The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correct ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96768-correct.html)

Refk Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:51am

Correct ?
 
A friend asked me if the officials "handled" the following situation correctly in a HS game they attended last night.
Team A given the ball to start the second half, ball goes to A1 she drives the lane makes the bucket and is fouled by B1. When official reports foul they are alerted that the wrong team was given the ball to start the half (didn't switch possession arrow). The officials got together, waved off the basket, gave team B the ball at half court for throw and kept the foul on B1.

I gave them my explanation but wanted to ask the experts!

Thanks

Raymond Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:53am

Not a correctable error. Only thing done right was keeping foul on B1.

Adam Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:56am

Holy crap.

No, they didn't do it right. Once the throw in is complete, it's too late to correct this. No way you're wiping a basket here.

6.4.1D

JetMetFan Sat Dec 14, 2013 03:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 914272)
Holy crap.

Yeah, that kind of sums up how this was (mis)handled.

APG Sat Dec 14, 2013 03:34am

If they caught the error within 24 seconds, they could...wait, this isn't an NBA game. :p

No, they did not handle the situation correctly by rule.

BillyMac Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:32am

Holy Crap Batman ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 914272)
Holy crap. 6.4.1D

6.4.1 SITUATION D: It is Team B’s turn for the next throw-in under the alternating-
possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A
(a) commits a throw-in violation, or (b) releases the ball on the alternating-possession
throw-in, but before the ball is legally touched inbounds, Team A or Team
B commits a foul. RULING: Once the throw-in ends – it is too late to change anything.
In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for
Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession. In (b), the alternating-
possession throw-in did not end when the foul occurred. Therefore, the
Rule 6 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Case Page 54
alternating-possession mistake is corrected and the arrow now favors Team B;
penalize the foul appropriately. (4-42-5; ; 6-4-4; 6-4-5)

frezer11 Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:04pm

Man, this is so wrong that I'm wondering if maybe your friend described it to you inaccurately? You know how when you make a copy from a copy, it's never as good as the original? I just wonder if some part of the story is missing here, otherwise... youch!

just another ref Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:32pm

A 20+ year varsity official asked me about this very situation last night. At a game recently, coming out of a timeout, officials gave the ball to the wrong team. (he didn't say whether he was one of the officials or not) Asked if this was a correctable error.

Refk Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:18am

Thanks for the feedback

bainsey Sun Dec 15, 2013 02:23pm

Along those lines... I saw this a few weeks ago...

APTI for A. U gives the ball to B-1, who completes the throw-in. The arrow switches. After a few seconds, the R whistles and gives the U an "aw, crap" look. B got another throw-in, U explained and apologized to Coach A, and they moved the arrow back to A.

Looked right to me, though I couldn't find a citation that the arrow goes back.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 15, 2013 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 914399)
Looked right to me, though I couldn't find a citation that the arrow goes back.

The arrow shouldn't have switched (since B inbounded ionstead of A), so it's not really "going back" -- it's being "corrected"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1