The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   PC during try (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96388-pc-during-try.html)

Sharpshooternes Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:20am

PC during try
 
Question is: There is player control during a try or tap. T or F?
Obviously if the ball is in flight there is no player control. If it isn't yet released, there is player control. For this question I am leaning toward T as it doesn't specify that it IS in flight. Agree?

maven Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:33am

I suspect the question writer intended the word 'during' to mean 'throughout' rather than 'at some time'.

You obviously know the rule...

BillyMac Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:56pm

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 908816)
(Is) there is player control during a try.

Some of the possible confusion surrounding this question, especially among old timers, may have to bring us for a long walk down memory lane.

About thirty years ago, the NFHS differentiated between a tap, and a try. If a player was fouled in the act of a try, the basket, if good, counted, and the player received one, or two, (no three point line back then) free throws, depending on if the ball went in the basket, or not.

A tap was handled in a completely different manner. If a player was fouled in the act of a tap, the basket wouldn't count if it went in. If the fouled player's team was in the bonus, he was awarded one and one (no double bonus back then), if not, his team got the ball for a throwin at the spot closest to the foul.

I'm sure that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. will be moseying along shortly to confirm, or deny, my statements.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 908850)
Some of the possible confusion surrounding this question, especially among old timers, may have to bring us for a long walk down memory lane.

About thirty years ago, the NFHS differentiated between a tap, and a try. If a player was fouled in the act of a try, the basket, if good, counted, and the player received one, or two, (no three point line back then) free throws, depending on if the ball went in the basket, or not.

A tap was handled in a completely different manner. If a player was fouled in the act of a tap, the basket wouldn't count if it went in. If the fouled player's team was in the bonus, he was awarded one and one (no double bonus back then), if not, his team got the ball for a throwin at the spot closest to the foul.

I'm sure that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. will be moseying along shortly to confirm, or deny, my statements.


I am finally getting around to my moseying and will have to climb up in the attic this week to do some reading and then I will get back to y'all. ;)

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:18pm

I didn't like this question on the test b/c in the book it doesn't say PC ends during a try or tap, and of course, A1 can be charged with a PC foul during a try or tap (even after it ends).

So, as you can guess, I got this question wrong also. :) But I still scored a 94. :cool:

bob jenkins Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 909289)
I didn't like this question on the test b/c in the book it doesn't say PC ends during a try or tap,

Well, PC is only while holding or dribbling a ball. So, once the ball is released on a try ....

(And I do recognize that Try starts with the habitual motion, so it does include a period in which there is PC.)

Raymond Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 909291)
Well, PC is only while holding or dribbling a ball. So, once the ball is released on a try ....

(And I do recognize that Try starts with the habitual motion, so it does include a period in which there is PC.)

I was ignoring the bolded rule book language b/c it doesn't help me justify my wrong answer. :o

JetMetFan Tue Oct 29, 2013 04:29pm

Nfhs 4-19-6
 
Quote:

A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.
So for the purposes of calling a foul there would have to be PC throughout a try until A1 returns to the floor, no?

Adam Tue Oct 29, 2013 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 909331)
So for the purposes of calling a foul there would have to be PC throughout a try until A1 returns to the floor, no?

Not really, but that's one way to look at it.

The rule simply states that a PC foul includes a foul by an airborne shooter. It's sort of an exception built into the definition of a PC foul. This is the sort of exception they should to for TC fouls, without extending TC to the throw in.

bob jenkins Tue Oct 29, 2013 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 909331)
So for the purposes of calling a foul there would have to be PC throughout a try until A1 returns to the floor, no?

Absoulutely not.

For your statement to be true, they'd have to change the defintion of PC. And if they did, there'd be no need for the "or by an airborne shooter" clause.

You can have a PC foul without PC.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 30, 2013 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 908850)
Some of the possible confusion surrounding this question, especially among old timers, may have to bring us for a long walk down memory lane.

About thirty years ago, the NFHS differentiated between a tap, and a try. If a player was fouled in the act of a try, the basket, if good, counted, and the player received one, or two, (no three point line back then) free throws, depending on if the ball went in the basket, or not.

A tap was handled in a completely different manner. If a player was fouled in the act of a tap, the basket wouldn't count if it went in. If the fouled player's team was in the bonus, he was awarded one and one (no double bonus back then), if not, his team got the ball for a throwin at the spot closest to the foul.

I'm sure that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. will be moseying along shortly to confirm, or deny, my statements.


In the ancient days when officials were not fashion police, the AP did not exist the definition, there were only 29 Sections in Rule 4, not the 47 we have now, we had a Lack of Sufficient Action rule, and the Front Court was divided into a Mid-Court and a Fore-Court:

The definition of a Try did not include a Tap. Tapping the ball toward one's goal was not a Try. If A1 was fouled by B1 while his hand was in contact with the ball while tapping the ball toward his goal the ball became dead immediately and B1 was charged with a Common Foul. I think that this is some of the Ancient Knowledge that ball wanted me to impart upon our brethern here in this august Forum.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Wed Oct 30, 2013 05:08pm

Wake Up And Smell The Coffee ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 909445)
... to impart upon our brethren here in this august Forum.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: It's October, not August. And don't forget to set your clock back an hour Saturday night. You'll get an extra hour of beauty sleep, and you need as much beauty sleep as you can get.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1