![]() |
Tipped Ball Enters Basket Play
White #15, located behind the 3 point line, is attempting an alley-oop to their post player who is cutting down the baseline. As White #15 throws the ball to the corner of the backboard for the post player to slam home, the ball is tipped by his defensive player and enters the basket. The defensive player is also located behind the three-point line.
In the officials judgement: 1) The pass did not have a chance to enter without the deflection 2) The pass did have a chance to enter Call it! Thanks. |
FED doesn't (explicitly) make a distinction. NCAAW does (AR 104)
Plus, it would be impossible to tell in real life whether the ball "had a chance" on a pass that is heading toward the backboard. (the AR even recognizes this) So, IRL, 3 points in both plays. By some strict reading of the rule, only 2 points in NCAAW in play 1. |
Misty Water Color Memories ...
When the NFHS first went to the three point arc, many, many, years ago, officials were expected to determine the difference between a pass (two points), and a shot (three points). Fortunately, that concept went the way of the land line telephone.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
#2. 3 points. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01pm. |