of a doofus for reaching that far across through all those players.

zm1283 Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 914929)
You really think so?

In two person, why would the T be below the free throw line extended? That's where he would set up as C in a 3 person crew. I really think it's 3 person...which makes him even more of a doofus for reaching that far across through all those players.

Why would he reach across the lane that far through all of those bodies to get a borderline travel and look like a doofus waving the foul off? You can figure out his skill level/experience from the video, so I don't think it's a stretch to say he might be out of position as the Trail.

Not trying to be a dick, just saying...

Raymond Wed Dec 18, 2013 02:54pm

A1 travels when she starts her dribble. After that incidental contact. W21 established LGP then sidestepped to maintain it.

Helluva lot better LGP than the other thread.

Rich Wed Dec 18, 2013 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 914927)
I can't tell if she puts the ball on the floor in the beginning of her steps and I don't think the Trail can either so I am doubting that is what he has.

From this angle it looks to me like she has not traveled at the end of the play either as she is bumped by the defender before her pivot foot returns to the floor.

So, what I do see is a clear block. The defender moved into her pathway causing the contact.

Not 100% sure, but the pieces I can see sure suggest it.

If the T was in the proper position (up higher and farther on the court) to officiate her in his primary, he'd get that travel.

rockyroad Wed Dec 18, 2013 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 914932)
Why would he reach across the lane that far through all of those bodies to get a borderline travel and look like a doofus waving the foul off? You can figure out his skill level/experience from the video, so I don't think it's a stretch to say he might be out of position as the Trail.

Not trying to be a dick, just saying...

Don't think you are being a dick at all.

Just think they are working 3 person really poorly.

Zoochy Wed Dec 18, 2013 06:39pm

Does 'T' (or 'C') official ever raise his hand? What did the defender do wrong?

Adam Wed Dec 18, 2013 07:23pm

Anyone here wear a watch when working basketball games?

I don't, regardless of what season it is. Honestly, and I'm probably judging too harshly, that's all I need to see.

rpirtle Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 914982)
Does 'T' (or 'C') official ever raise his hand? What did the defender do wrong?

This looks like a situation where the Trail official (white hair) has assumed the role of veteran to the Lead's "Newbie". The T doesn't raise his hand (or fist) to stop the clock. The T may not have had a call at all...or maybe he did. But it appears that the T does think he knows what his much younger partner is about to call (PC maybe)...and he seems to be signaling him not to report his call. Instead the T reports the Travel. At least that's what it looks like to me.

But the shoes do look like crap. :p

grunewar Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 914992)
Anyone here wear a watch when working basketball games?

Nope.......or a belt either! ;)

Raymond Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 914992)
Anyone here wear a watch when working basketball games?

I don't, regardless of what season it is. Honestly, and I'm probably judging too harshly, that's all I need to see.

My PERCEPTION of that official is not very positive. ;)

BillyMac Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:17pm

Don't Make Me Come To Virginia To Smack You ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 914992)
Anyone here wear a watch when working basketball games?

How else would we time eight minutes, ten seconds, three seconds, five seconds, thirty seconds, sixty seconds, etc.

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 914997)
Nope, or a belt either.

Shut up.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 18, 2013 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 914929)
You really think so?

In two person, why would the T be below the free throw line extended? That's where he would set up as C in a 3 person crew. I really think it's 3 person...which makes him even more of a doofus for reaching that far across through all those players.

Don't know but i had a partner in two person recently that, on at least 4-5 occasions while I was administering an endline throwin in the frontcourt, set up as trail straight out from me. I asked him about it because I was puzzled about why he was doing it, particularly since he didn't go back to the correct side on more than one occasion. He denied being in line with me but admitted he came pretty far over. He said he had a better look at the play from there. OK, fine....but he didn't go back to his side at least 2-3 times and had plays occur on his side with no one there. Again, I have no idea why...made little sense and I think he just forgot where he was and wasn't open to admitting he had no idea where he was.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 18, 2013 11:44pm

I can't see anything to call from the camera view...travel? maybe (probably not). Block, not likely either. PC, maybe, but not likely either. OOB, yep.

walt Fri Dec 20, 2013 09:58am

The lead has an open look and hits the whistle upon the contact by #21 White (which appears marginal to me). I can live with a block call or, better yet, an OOB call. I just don't see the travel call (either the alleged first one or second one). I have a REAL problem with how the trail handles the entire situation.

Adam Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 915033)
I can't see anything to call from the camera view...travel? maybe (probably not). Block, not likely either. PC, maybe, but not likely either. OOB, yep.

Exactly my thoughts.

Rich Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 915313)
Exactly my thoughts.

