![]() |
pivot after jump stop
Question, an offensive player, dribbling the ball performs a legal "landing on 2 feet jump stop". What are the players options from that point? Several officials discussed whether that player can now pivot, other officials contend the player must shoot or pass from that point. What can that player do ? thanks.
Response: NCAA rule 4-22 defines a jump stop. NFHS rule 4-44 does not use that terminology but is consistent with the NCAA rule. NCAA rule 4-22 states: Article 1: A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving or dribbling with: a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot). b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot). Article 2 . A jump stop may also be executed when the dribble has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot). Thus for both NCAA and NFHS, a pivot can only be established after a jump stop if the player ends the dribble with both feet off the court as in Article 2 above. Otherwise, the player can only legally hold, shoot or pass while the ball remains live. --- I have missed this in the past and am looking for a confirmation or clarification. |
You already stated the 2 options available depending whether the player established a pivot before landing on both feet. If he did he won't be able to pivot, if he didn't, he can still pivot on 1 chosen foot.
"A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving or dribbling with:" We see jump stop for players during a running motion, so how about this: Player A dribbles, ends the dribble by standing on 1 foot on the floor, he just stood there for a second, so is the player allowed to do a jump stop with no pivoting foot? Since the statement says while moving OR dribbling, and doesn't use the word continuous motion, how do we determine if the player is allowed to jump stop or not? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Officials understand the rule wanja posted. |
Quote:
|
The gather and the jump are typically fairly simultaneous in my experience since this move is typically done going to the basket. So unless the gather is clearly before liftoff you almost have to allow a pivot on landing don't you? That is how I have called it anyway. And they better stick the landing with two feet (ie no gallop) or its a travel.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The distinction is made based on whether the ball was gathered before or after the player jumps off of one foot. If before, then no pivot. If the gather is while the player is airborne, and he lands on both feet, then he can pivot with either foot. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
If the person hasn't established pivot & jumps & lands on 1 foot 1st, then that foot is the pivot foot, he can land his non-pivot foot.
One question, the rule says you can jump off your pivot foot and land on both feet simultaneously & no pivot foot allowed, so if instead of landing on both feet, the player landed on 1 of his feet, i would assume it's a travel if he landed on his pivot foot, and no travel if he landed on his non-pivot foot? Quote:
|
so it is technically allowed as long as a person catches his ball while dribbling with one foot on the floor, stops for few seconds, do a few pump fakes, then jump on that foot & lands on both feet simultaneously? although rare & never seen before, it'd probably look pretty awkward if you imagine it.
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Potato : The rule does not say "you can jump off o pivot foot" it says if you "catch the ball while dribbling or moving with one foot on floor , you may jump off this foot and land simultaneously on two" <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/29Nvnsy3Ivw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
if you catch the ball with one foot on the floor, doesn't it already mean you have established a pivot on that foot, thus you are jumping off the pivot foot?
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case. This is the situation and there actually can not be a pivot foot The foot on the ground is just that and when you jump and land with both feet simultaneously no foot can be pivot. |
Quote:
|
Now there's 2 jumpstops:
1.Catch the ball in the air after the jump & lands both feet simultaneously = pivot allowed. 2.Catch the ball with one foot on the ground & jumps off that foot & land on both feet = pivot not allowed. so isn't the 2nd case considered pivot foot established before the jump? Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
alright i guess if you catch the ball with 1 foot already on the floor that foot is not treated as a pivot if you took another step with the other foot.
but in real life it happens so quick it's pretty much impossible to tell unless you replayed the video. i really couldn't tell it from the 1st playbacks and only notice it on the slowmo replay. Quote:
|
Potato, if you read the rule carefully the jump stop doesn't ever have, nor can their be a pivot foot.
A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows: b. If one foot is on the floor: 1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step. 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case. |
Quote:
If there is no pivot allowed, there is no pivot foot. |
Quote:
Do you own a rule book? (serious question) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
potato -- When a player catches the ball with one foot on the floor, that foot is NOT YET the pivot foot. It BECOMES the pivot foot when the other foot touches the floor. Or, if the player jumps off that (initial) foot and lands on both feet, then the player is not allowed a pivot foot. |
OK i guess i need to open another question just to clarify on this instead of riding off this topic.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am. |