The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Latest Version Of The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95141-latest-version-most-misunderstood-basketball-rules.html)

BillyMac Sun May 26, 2013 09:20am

Latest Version Of The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules ...
 
The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules

Note: Based on NFHS (National Federation of State High School Associations) rules.

It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player of a team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule.

A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot legally pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.

The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or request a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.

A player must be holding the ball (with one very rare exception) in order to travel. A player can't travel while dribbling, while tapping the ball, while fumbling it, or while trying to recover a loose ball. During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be an illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.

The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a held ball. If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation. When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.

Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a throwin violation, not traveling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may “dribble” the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in, or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

The defender may not break the boundary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the boundary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team delay warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the boundary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team delay warning will be recorded. If the defender breaks the boundary plane, and fouls the inbounding player, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team delay warning will be recorded. It is an intentional personal foul if the defender fouls the inbounding player, even without breaking the boundary plane, however, in this specific case, there is no delay of game warning because the defender did not break the boundary plane.

The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

After a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throwin from an out of bounds spot nearest the violation. This is especially true for a backcourt violation, where the ball may not necessarily be put in play at the division line, but, rather, is always put back in play at the spot nearest the violation.

A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, illegal contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul.

BillyMac Sun May 26, 2013 09:21am

Furthermore ...
 
Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

A defensive player does not have to remain stationary to take a charge. A defender may turn away or duck to absorb contact, provided he or she has already established legal guarding position, which is both feet on the playing court and facing the opponent. The defender can always move backwards or sideways to maintain a legal guarding position and may even have one or both feet off the floor when contact occurs. That player may legally rise vertically. If the defender is moving forward, then the contact is caused by the defender, which is a blocking foul.

The mere fact that contact occurs does not constitute a foul. Incidental contact is contact with an opponent which is permitted and does not constitute a foul. Contact, which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball, or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive moves, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe. Contact which does not hinder an opponent from participating in normal defensive or offensive movements should be considered incidental.

A ten-second count continues when the defense deflects or bats the ball in the backcourt. When a dribbler is advancing the ball into the frontcourt, the ball maintains backcourt status until both feet and the ball touch entirely in the frontcourt.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

The closely guarded rule is in effect in frontcourt only, when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler. Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding. The count continues even if defenders switch. The five-second count ends when a dribbler gets his or her head and shoulders ahead of the defender.

The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player in the lane to gain an advantage. There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. There is a three-second count during an interrupted dribble. There is a three-second count while an offensive player has one foot in the lane and one foot outside of the lane, and the three-second count continues if this player lifts the foot in the lane so that neither foot is touching inside the lane. To stop the count this player must have both feet touch the court outside of the lane. It’s a violation for a player to step out of bounds in an attempt to avoid a three second violation. Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.

The head coach may request and be granted a timeout if his or her player is holding or dribbling the ball, or during a dead ball period. A player saving the ball in the air can ask for and be granted a timeout even if that player is going out of bounds. The key is whether or not the player has control of the ball.

On free throws, there is a maximum of two offensive players and four defensive players in the six marked lane spaces. The defense must be in the first marked lane spaces, above the neutral zone marks, on all free throws. The offense must not occupy the first marked lane spaces, above the neutral zone marks. The shooter and all the players in the designated lane spaces must wait until the ball hits rim or backboard before entering the lane. Players, other than the shooter, and the players in the designated lane spaces, are to remain behind the free throw line extended and behind the three point arc, and may not penetrate the free throw line extended and the three point arc until the ball hits rim or backboard. During a free throw, no opponent, including bench personnel, may disconcert the free thrower. For free throws when there are no rebounders in the marked lane spaces, i.e. technical fouls and intentional fouls, the nine nonshooters shall remain behind the free throw line extended and behind the three point arc.

A held ball occurs when opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness. Action of arms and elbows resulting from total body movements as in pivoting or moving to prevent a held ball or loss of control shall not be considered excessive. It is a violation for a player to excessively swing his or her arms or elbows, even without contacting an opponent.

Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with any part of the leg or foot. An unintentionally kicked ball is never illegal, regardless of how far the ball goes and who recovers it. It is also illegal to hit the ball with a fist.

A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game, shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his, or her, replacement. In other words, a player who has been replaced must sit a tick of the clock, however, a player doesn’t have to play a tick of the clock.

Players may not participate while wearing jewelry. Religious medals or medical alert medals are not considered jewelry. A religious medal must be taped and worn under the uniform. A medical alert medal must be taped and may be visible.

