![]() |
What is the call?
Had a play in a championship (7th grade) national tournament in SLC.
5 point game with 15 seconds left and the home team is up by 5. The ball is coming into play on the end line. H5 is moving in the key to get open. V5 push him out of his route twice then two hands off balance and he falls to the floor with the physicality. I am lead doing my count watching the contact and the ball has not been released as V1 watches his center crash in the key. Is this a dead ball technical or an intentional foul. Thanks in advance, |
The play before this one was I was trail on a fast break. H4 is ahead of his man on a fast break and V4 cant stop him from getting a lay up. He falls into his feet tripping him and causing H4 to head plant and get hurt. My partner came up with an intentional foul.
|
When does the ball become live after a made basket?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Well if all this took place during the live ball, it cannot be a technical. It could be an intentional if you feel it fit the definition, but hard to tell by your description.
This is why we get paid the big bucks, not make the hard decisions. Peace |
Quote:
If the ball was dead then the contact would be ignored unless it was I or F, so if you wanted to have a foul, it would have to be an IT or an FT. |
Quote:
After a made basket we begin a count when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in. After a stoppage in play (violation/foul/intermission/time-out/inadvertent whistle) we hand/bounce the ball to the thrower-in at which point the ball is immediately considered at the disposal of the thrower-in. At what point is the ball considered live during a throw-in? |
Intentional
|
In the normal course of the game, this is quite possibly just a common defensive personal foul. In this situation, I'm pretty likely to get the first push on V5 to stop the situation from escalating. If it's clear they're just trying to foul to keep the clock from starting, you might want to consider an intentional personal foul on V5.
I'd have to see it to know for sure on that aspect, but either way, it's clearly a personal foul because you had started your 5 second count. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And yes, if you judged the foul merits an INT call, that would be the correct call since the ball is live. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Was there a time out or subs coming in the game ????? While I never like to be hard on officials on this site, you are very happy because you are working a "championship" game, however based on your original post, you don't know the definition of a live ball, otherwise you wouldn't have asked if it was a dead ball tech or intentional foul. My point.....pls study your definitions. This question seems pretty simple for anybody working a "national championship" game at any level..... |
Quote:
|
You lost me at 7th grade national tournament.
|
I Already Know, I'm A Bad Boy, A Very Boy ...
Quote:
|
Easy Billy.....you were very good for a couple days !!!
|
Just poor wording by Big T - "Big Mountain Jam" - it was an open youth tournament with teams from several states - not a nat'l tourney with state/region qualifications/nat'l champions - mostly Utah/intermountain west/western states teams. They did award some really big, impressive trophies - incentive to return next year.
Most of the officials came from Utah, Colo, Calif. 2012 the PAC12 Women used it as a camp, and took most of the better - HSJV/V boys games. They didn't use it this year, because too many of thier officials complained about the cost of travel and accomodations. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08am. |