![]() |
Inadvertent Time-Out
This happened in my son's rec league game last night:
Team A and Team B are tied with less than one minute remaining, with Team A in possession of the ball. All of the sudden, one official sounds his whistle and signals time-out to Team A. The Team A captain says he wasn't calling time-out, but was verbalizing to his players to 'come out' and that he didn't call a time-out and does not want a time out. The official was set to just call it an inadvertent whistle and inbound at POI, but now Team B wants a time-out. Should this be granted. In addition, are substitutions allowed during an inadvertent whistle? |
The ball is dead, it doesn't matter how it got dead.
Timeout and subs are allowed. |
And when A's coach complains, the simplest response is something along the lines of "'Time out' and 'come out' sound almost identical in a loud/echoy gym, coach".
A coach around these parts likes to run a play he calls "side out"... an he yells the plays to his players from the bench... arrrrrgh. |
Inadvertent Time-Out
Just so I understand correctly, Team A is not charged with a time-out. Team B is allowed to take a time-out. All subs are allowed to enter.
|
Quote:
Note that in the last minute of an NCAA game, there are slightly different rules about subs. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Side Out ...
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am. |