The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did They Get This Right? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96789-did-they-get-right.html)

CT1 Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:11pm

Did They Get This Right?
 
Girl's varsity game. Team B has possession arrow. A1 and B1 gain joint possession of the ball and a jump ball is called. Immediately after the whistle, A1 forcibly throws B1 to the floor and is called for an intentional foul.

The game officials awarded B1 two free throws, gave B the ball OOB at the spot of the foul, and changed the arrow.

Was this correct?

Adam Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 914607)
Girl's varsity game. Team B has possession arrow. A1 and B1 gain joint possession of the ball and a jump ball is called. Immediately after the whistle, A1 forcibly throws B1 to the floor and is called for an intentional foul.

The game officials awarded B1 two free throws, gave B the ball OOB at the spot of the foul, and changed the arrow.

Was this correct?

1. I hope they called a technical foul as opposed to a personal.
2. This is not a POI situation, so they should have given the ball to B at the division line and not changed the arrow.

AremRed Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 914607)
Girl's varsity game. Team B has possession arrow. A1 and B1 gain joint possession of the ball and a jump ball is called. Immediately after the whistle, A1 forcibly throws B1 to the floor and is called for an intentional foul.

The game officials awarded B1 two free throws, gave B the ball OOB at the spot of the foul, and changed the arrow.

Was this correct?

I think you mean "held ball". Was the throw-down a result of two people holding the ball or was it a direct throw-down? How soon is "immediately"? Was it as the whistle was blowing or clearly after?

As Adam said penalize the foul and do not switch the arrow.

Ed Maeder Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:16pm

This is dead ball contact, so it would have to be a technical foul as it can't be ignored. The shots are correct but in bound at the division line and leave the arrow.

asdf Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:17pm

Not an AP throw-in....

Arrow stays with B

Scratch85 Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:19pm

I do not think AP enters into this one. The Int Foul is ok and the result of the IF is ball out of bounds nearest the spot.

I heard it here first, AP is rarely the right answer. 6-4-3 identifies when AP applies. I do not think this fits any of the situations.

Scratch85 Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 914610)
This is dead ball contact, so it would have to be a technical foul as it can't be ignored.

Intentional or Flagrant. Not Technical.

Ed Maeder Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:32pm

Read the OP. It was after the whistle that the throw down occurred. Dead ball contact is ignored or a technical. It would fall under intentional contact while the ball is dead. Therefore a technical foul and administered as such.

JRutledge Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 914616)
Intentional or Flagrant. Not Technical.

It is still a Technical foul. You can have Intentional and Flagrant Technical fouls. But by rule all fouls during dead ball that are flagrant or intentional in nature are administered as a Technical foul. And that will change who can shoot the FTs and where the ball is put in play after the FTs are taken.

Peace

Adam Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 914616)
Intentional or Flagrant. Not Technical.

Technically, it's an intentional technical foul.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 914616)
Intentional or Flagrant. Not Technical.

All fouls are either Personal or Technical.

Fouls may have one (or more) modifiers -- Intentional, Flagran, Common, Double, ...

This was an Intentional Technical foul.

CT1 Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 914609)
I think you mean "held ball". Was the throw-down a result of two people holding the ball or was it a direct throw-down? How soon is "immediately"? Was it as the whistle was blowing or clearly after?

As Adam said penalize the foul and do not switch the arrow.

OK, "held ball". The contact was after the whistle blew. The offender used both hands to push/throw her opponent to the floor.

MD Longhorn Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 914629)
OK, "held ball". The contact was after the whistle blew. The offender used both hands to push/throw her opponent to the floor.

Since both hands were very recently both on the ball (held ball, right), this must have been significantly after the whistle, right?

I'm with the masses here. Intentional, Technical. Don't change the Arrow. (Good rule of thumb - the arrow changes when it's USED, not earlier. This arrow was never used (no throw in used this arrow to decide who threw it in).)

Raymond Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 914607)
Girl's varsity game. Team B has possession arrow. A1 and B1 gain joint possession of the ball and a jump ball is called. Immediately after the whistle, A1 forcibly throws B1 to the floor and is called for an intentional foul.

The game officials awarded B1 two free throws, gave B the ball OOB at the spot of the foul, and changed the arrow.

Was this correct?

Were they using NCAA rules? Did they rule the foul as an Unsporting (non-contact) Technical Foul?

Looks like that's how they adjudicated the play, with AP throw-in being the POI.

BatteryPowered Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 914629)
OK, "held ball". The contact was after the whistle blew. The offender used both hands to push/throw her opponent to the floor.


Then in my book this one is easy...Flagrant Technical. Player is gone, shoot two, offended team gets ball at the division line, do NOT change arrow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1