![]() |
Over & Back on Throw In
Player A is inbounding on the sideline and throws the ball into the backcourt, player B jumps from the front court, catches the ball and lands in the back court. Is this over & back because he caught the ball with front court status and landed in the back court?
|
No
|
You'll find it in rule 9.
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg
During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations. |
Rule 9-9-3
|
And unless you work in an IAABO area/state...
I'd stay away from the phrase "over and back," and try to just use rule book terminology when discussing this type of play/possible violation. :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I personally say "backcourt" or "backcourt violation" while making the signal. |
Oh Oh Oh (Arnold Horshack, 1975) ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
As for what is listed in the books, that doesn't stop people from reporting illegal use of hands as "hits", at least around here. I don't and think it sounds silly, but it is common, particularly in the college crowd. And in a lot if cases, "hits" is not actually correct. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
And I challenge you to create a "backcourt" violation where over-and-back is not accurate. I could probably, if I tried, come up with more reasons why backcourt is less accurate or less complete than over and back versus the reverse. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Examples of backcourt violations that don't fit "over and back": 1) A thrown-in ball that is player-controlled in the frontcourt that then obtains backcourt status (last touched by A, first touched by A) never necessarily went "over the division line" before going "back." 2) A jump ball that ends which then immediately results in a backcourt violation hasn't necessarily crossed the division line at all. |
A quick forum search will reveal
Quote:
|
Quote:
Pleas look at the signal chart, which is in the rules book, Number 22. The caption under the picture..... "Over and Back" |
Quote:
You're going to have to explain that one. It is "being" over the line, not "going" over the line. Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
How it got over is the part that's irrelevant. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
2. Double Dribble 3. Carrying 4. Stepping out of bounds 5. Excessive swinging of the arms and elbow (without contact) I found a whole bunch of them...:D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I have always said "backcourt". And while I have an intense dislike for an official referring to a PCF or TCF in NFHS and NCAA Rules as an "offensive" foul, I do not get to hung when an official uses the term "over and back" to describe a "backcourt violation".
That said I encourage officials both young and old (like me) to use correct (rules book terminology) terminology when talking with other officials and especially with players and coaches (and fans and "talking heads") because it is a way of educating them about the rules of the game. MTD, Sr. |
NCAA-W Manual
And I just noticed that in my favorite of manuals, it's listed in the signal chart as "over and back," too. Huh.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Colloquially, when the ball gains FC status, it has gone "over." When it regains BC status, it has gone "back." Works for me (I call it "backcourt", but find the discussion about it amusing). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
2) By the status (FC/BC and IB/OB) of what/who is touching it or it is being touched by. I'm not sure where you're going... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51pm. |