The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of Bound question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95885-out-bound-question.html)

potato Thu Aug 22, 2013 09:21am

Out of Bound question
 
Now i don't know if different standard has different rules regarding out of bounds but i am wondering:

1.If A goes for a loose ball, manage to keep the ball inbound while himself going out of bounds, is he allowed to regain position of the ball when he reenter the court without another person touching it prior? If yes, does both A's feet need to be inside the line before he can touch the ball, or A can jump from outside, touch the ball before both feet landing inbound?

2.Is there any posiblity that A cannot touch the ball or regain position once he saved the ball and goes back inbound while no one touches the ball prior? For example an error pass made by A himself and he goes chasing the ball & saves it back from going out of bound without anyone touching it all the while. Would it be a travel if it happened under such circumstances:
a.A hasn't dribbled yet before the error pass.
b.A has ended his dribble before the error pass.

3.A jumps out of bound for a save, ball on hand, however made contact with an official standing out of bounds before he threw the ball in bound & lands on both feet out of bound. Would it be the same if it's the bench player etc?

bob jenkins Thu Aug 22, 2013 09:44am

For FED and NCAA, as long as you don't go out "of your own volition", then you can return and touch the ball the same as if you hadn't gone out of bounds. The normal standard for being inbounds or out-of-bounds applies (there's no "two feet to return" requirement).

That should let you answer your questions.

Adam Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 903096)
2.Is there any posiblity that A cannot touch the ball or regain position once he saved the ball and goes back inbound while no one touches the ball prior? For example an error pass made by A himself and he goes chasing the ball & saves it back from going out of bound without anyone touching it all the while. Would it be a travel if it happened under such circumstances:
a.A hasn't dribbled yet before the error pass.
b.A has ended his dribble before the error pass.

3.A jumps out of bound for a save, ball on hand, however made contact with an official standing out of bounds before he threw the ball in bound & lands on both feet out of bound. Would it be the same if it's the bench player etc?

2a. not a travel, it's a dribble.
2b. illegal dribble

3. Touching a person standing out of bounds does not make a player out of bounds. Touching the bench itself does.

APG Thu Aug 22, 2013 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 903096)
Now i don't know if different standard has different rules regarding out of bounds but i am wondering:

1.If A goes for a loose ball, manage to keep the ball inbound while himself going out of bounds, is he allowed to regain position of the ball when he reenter the court without another person touching it prior? If yes, does both A's feet need to be inside the line before he can touch the ball, or A can jump from outside, touch the ball before both feet landing inbound?

You have been given answers for NCAA and NFHS. These answers are for the NBA ONLY:

A player may save the ball and be the first to touch the ball if he BATS the ball to save it. In this case, he may grab the ball and dribble it (assuming he hasn't used his dribble). There's no two feet requirement. One foot is sufficient.

If a player saves the ball by throwing the ball, he MAY NOT be the first to touch the ball after he has returned inbounds....doesn't matter if the player has used his dribble or not prior.

Quote:

2.Is there any posiblity that A cannot touch the ball or regain position once he saved the ball and goes back inbound while no one touches the ball prior? For example an error pass made by A himself and he goes chasing the ball & saves it back from going out of bound without anyone touching it all the while. Would it be a travel if it happened under such circumstances:
a.A hasn't dribbled yet before the error pass.
b.A has ended his dribble before the error pass.

2. Under NBA rules, if a player makes a bad pass, he may not be the first person to touch it period. This is considered a "self-pass" and is a travel as soon as he touches the ball. It DOES NOT matter if he has dribbled yet or not.

Quote:

3.A jumps out of bound for a save, ball on hand, however made contact with an official standing out of bounds before he threw the ball in bound & lands on both feet out of bound. Would it be the same if it's the bench player etc?
This is an out of bounds violation. The official is considered part of the floor, so by virtue of him touching the official, he has effectively touched the floor out of bounds. As for the bench player scenario, it depends. Assuming the bench player does not do anything to interfere with the play, then it would be an out of bounds violation. If he interferes with the play and the official believes that A1 could have saved the ball, it's a delay of game warning on Team B and Team A would be awarded the ball. Again, this is for the NBA only.

Adam Thu Aug 22, 2013 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 903134)
2. Under NBA rules, if a player makes a bad pass, he may not be the first person to touch it period. This is considered a "self-pass" and is a travel as soon as he touches the ball. It DOES NOT matter if he has dribbled yet or not.

Just to drive this home, this is an NBA rule only.

potato Sat Aug 24, 2013 09:22pm

2.If the player uses a single handed pass in similar fashion to a dribble throw, would that count as a pass or it can be treated as a dribble so he can pick up the ball?

3.So on NBA treat touching a person out of bound as out of bound? What if the person is not an official, bench player but a player instead? Say A going out of bound for a save and threw the ball against B and it's going out of bound, B then dives out of bound to save the ball but while ball in contact with B comes in contact with A whom is standing out of bounds before landing on A's both feet.



Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 903134)
2. Under NBA rules, if a player makes a bad pass, he may not be the first person to touch it period. This is considered a "self-pass" and is a travel as soon as he touches the ball. It DOES NOT matter if he has dribbled yet or not.



This is an out of bounds violation. The official is considered part of the floor, so by virtue of him touching the official, he has effectively touched the floor out of bounds. As for the bench player scenario, it depends. Assuming the bench player does not do anything to interfere with the play, then it would be an out of bounds violation. If he interferes with the play and the official believes that A1 could have saved the ball, it's a delay of game warning on Team B and Team A would be awarded the ball. Again, this is for the NBA only.


APG Sat Aug 24, 2013 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 903373)
2.If the player uses a single handed pass in similar fashion to a dribble throw, would that count as a pass or it can be treated as a dribble so he can pick up the ball?

3.So on NBA treat touching a person out of bound as out of bound? What if the person is not an official, bench player but a player instead? Say A going out of bound for a save and threw the ball against B and it's going out of bound, B then dives out of bound to save the ball but while ball in contact with B comes in contact with A whom is standing out of bounds before landing on A's both feet.

Judgement call...but this type of play is usually evident, and the player's reaction would usually be a dead giveaway.

As to your second part, no that wouldn't be an out of bounds violation. NBA RULES: A player is out of bounds when he touches the floor (which an official is considered as far as ball/player touching) or if he touches an object on or outside the OOB boundary. If if wasn't, then a B1 could simply run OOB and touch A1 and it'd be an OOB violation on Team A.

potato Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:31am

What if B was already standing out of bounds, while A holding the ball going out of bounds loses his balance, and 1 foot stepping (unintentionally) on the foot of B who is out of bound, while the other foot of A still inbound, would that be OOB? Also what if B was 1 foot in 1 foot out and A stepped on B's in bound foot?

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 903375)
Judgement call...but this type of play is usually evident, and the player's reaction would usually be a dead giveaway.

As to your second part, no that wouldn't be an out of bounds violation. NBA RULES: A player is out of bounds when he touches the floor (which an official is considered as far as ball/player touching) or if he touches an object on or outside the OOB boundary. If if wasn't, then a B1 could simply run OOB and touch A1 and it'd be an OOB violation on Team A.


just another ref Sun Aug 25, 2013 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 903107)
3. Touching a person standing out of bounds does not make a player out of bounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 903390)
What if B was already standing out of bounds, while A holding the ball going out of bounds loses his balance, and 1 foot stepping (unintentionally) on the foot of B who is out of bound, while the other foot of A still inbound, would that be OOB? Also what if B was 1 foot in 1 foot out and A stepped on B's in bound foot?

Would you consider stepping on the foot to be touching the person?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1