The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt and Tips (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96324-backcourt-tips.html)

The_Rookie Fri Oct 18, 2013 03:02pm

Backcourt and Tips
 
Apologies in advance if this has been dealt with many times over..but it would help greatly to get real clarity on tips and back court once and for all:)

Situation #1:

A1 makes a throw-in near the division line in Team A Backcourt..A2 standing in front court. B1 tips the throw in immediately before anyone else touches the ball...

1a) IF A2 leaps from frontcourt catches ball IN THE AIR and lands in backcourt.

1b) Same deal but this time the tip by B1 causes ball to hit the floor in backcourt and A2 retrives the ball.

Question: Our both these plays BC Violations? Does the fact that ball hits the floor first before recovery vs a catch in the air making ruling different?

Thanks!

just another ref Fri Oct 18, 2013 03:27pm

1a is a violation.

In 1b what do you mean by "retrieves the ball"? If he jumped from frontcourt and catches the ball in the air, then lands in the backcourt, this is also a violation, even if it did hit the floor first.

AremRed Fri Oct 18, 2013 03:36pm

Any throw-in continues until the ball has been "legally touched inbounds". As jar said, play 1a is a violation because the tip causes the throw-in to end, also ending the back court throw-in exception.

In 1b the throw-in has legally ended so "last to touch, first to touch" comes into play, provided A2 did not gather the ball as in play 1a.

The_Rookie Fri Oct 18, 2013 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 908018)
Any throw-in continues until the ball has been "legally touched inbounds". As jar said, play 1a is a violation because the tip causes the throw-in to end, also ending the back court throw-in exception.

In 1b the throw-in has legally ended so "last to touch, first to touch" comes into play, provided A2 did not gather the ball as in play 1a.

What about a Non-Throw-In situation...A1 has ball and frontcourt status makes a pass to A2 who is in FC but B1 breaks up pass by deflecting ball which lands in BC and A2 retreives the ball.. Violation? or since B1 last to touch in FC no violation?

Freddy Fri Oct 18, 2013 04:31pm

9-9
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 908020)
What about a Non-Throw-In situation...A1 has ball and frontcourt status makes a pass to A2 who is in FC but B1 breaks up pass by deflecting ball which lands in BC and A2 retreives the ball.. Violation? or since B1 last to touch in FC no violation?

No violation, since A2 was not "last to touch" in the FC (9-9-1).
Sound right?

The_Rookie Fri Oct 18, 2013 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 908021)
No violation, since A2 was not "last to touch" in the FC (9-9-1).
Sound right?

Yes!

My takeaway is that you need to know the difference that tips by defending team has in both Throw-In situations and non-throw in situations and the impact on backcourt violations.

bob jenkins Fri Oct 18, 2013 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 908023)
Yes!

My takeaway is that you need to know the difference that tips by defending team has in both Throw-In situations and non-throw in situations and the impact on backcourt violations.

What is the difference? In both cases, if the ball lands in the BC, it's not a violatiojn for A to get the ball. If the ball is caught in the air and then A lands in the BC, it is a violation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1