The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Striking the backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96283-striking-backboard.html)

Camron Rust Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 907743)
Why would he get a substitute shot when we're awarding the point?

Duh...you are correct. We are awarding the point. :eek:

Sharpshooternes Wed Oct 16, 2013 04:14pm

What is the HS mechanic for signaling a BI or GT?

Freddy Wed Oct 16, 2013 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 907786)
What is the HS mechanic for signaling a BI or GT?

As with other violations that have no specific symbol, simply point to the spot of the violation and vocalize the infraction.

Though yes, I am a plumber, I disapprove of the made-up "swirlie" signal with the finger. It's approved by toilet technicians, but not by NFHS.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 17, 2013 02:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 907788)
As with other violations that have no specific symbol, simply point to the spot of the violation and vocalize the infraction.

Though yes, I am a plumber, I disapprove of the made-up "swirlie" signal with the finger. It's approved by toilet technicians, but not by NFHS.

Wouldn't the signal be to either count the basket or wipe the basket depending on which team committed the infraction? Or are you thinking of that not as a signal for the infraction but, instead, a signal for the penalty.

Freddy Thu Oct 17, 2013 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 907805)
Wouldn't the signal be to either count the basket or wipe the basket depending on which team committed the infraction? Or are you thinking of that not as a signal for the infraction but, instead, a signal for the penalty.

Correct.

APG Thu Oct 17, 2013 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 907788)