I don't have enough to call a travel just from this video, although I'm willing to bet that if I did have the right angle that the player did (lifted the pivot foot before starting the dribble).

VaTerp Fri Dec 20, 2013 01:47pm

Ugly basketball, ugly officiating.

I have a no-call and ball oob to white. Don't see a block or charge at all here.

refiator Sat Dec 21, 2013 02:02am

I like the travel call….Always better to call a violation in a close call than to call a foul ... IMO.

Camron Rust Sat Dec 21, 2013 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 915444)
I like the travel call….Always better to call a violation in a close call than to call a foul ... IMO.

huh?

JugglingReferee Sat Dec 21, 2013 01:04pm

The girl traveled twice. Once at the beginning and once before the contact.

The travel immediately before the contact is close, but I do believe it was there. I also think that the T is horribly out of position in Fed, IAABO, and especially FIBA considerations, for this travel call.

I also believe that there could have been a travel call when 12 black obtained possession. It's close as well. I wouldn't mind if it was called in real time.


21 white, the defender is guarding 33 black when 33 has the ball. She switches to the ball carrier, 12 black, after 33 flashes to the middle of the FTL. During this switch, she establishes LGP immediately. 21 white doesn't move forwards and does take contact in the torso. I don't have a block, but a PC may be a tough call to sell. Call the out of bounds violation - white ball on the endline. That is, if there is no travel violation called.

And the T needs to update his look, to look the part. And change his approach, beginning with actually raising his arm when he has something. Even if it's late. :)

bainsey Sat Dec 21, 2013 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rpirtle (Post 914996)
The T doesn't raise his hand (or fist) to stop the clock. The T may not have had a call at all...or maybe he did.

I agree, this looks bad. That's why, in these parts, we're required to raise an open hand before all violations. If I have a fist up, I want my partner to have a open hand, if he has something different. Then, we can talk about it.

Ultimately, we reached the right destination, but it was a bumpy ride.

JugglingReferee Sat Dec 21, 2013 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 915500)
I agree, this looks bad. That's why, in these parts, we're required to raise an open hand before all violations. If I have a fist up, I want my partner to have a open hand, if he has something different. Then, we can talk about it.

Ultimately, we reached the right destination, but it was a bumpy ride.

Isn't this a requirement in all parts?

If in your part, someone doesn't raise their arm, then what?

BillyMac Sat Dec 21, 2013 02:02pm

The Domino Effect ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 915500)
I agree, this looks bad. That's why, in these parts, we're required to raise an open hand before all violations.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 915507)
Isn't this a requirement in all parts? If in your part, someone doesn't raise their arm, then what?

I don't officiate in a part, but rather, in a little corner. And, we are expected to put up an open hand on all violations. The penalty if we don't? Lower peer ratings. Lower ranking. Lower level games instead of higher level games. Fewer assignments. Lighter wallet.

Camron Rust Sat Dec 21, 2013 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 915507)
Isn't this a requirement in all parts?

No. We are permitted to directly to the direction on OOB calls.

bainsey Sat Dec 21, 2013 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 915515)
I don't officiate in a part, but rather, in a little corner. And, we are expected to put up an open hand on all violations. The penalty if we don't? Lower peer ratings. Lower ranking. Lower level games instead of higher level games. Fewer assignments. Lighter wallet.

What he said.

easticles Sun Dec 22, 2013 02:35am

If I had a partner take a call from me like that. I would wait for a time out or break, let him know about it and then vurtually put my whistle away, as he doesn't seem to need help! What a horrible play phase followed by some similar standard officiating.

JetMetFan Sun Dec 22, 2013 07:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 914902)
First of all, I have no problem if a partner has a violation before a foul. That can happen from time to time in a game and really happens in 2 person games. I am just not in favor of the body language of the officials and that includes both of them. If I have a call he is going to have to do a little more to talk me off of it than a "wave off" that was shown by the Trail here. And I have as much problem with the lead going to get the ball, turning his back on the players as I do with the body language of the Trail. The ball is not going anywhere.

Peace

JRut and I are agreeing again (must be a full moon). My issue is as much with how both of them look during this nonsense as with how it was handled. The wave off, the L getting the ball, no hand up to stop the clock by the T (or the C, whatever he was), both of them leaning their bodies sideways at some point to try to get a better view as opposed to just moving their feet. Not a lot of stuff here that would go on a "how to" video.

As for the wave off, why do I get the feeling this wasn't the first time it happened during the game? I have a feeling this guy and I would've had a long, spirited talk when the game was over.

Oh, the call itself: I'm not sure of a travel when #12 first got the ball or when it was called and I'm no-calling the contact that was whistled a foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1