Headbands and wristbands must be white, black, beige or a single solid school color. When wearing headbands and/or wristbands, all players must wear the same color, i.e., the headband color must match the wristband color. Only a single item may be worn on the head and/or on each wrist. Sweatbands must be worn below the elbow. Rubber, cloth, or elastic bands, of any color, may be used to control hair. Undershirts must be similar in color to the jersey and shall not have frayed or ragged edges. Arm compression sleeves, and leg compression sleeves, must be worn for medical purposes and must be white, black, beige or a single solid school color, and must be the same color for each team member.

Officials are not required to explain judgment calls, but they may explain some calls if approached by the head coach in a respectful manner. Officials have been instructed to call technical fouls for profanity, unsporting acts, excessive complaints, or verbal abuse.

Officials are on the court to be the only unbiased arbiters of the game. Officials are not concerned with who wins or loses, but only fairness and safety. Everyone else in that gym cares about winning, and therefore cannot look at the game objectively. Players commit fouls and violations; officials view those infractions, judge the action, and then apply the rules of the game to what they had viewed. The rules then determine the penalty.

Revised 5/26/13

BillyMac Sun May 26, 2013 09:23am

Things Seem To Be A Little Slow On The Forum, So ...
 
The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules

This is a list of high school basketball rules that are often misunderstood by coaches, players, and parents. I developed this list over the past thirty years, officiating thousands of basketball games, listening to erroneous comments from players, coaches, and mostly from fans, and thinking to myself, "I wish I could stop the game and explain the real rule to them". This list is meant to educate those players, coaches, and fans.

For example. A player is dribbling the ball in the backcourt and a fan is yelling, "Three seconds". Or, a player is inbounding the ball and a parent yells, "He's stepping on the boundary line". How many times have things like this happened to you? Don't you just want to blow the whistle, stop the game, and say, "There can't be a three second violation until the ball is in the frontcourt", or, "The player can step on the line, but not over the line".

I started working on this list back in March 2005, for a presentation that I was making to a college level basketball coaching class after I was asked to give a lecture on the most misunderstood basketball rules. The list has evolved many times over the years.

Go ahead guys. Feel free to tear this apart. I'm always looking for ways to improve the list.

Freddy Sun May 26, 2013 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895556)
Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, and has the possibility of entering the basket.

I'm yearning for a verb in the first half of this compound sentence.

Adam Sun May 26, 2013 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895559)
The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules

This is a list of high school basketball rules that are often misunderstood by coaches, players, and parents. I developed this list over the past thirty years, officiating thousands of basketball games, listening to erroneous comments from players, coaches, and mostly from fans, and thinking to myself, "I wish I could stop the game and explain the real rule to them". This list is meant to educate those players, coaches, and fans.

For example. A player is dribbling the ball in the backcourt and a fan is yelling, "Three seconds". Or, a player is inbounding the ball and a parent yells, "He's stepping on the boundary line". How many times have things like this happened to you? Don't you just want to blow the whistle, stop the game, and say, "There can't be a three second violation until the ball is in the frontcourt", or, "The player can step on the line, but not over the line".

I started working on this list back in March 2005, for a presentation that I was making to a college level basketball coaching class after I was asked to give a lecture on the most misunderstood basketball rules. The list has evolved many times over the years.

Go ahead guys. Feel free to tear this apart. I'm always looking for ways to improve the list.

My advice is the same as always: pare it down. To me, this isn't the list of "most" misunderstood rules. It's an attempt to list all of the misunderstood rules, no matter how prevalent the misunderstanding. Some of these are so rarely misunderstood that I wouldn't include them.

FWIW

BillyMac Sun May 26, 2013 01:09pm

Bankrupt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 895562)
I'm yearning for a verb in the first half of this compound sentence.

First you have to buy a vowel. If you can suggest a way of doing this without a buying a vowel, then go right ahead, and spin again.

BillyMac Sun May 26, 2013 01:16pm

It's Worth A Lot ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895565)
My advice is the same as always: Pare it down.

Agree. I've tried, but I can't. It's like you and your wife are expecting a baby and end up with surprise twins. Times are tough, you're between jobs, you can only afford a single child, so you have to give up one of the babies for adaption. How do you pick? Even Solomon couldn't solve this problem, with, or without, a sword. That's Harvey Solomon, a veteran official on our local board.

Bad Zebra Sun May 26, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 895562)
I'm yearning for a verb in the first half of this compound sentence.

Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, and has the possibility of entering the basket.

Insert the word OCCURS after the word Goaltending?

BillyMac Sun May 26, 2013 02:57pm

Free Spin ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 895579)
Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, and has the possibility of entering the basket.

Insert the word OCCURS after the word Goaltending?

It will cost you two vowels.

