![]() |
Backboard and goal tending
I just want to make sure of something. In HS rules, whether the ball hits the backboard or not has no bearing on whether it is goal tending or not. I think this is different in other levels but just want to be sure. Thanks.
|
Hitting the backboard has no barring whatsoever on GT or BI at the NF level. Yes it is different at other levels.
Peace |
Quote:
Hitting the ball thrown for a try on its downward flight either before or after the ball hits the backboard is a goaltending violation. Sound right? My NCAA friends tell me that hitting the ball after it deflects off the backboard is a goaltending violation regardless whether on upward flight or downward, but you better check others for confirmation of that. |
Who You Gonna Call ???
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and is not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. (NFHS).
|
Quote:
But I'm confident Billy knew that :) |
A Five Legged Stool ???
Quote:
Quote:
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post891084 |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36pm. |