The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 09, 2013, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Let me play Captain Obvious...If the player did have possession it would be a travel because he went to the floor with the ball. (Only hand and foot) can touch floor.

Correct reasoning?
Correct in NFHS for sure (and my assumption is that this is the level you do -- and I don't mean to make that sound perjorative)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 09, 2013, 09:17pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
No travel on the play in question, but the blue player traveled just before the release of the final shot attempt. If you listen closely, you can hear a whistle just a microsecond before he releases the ball. The whistle isn't to indicate the clock going to zero because the clock on top of the basket doesn't get to zero until the ball just about hits the board. So, even if that final shot would have gone in, it wouldn't have counted because of the travel call prior to the release.

Here's something to ponder - if the travel was called at the end (like I described), then shouldn't they have reset the clock and given the ball to white to inbound, which could have resulted in something else happening before the game was over, like a foul or something?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 09, 2013, 09:40pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
No travel on the play in question, but the blue player traveled just before the release of the final shot attempt. If you listen closely, you can hear a whistle just a microsecond before he releases the ball. The whistle isn't to indicate the clock going to zero because the clock on top of the basket doesn't get to zero until the ball just about hits the board. So, even if that final shot would have gone in, it wouldn't have counted because of the travel call prior to the release.

...
Yes, the C is most definitely waving off the shot by Blue before the clock ran out. But it is possible that the throw-in occurred with 0.3 on the clock, so he was waving it off b/c a shot attempt is not possible.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sat Nov 09, 2013 at 09:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 09, 2013, 09:17pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Correct in NFHS for sure (and my assumption is that this is the level you do -- and I don't mean to make that sound perjorative)
Yes I do HS Ball...my goal this season is to understand the "WHY" behind the rules..This will allow me to better explain calls I make

Thanks Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dayton/Xavier jeschmit Basketball 1 Thu Jan 31, 2013 07:30am
Iowa/Dayton ASA/NYSSOBLUE Baseball 24 Sun Jul 27, 2008 02:24pm
umpire school near dayton ohio? help! r2young3390 Softball 1 Sun Aug 08, 2004 06:57pm
DePaul/Dayton whistleone Basketball 19 Fri Mar 19, 2004 06:19pm
looking for refs for tournament in Dayton OH jasonboom Basketball 0 Tue Jan 18, 2000 04:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1