Raymond Sun May 26, 2013 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895574)
Agree. I've tried, but I can't. It's like you and your wife are expecting a baby and end up with surprise twins. Times are tough, you're between jobs, you can only afford a single child, so you have to give up one of the babies for adaption. How do you pick? Even Solomon couldn't solve this problem, with, or without, a sword. That's Harvey Solomon, a veteran official on our local board.

Held ball can be eliminated. What you talk about is nothing I've seen misunderstood.

Adam Sun May 26, 2013 10:41pm

A start
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895556)
The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules

Note: Based on NFHS (National Federation of State High School Associations) rules.

It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player of a team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule.

<s>A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.</s>

<s>The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. </s>Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. <s>The ball cannot legally pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.</s>

The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or request a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.

A player must be holding the ball (with one very rare exception) in order to travel. A player can't travel while dribbling, while tapping the ball, while fumbling it, or while trying to recover a loose ball. During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be an illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.

The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. <s>When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a held ball. If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation. When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.</s>

<s>Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time.</s> There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

<s>A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. </s>During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. <s>If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a throwin violation, not traveling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may “dribble” the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in, or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.</s>

<s>The defender may not break the boundary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the boundary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team delay warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the boundary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team delay warning will be recorded. If the defender breaks the boundary plane, and fouls the inbounding player, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team delay warning will be recorded. It is an intentional personal foul if the defender fouls the inbounding player, even without breaking the boundary plane, however, in this specific case, there is no delay of game warning because the defender did not break the boundary plane.</s>

<s>The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.</s>


If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

After a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throwin from an out of bounds spot nearest the violation. This is especially true for a backcourt violation, where the ball may not necessarily be put in play at the division line, but, rather, is always put back in play at the spot nearest the violation.

A moving screen is not in and of itself a foul, illegal contact must occur for a foul to be called. If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

It is legal use of hands to accidentally hit the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul.

Here's a start.

Adam Sun May 26, 2013 10:55pm

Round 2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895557)
Reaching in is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. <s>If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes, or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.</s>

Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

A defensive player does not have to remain stationary to take a charge. A defender may turn away or duck to absorb contact, provided he or she has already established legal guarding position, which is both feet on the playing court and facing the opponent. The defender can always move backwards or sideways to maintain a legal guarding position and may even have one or both feet off the floor when contact occurs. That player may legally rise vertically. If the defender is moving forward, then the contact is caused by the defender, which is a blocking foul.

The mere fact that contact occurs does not constitute a foul. Incidental contact is contact with an opponent which is permitted and does not constitute a foul. Contact, which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball, or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive moves, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe. Contact which does not hinder an opponent from participating in normal defensive or offensive movements should be considered incidental.

<s>A ten-second count continues when the defense deflects or bats the ball in the backcourt. When a dribbler is advancing the ball into the frontcourt, the ball maintains backcourt status until both feet and the ball touch entirely in the frontcourt.</s>

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.

<s>During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.</s>

<s>The closely guarded rule is in effect in frontcourt only, when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler. Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding. The count continues even if defenders switch. The five-second count ends when a dribbler gets his or her head and shoulders ahead of the defender.</s>

The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player in the lane to gain an advantage. There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. There is a three-second count during an interrupted dribble. There is a three-second count while an offensive player has one foot in the lane and one foot outside of the lane, and the three-second count continues if this player lifts the foot in the lane so that neither foot is touching inside the lane. To stop the count this player must have both feet touch the court outside of the lane. It’s a violation for a player to step out of bounds in an attempt to avoid a three second violation. Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.

<s>The head coach may request and be granted a timeout if his or her player is holding or dribbling the ball, or during a dead ball period. A player saving the ball in the air can ask for and be granted a timeout even if that player is going out of bounds. The key is whether or not the player has control of the ball.</s>

<s>On free throws, there is a maximum of two offensive players and four defensive players in the six marked lane spaces. The defense must be in the first marked lane spaces, above the neutral zone marks, on all free throws. The offense must not occupy the first marked lane spaces, above the neutral zone marks. The shooter and all the players in the designated lane spaces must wait until the ball hits rim or backboard before entering the lane. Players, other than the shooter, and the players in the designated lane spaces, are to remain behind the free throw line extended and behind the three point arc, and may not penetrate the free throw line extended and the three point arc until the ball hits rim or backboard. During a free throw, no opponent, including bench personnel, may disconcert the free thrower.</s> For free throws when there are no rebounders in the marked lane spaces, i.e. technical fouls and intentional fouls, the nine nonshooters shall remain behind the free throw line extended and behind the three point arc.

