The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Scores with 6 on Floor (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96588-team-scores-6-floor.html)

rekent Tue Nov 19, 2013 09:54pm

Team Scores with 6 on Floor
 
Team A comes out of a timeout with 6 on the floor. Officials miscount and inbound the ball after which team A scores.

After the basket, official recognizes the 6 and calls the T on team A.

Do the 2 points team A scored while having 6 on the floor stand, or do they get wiped? I know the 5th correctable error is erroneously counting or canceling a score, and at the time the officials were asked it was within the CE time period, but is that what is referred to in the list of CEs?

It does not seem to me like that is what the rule is saying...

9th grade game, not mine thankfully, but V coach saw me in the stands and asked what I thought of the play. I didn't have a good answer and want to clarify. Obviously, the officials should have caught that prior to inbounding the ball, so let's leave that part out of the discussion.

just another ref Tue Nov 19, 2013 09:57pm

6 on the floor, and the activity which occurs is not a correctable error. Basket counts. Penalize when discovered.

rekent Tue Nov 19, 2013 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 911320)
6 on the floor, and the activity which occurs is not a correctable error. Basket counts. Penalize when discovered.

Ok, that was my belief, but not with the certainty that I wanted. What would be a good exemplary situation for that particular CE (for explanatory purposes)?

bob jenkins Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 911321)
Ok, that was my belief, but not with the certainty that I wanted. What would be a good exemplary situation for that particular CE (for explanatory purposes)?

Ball thrown through the basket on a throw in, and allowed to count.

BI followed by a PC foul, and basket not counted.

A1 begins try, B2 fouls A2, try not allowed to count.

Ball released on try and A1 then fouls. Try allowed to count (the NCAAM rule is applied).

rekent Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:46pm

Perfect, thanks.

Lcubed48 Wed Nov 20, 2013 06:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 911325)
Ball thrown through the basket on a throw in, and allowed to count.

BI followed by a PC foul, and basket not counted.

A1 begins try, B2 fouls A2, try not allowed to count.

Ball released on try and A1 then fouls. Try allowed to count (the NCAAM rule is applied).

Always listen to Bob.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1