![]() |
Reporting a simultaneous foul
How does officiating and reporting a simultaneous foul occur? A1 fouls B1 and B2 fouls A2. The officials obviously get together and talk it out. They then need to report the fouls. Who goes first or does one take both pieces of information to the table. Never really seen it so curious on the mechanic. Thanks.
|
It happens so rarely (I've never had it) that I wouldn't be concerned too much with how to go about it. I'd probably just have one official report it, and I'd likely go to the table to do it rather than standing in my normal reporting area. It's an unusual situation, so the scorer may need clarification.
|
Quote:
Definitely something that should be done face-to-face at the table as you said and probably a joint convo with the coaches to explain what's going on as well. |
Agreed. And start the discussion with "we have two fouls -- one on each team" so the scorer / teams etc. know that more is coming after you report the first one.
|
It happened to me once last year. I went to my partner since it looked like we had the same whistle but quickly realized we disagreed. I got the info and reported both to the table.
|
Quote:
Peace |
I've seen a blarge happen, similar thing.
All three referees got together, got it straightened out. Then they brought the coaches together in front of the table so they knew what was going on. Then the head referee reported both fouls to the table while the other two went and got ready to resume play. |
Quote:
Quote:
The drawback, obviously, is in having one official reporting a foul he didn't call. But any questions about that foul could easily be directed to the calling official. |
In the case of simultaneous fouls is it acceptable to all for the officials to get together and determine if they were indeed simultaneous? If it is determined that one occurred before the other, one can be ignored?
|
Quote:
Only if the order cannot be determined should a simultaneous foul be the call. |
If it was decided they didn't happen simultaneously, the second foul would be ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant, and would then be a technical foul for dead ball contact.
|
Quote:
Potentially, FTs for the shooter with the lane cleared. Ball OOB to the defense at the spot nearest where the foul was committed by the shooting team. |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
So what's it gunna be?
I understand that this is a very rare occurence and no matter what you do, no one will know whether you do it wrong or not. However I am seeing that we are split down the middle: one reports, then the other; or get together and one official takes it to the table. That is all well and good and I could go either way, however no one has as yet gone to the attic to dust off their 1934 mechanics book to give us direction as to what the preferred way is? I haven't come across anything that gives any light. Is there someone out there that has a reference?
|
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00am. |