<s>A held ball occurs when opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness. Action of arms and elbows resulting from total body movements as in pivoting or moving to prevent a held ball or loss of control shall not be considered excessive.</s> It is a violation for a player to excessively swing his or her arms or elbows, even without contacting an opponent.

<s>Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with any part of the leg or foot. An unintentionally kicked ball is never illegal, regardless of how far the ball goes and who recovers it.</s> It is also illegal to hit the ball with a fist.

<s>A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game, shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his, or her, replacement. In other words, a player who has been replaced must sit a tick of the clock, however, a player doesn’t have to play a tick of the clock.</s>

Players may not participate while wearing jewelry. Taping over jewelry is not acceptable. Religious medals or medical alert medals are not considered jewelry. A religious medal must be taped and worn under the uniform. A medical alert medal must be taped and may be visible.

<s>Headbands and wristbands must be white, black, beige or a single solid school color. When wearing headbands and/or wristbands, all players must wear the same color, i.e., the headband color must match the wristband color. Only a single item may be worn on the head and/or on each wrist. Sweatbands must be worn below the elbow. Rubber, cloth, or elastic bands, of any color, may be used to control hair. Undershirts must be similar in color to the jersey and shall not have frayed or ragged edges. Arm compression sleeves, and leg compression sleeves, must be worn for medical purposes and must be white, black, beige or a single solid school color, and must be the same color for each team member. </s>

<s>Officials are not required to explain judgment calls, but they may explain some calls if approached by the head coach in a respectful manner. Officials have been instructed to call technical fouls for profanity, unsporting acts, excessive complaints, or verbal abuse.

Officials are on the court to be the only unbiased arbiters of the game. Officials are not concerned with who wins or loses, but only fairness and safety. Everyone else in that gym cares about winning, and therefore cannot look at the game objectively. Players commit fouls and violations; officials view those infractions, judge the action, and then apply the rules of the game to what they had viewed. The rules then determine the penalty. </s>


Revised 5/26/13

A few more changes you could make. Things that aren't generally misunderstood, plus what I see as a glaring omission in the jewelry section.

JRutledge Sun May 26, 2013 11:10pm

I like Adam's changes. I did the same thing when I presented some of the same items. Too much wording for things that should be mostly bullet points. Unless you are writing an article these things do not need to be explained in so much detail.

Peace

Adam Sun May 26, 2013 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895604)
I like Adam's changes. I did the same thing when I presented some of the same items. Too much wording for things that should be mostly bullet points. Unless you are writing an article these things do not need to be explained in so much detail.

Peace

I agree, a lot of what I didn't delete could be shortened to bullets. While I appreciate the use of rule-book wording, I think it's counterproductive for the stated purpose of the document.

potato Mon May 27, 2013 08:06am

Can you explain if the following is travel or not? You mentioned there is no limit on how many steps taken during dribble and the dribble ends (pivot foot established when the ball comes to rest on your hand(s).

http://imageshack.us/a/img856/4067/pivotv.jpg

If you determine the ball only comes to rest when the player is palming/holding the ball, won't it be possible to take several steps before establishing a pivot foot and then take off with the non pivot foot, resulting 4-5 steps straight to the basket without re-bouncing the ball on the floor? I remember someone mentioned he will call it traveling if he sees more than 2 steps (pivot+non pivot) as rule of thumb.

Is this why Le Bron James hardly gets called for traveling because theoretically speaking it's allowed?

Adam Mon May 27, 2013 08:21am

potato, I don't know how you're going to get more thorough answers than you got in your original thread.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 09:20am

Quote, Unquote ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 895600)
Held ball can be eliminated. What you talk about is nothing I've seen misunderstood.

BadNewsRef: From your posts, you seem to be a veteran official, who's been to the rodeo a few times. I can't believe that you never heard this, maybe from your early years working middle school games: "They need to have their hands on the ball for a few seconds."

If I had a dime for every time I heard this, or something similar, I might, just might, be able to buy a cup of coffee at Starbucks.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 09:32am

I Can't Follow My Own Advice ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895603)
A few more changes you could make.

"Never, ever, ever respond to a critique with a, "Yes, but ...". (BillyMac)

I appreciate your suggestions, and I will give them a closer look, but some (some, not all) of your selections are commonly misunderstood, by coaches, players and fans, not by officials, and with the possible exception of brand new officials who have just opened the rulebook for the first time, this list is not meant for officials.

I think that your overestimating the rules knowledge of the common, garden variety, fan, many of whom are not really die hard basketball fans, but are parents who are only there to watch their sons, or daughters: "That's not out of bounds, it didn't touch anything while going over the top of the backboard".

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 09:41am

Who Says I'm Not Writing An Article ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895604)
Too much wording for things that should be mostly bullet points. Unless you are writing an article these things do not need to be explained in so much detail.

It started as a much shorter list from my notes (bullet points) for a lesson to a group of students in a college level basketball coaching class. It got a little bit wordier when I converted my notes to a "handout" to be passed out to the class after my lesson. After that it became a full fledged article that has been published many times, in many different forms, over the years, both online, and on dead trees. I get private messages, or emails, all the time from those asking permission to use my "article", when no permission is needed because most of the points on the list have been suggested by other officials, many whom are members of this Forum.

(Note: Several years ago I maintained a list of Forum members who contributed to this list, a way of giving credit where credit is due. Unfortunately, due to a computer "crash" I lost this list. I figured it was gone forever, and didn't add any new contributers to the list, figuring it wasn't fair to the old contributers. Eventually I found the list online, but I've decided not to maintain this list for fear of not listing those who contributed in between the "crash" and the "finding", i.e., the "gap".)

Adam Mon May 27, 2013 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895621)
"Never, ever, ever respond to a critique with a, "Yes, but ...". (BillyMac)

I appreciate you suggestions, and I will give them a closer look, but some (some, not all) of your selections are commonly misunderstood, by coaches, players and fans, not by officials, and with the possible exception of brand new officials who have just opened the rulebook for the first time, this list is not meant for officials.

I think that your overestimating the rules knowledge of the common, garden variety, fan, many of whom are not really die hard basketball fans, but are parents who are only there to watch their sons, or daughters: "That's not out of bounds, it didn't touch anything while going over the top of the backboard".

I've never once had any grief for an OOB call on a ball going over the backboard. I guess I don't consider it a "commonly misunderstood" rule unless I hear it virtually every other game. One idiot fan per season doesn't make my radar.

Maybe this week I'll have time to sit down and make a top 20 list of how I see it. YMMV, of course.

Also, Billy, I appreciate the effort that has gone into this.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 09:59am

In The Immortal Words Of Lawrence Peter Berra ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895615)
potato, I don't know how you're going to get more thorough answers than you got in your original thread.

"It's déjà vu all over again".

Adam Mon May 27, 2013 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895620)
BadNewsRef: From your posts, you seem to be a veteran official, who's been to the rodeo a few times. I can't believe that you never heard this, maybe from your early years working middle school games: "They need to have their hands on the ball for a few seconds."

If I had a dime for every time I heard this, or something similar, I might, just might, be able to buy a cup of coffee at Starbucks.

I've honestly never heard it, from coaches, fans, nor players. Ever.

Not in high school. Not in middle school. Not in YMCA, AAU, or any other equivalent idiot-filled league.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 10:18am

Miss America Has To Be Hot, And Has To Have A Talent ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895625)
I guess I don't consider it a "commonly misunderstood" rule unless I hear it virtually every other game. One idiot fan per season doesn't make my radar.

Therein lies the rub. One idiot fan per season, especially on a very simple call, does make my radar.

In the immortal words of a naked old man running through the streets of ancient Syracuse (no, it wasn't Jim Boeheim), "Eureka". Thanks to your post, I've finally figured out how I selected rules to post on this "list", or "article". Selections are not only based on the frequency that the rule is misunderstood, but the selection is also based on how simple the rule should be to understand, if the fan only knew the rule.

Note that there is no explanation on my "list" regarding the different types of jump stops that are legal, or illegal, in regard to the traveling rule. This rule is difficult for some officials to understand, and more so to explain, so I'm not going to expect a fan to know all the nuances of the traveling rule.

When a player executes a completely legal jump stop, and a fan yells, "travel", I'm not thinking to myself, "stupid fan", but when an inbounds pass from underneath the team's basket goes untouched into the backcourt where it is retrieved by as player from that team, and a fan yells, "backcourt", then I'm thinking, "idiot fan, if he only knew the rule".

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 10:23am

Time Limit For A Held Ball ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895628)
I've honestly never heard it, from coaches, fans, nor players. Ever.

How about, "You didn't wait long enough"?

Please don't make me start a poll. Jurassic Referee would roll over in his grave. We all remember how much he loved polls.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895628)
Idiot-filled league.

Love this description, and unfortunately, many of us have been there. Thank God I no longer need the money, and can pick, and chose, the games that I really want to work, and no longer have to work games anywhere, and everywhere, to help pay the bills.

JRutledge Mon May 27, 2013 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895624)
It started as a much shorter list from my notes (bullet points) for a lesson to a group of students in a college level basketball coaching class. It got a little bit wordier when I converted my notes to a "handout" to be passed out to the class after my lesson. After that it became a full fledged article that has been published many times, in many different forms, over the years, both online, and on dead trees. I get private messages, or emails, all the time from those asking permission to use my "article", when no permission is needed because most of the points on the list have been suggested by other officials, many whom are members of this Forum.

(Note: Several years ago I maintained a list of Forum members who contributed to this list, a way of giving credit where credit is due. Unfortunately, due to a computer "crash" I lost this list. I figured it was gone forever, and didn't add any new contributers to the list, figuring it wasn't fair to the old contributers. Eventually I found the list online, on another website, but I've decided not to maintain this list for fear of not listing those who contributed in between the "crash" and the "finding", i.e., the "gap".)

I was only making that point as to suggest how it could be cut down a little bit. Not suggesting that it has to be in every situation. Again if you are writing an article I am find with the wordiness based on where it is published. If it is put in a PowerPoint Presentation for example, you need even fewer words. In a PowerPoint situation where you are speaking, you can fill in the blanks or express how this applies. I did use your list but cut it down for that purpose because it was a little much when speaking to a room.

Peace

JRutledge Mon May 27, 2013 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 895613)

Is this why Le Bron James hardly gets called for traveling because theoretically speaking it's allowed?

Actually LBJ gets called for traveling quite a bit if you actually watch games he plays more than once. I have seen him called for such in about 2 or 3 consecutive possessions before.

Peace

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 10:37am

I Know My Limits ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895635)
If it is put in a PowerPoint Presentation for example, you need even fewer words.

Agree 100%, which is why this will never be a PowerPoint without a lot of editing, and input, from a co-author. I, by myself, couldn't turn this into a PowerPoint, it would be too difficult for me to decide which "myths" to select, even if I could target my audience (new officials, coaches, players, or fans).

If I were to ever turn this into a PowerPoint, without a co-author, I could guarantee that 90% of my audience would be asleep by the conclusion of the presentation, and that I would never be invited back by the audience to ever make another presentation. Never, ever.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 10:45am

And You May Also Be In Trouble With Major League Baseball ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895635)
I did use your list but cut it down for that purpose because it was a little much when speaking to a room.

Without the express written consent of BillyMac?

My legal people will be in touch with your legal people tomorrow morning. I gave my people the day off today in honor of Memorial Day.

And don't try to delete your post. I took a screen shot of it, and it's safely locked up, hermetically sealed, in a #2 mayonnaise jar, on Funk and Wagnall's porch.

Raymond Mon May 27, 2013 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895634)
How about, "You didn't wait long enough"?

Please don't make me start a poll. Jurassic Referee would roll over in his grave. We all remember how much he loved polls.
...

Still don't see it as one of the commonly/most misunderstood rules.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 10:59am

Lyndon Baines Johnson ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895636)
Actually LBJ gets called for traveling ...

No way. Please don't tell me that a basketball player has taken over the initials of one of our most active presidents, who did a lot of things that I disagreed with, but who also did a lot of thing that I agreed with. There's no way that someone who is known for being really good at basketball should take over the initials of a president who served his country through some very trying times. The sixties weren't all about flower power, hallucinogenic drugs, and free love. There were lots of real issues to deal with, and although LBJ, the real LBJ, failed, in my mind, with some of these, he was successful in many others.

Next, you'll be telling me that there's a basketball player named FDR, or JFK.

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 11:01am

This Is Your Last Warning ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 895640)
Still don't see it as one of the commonly/most misunderstood rules.

Don't make me start a poll. I don't make idle threats.

JRutledge Mon May 27, 2013 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895639)
Without the expressed written consent of BillyMac?

My legal people will be in touch with your legal people tomorrow morning. I gave my people the day off today in honor of Memorial Day.

And don't try to delete your post. I took a screen shot of it, and it's safely locked up, hermetically sealed, in a #2 mayonnaise jar, on Funk and Wagnall's porch.

Yes without written consent. Never sold it or used it for profit. ;)

Peace

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 11:09am

An Admission Of Guilt ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895647)
Yes without written consent.

These words will come back to haunt you.

And all those Forum members who have logged on today, you can expect a subpoena very soon, and we'll find you eventually. An ex-girlfriend of my second cousin's father-in-law knows Eric Holder's dry cleaner's second wife.

JRutledge Mon May 27, 2013 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895649)
These words will come back to haunt you.

And all those Forum members who have logged on today, you can expect a subpoena very soon, and we'll find you eventually. An ex-girlfriend of my second cousin's father-in-law knows Eric Holder's dry cleaner's second wife.

Well I think we should take a poll to see how concerned I am. ;)

Peace

Adam Mon May 27, 2013 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 895652)
Well I think we should take a poll to see how concerned I am. ;)

Peace

No need. ;)

Altor Mon May 27, 2013 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895644)
No way. Please don't tell me that a basketball player has taken over the initials of one of our most active presidents,

You prefer the nickname that refers to a monarch that authorized the translation of the Bible into English?

BillyMac Mon May 27, 2013 06:29pm

There Were Lots Of Kings Named James ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 895677)
You prefer the nickname that refers to a monarch that authorized the translation of the Bible into English?

I've never heard LeBron James referred to as King James the First.

I'm an American, and a Catholic, so I actually prefer the New American Bible over the King James I Version.

potato Fri May 31, 2013 12:42pm

i asked again here since the thread mentioned about the rule since i couldn't get an answer as i posted the illustration late. don't want to keep bumping the thread.

can you kind soul tell me if it's a travel on both cases? :(

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 895615)
potato, I don't know how you're going to get more thorough answers than you got in your original thread.


Raymond Fri May 31, 2013 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 896190)
i asked again here since the thread mentioned about the rule since i couldn't get an answer as i posted the illustration late. don't want to keep bumping the thread.

can you kind soul tell me if it's a travel on both cases? :(

You're not understanding. It's a judgment call based on when the official determined that the dribble ended. And the NBA has different rules regarding what a player can do with his feet after he gathers the ball. You are not going to get a cut-n-dry, black-n-white answer to your hypotheticals.

bob jenkins Fri May 31, 2013 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 896190)
i asked again here since the thread mentioned about the rule since i couldn't get an answer as i posted the illustration late. don't want to keep bumping the thread.

can you kind soul tell me if it's a travel on both cases? :(

In both cases you asked "when did the player end his dribble and establish his pivot foot? Is #x a travel?"

We can't answer the second until you answer the first -- and we can't tell the answer to the first from your pictures.

potato Fri May 31, 2013 10:27pm

this is the reason i posted the scenario since it's not as clear cut as normal end dribble.

i believe FIBA & NBA both mention the rule that there is no limit on how many steps taken per dribble and dribble ends when the ball "REST" on hand.

i'm not an official so by looking at the 2 clauses i see it as the ball comes to rest only when the player holds the ball with both hands in this case i.e step no.2 (where he established pivot foot) even though he took a step while ball on hand before holding it, but if that is the case won't it be possible to take few more steps if he wasn't being called for palming?

i understand there is a black & white written rule and then there is this "rule of thumb" standard practice for officials. and i believe more than 2 steps after a dribble is considered a travel as a rule of thumb as someone posted before?

i also understand the rule book is not perfect and doesn't cover many grey areas especially when it comes down to modern play style.

from rule of thumb i would say the player established pivot while he gathers in the step no.1 (which makes 360spin move illegal) but from the written book i say he established pivot only when he held the ball (but this will allow exploits for multiple steps before holding the ball), so i just want to know how you officials would call the 2 scenarios. that is all.


Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 896199)
You're not understanding. It's a judgment call based on when the official determined that the dribble ended. And the NBA has different rules regarding what a player can do with his feet after he gathers the ball. You are not going to get a cut-n-dry, black-n-white answer to your hypotheticals.


Adam Fri May 31, 2013 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 896251)
this is the reason i posted the scenario since it's not as clear cut as normal end dribble.

i believe FIBA & NBA both mention the rule that there is no limit on how many steps taken per dribble and dribble ends when the ball "REST" on hand.

i'm not an official so by looking at the 2 clauses i see it as the ball comes to rest only when the player holds the ball with both hands in this case i.e step no.2 (where he established pivot foot) even though he took a step while ball on hand before holding it, but if that is the case won't it be possible to take few more steps if he wasn't being called for palming?

i understand there is a black & white written rule and then there is this "rule of thumb" standard practice for officials. and i believe more than 2 steps after a dribble is considered a travel as a rule of thumb as someone posted before?

i also understand the rule book is not perfect and doesn't cover many grey areas especially when it comes down to modern play style.

from rule of thumb i would say the player established pivot while he gathers in the step no.1 (which makes 360spin move illegal) but from the written book i say he established pivot only when he held the ball (but this will allow exploits for multiple steps before holding the ball), so i just want to know how you officials would call the 2 scenarios. that is all.

I have no idea how to interpret your pictures.

Two hands is not required to consider the dribble ended. Players end the dribble with one hand all the time. Once we consider the player to be holding the ball, the dribble is ended and the pivot foot will be determined accordingly.

It would typically be at the same point where we would consider another dribble to be an illegal dribble, which could also often be called a "carry" (not "palming.")

It's a judgment call sometimes determining when the dribble is ended.

BillyMac Sat Jun 01, 2013 09:14am

4-15 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 896257)
Two hands is not required to consider the dribble ended. Players end the dribble with one hand all the time. Once we consider the player to be holding the ball, the dribble is ended and the pivot foot will be determined accordingly.

The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control.
e. The ball becomes dead.

BillyMac Sat Jun 01, 2013 09:17am

Palm Saturday ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 896257)
... which could also often be called a "carry" (not "palming").

Why not? The dribble ends when the dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

There's even a NFHS palming signal:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5468/8...5c53e019_m.jpg

potato Tue Jun 04, 2013 09:27am

I know my pictures are not as great as a video, but i also described the scenario beside the picture.

I know when you determine the ball has rested, that is why i mentioned the player was not palming or holding the ball in the 1st step. So would it be considered that he only ended the dribble on the 2nd step? If that is the case we can see the player has taken an abnormal 3 steps after the last dribble bounce.

Again if it were a clear cut 90's basketball this kind of question would hardly exist but since we are using pretty much the same rules as the 90's while new play style has been invented i though i'd ask.

Thus i'd like to hear how non-NBA officials see it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 896257)
I have no idea how to interpret your pictures.

Two hands is not required to consider the dribble ended. Players end the dribble with one hand all the time. Once we consider the player to be holding the ball, the dribble is ended and the pivot foot will be determined accordingly.

It would typically be at the same point where we would consider another dribble to be an illegal dribble, which could also often be called a "carry" (not "palming.")

It's a judgment call sometimes determining when the dribble is ended.


bob jenkins Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 896568)
I know my pictures are not as great as a video, but i also described the scenario beside the picture.

I know when you determine the ball has rested, that is why i mentioned the player was not palming or holding the ball in the 1st step. So would it be considered that he only ended the dribble on the 2nd step?

It could also be sometime between picture 1 and picture 2 and might depend on whether both feet were on the floor during the transition between pics 1 and 2, or whether both feet were in the air, etc.

It does seem to point out whay as officials we don't care about "the number of steps" (1, 2, 100) and only care about "movement of the pivot foot in excess of what is allowed by rule."

Raymond Tue Jun 04, 2013 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 896568)
I know my pictures are not as great as a video, but i also described the scenario beside the picture.

I know when you determine the ball has rested, that is why i mentioned the player was not palming or holding the ball in the 1st step. So would it be considered that he only ended the dribble on the 2nd step? If that is the case we can see the player has taken an abnormal 3 steps after the last dribble bounce.

Again if it were a clear cut 90's basketball this kind of question would hardly exist but since we are using pretty much the same rules as the 90's while new play style has been invented i though i'd ask.

Thus i'd like to hear how non-NBA officials see it.

When we determine the dribble has ended we then determine which foot is the pivot. So in your scenarios what you need to do is determine which foot is the pivot foot based on your judgment as to when the dribble ended. You want us to do that for you based on a picture or description.

JRutledge Tue Jun 04, 2013 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 896568)
I know my pictures are not as great as a video, but i also described the scenario beside the picture.

I know when you determine the ball has rested, that is why i mentioned the player was not palming or holding the ball in the 1st step. So would it be considered that he only ended the dribble on the 2nd step? If that is the case we can see the player has taken an abnormal 3 steps after the last dribble bounce.

Again if it were a clear cut 90's basketball this kind of question would hardly exist but since we are using pretty much the same rules as the 90's while new play style has been invented i though i'd ask.

Thus i'd like to hear how non-NBA officials see it.

Even if you showed a video there would be people here that might disagree when a pivot foot is exactly established. That is after all why we get paid the big bucks and we bring our personal experiences and judgments to the table. So if you are looking for a single answer that everyone is going to agree with, you are not going to get one. We disagree here all the time even when the rules are clear or have little wiggle room. Heck if you even read this site there are many that want to make everything a travel while others think those situations are being very technical. And your pictures certainly are not going to change that fact.

Peace

BillyMac Wed Jun 05, 2013 06:03am

Judgment, That's Why We Get Paid The Big Bucks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 896644)
Even if you showed a video there would be people here that might disagree when a pivot foot is exactly established ...

... and when the ball comes to rest, thus ending the dribble.

Jdotmozy Thu Jun 06, 2013 08:08am

Backcourt violation-clarification
 
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.

However, in the case book 9.9.1 Situation D, states that this is indeed a backcourt violation. Is it strictly because the player leapt from the front court into the backcourt versus already being in the backcourt?

bob jenkins Thu Jun 06, 2013 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jdotmozy (Post 896769)
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.

However, in the case book 9.9.1 Situation D, states that this is indeed a backcourt violation. Is it strictly because the player leapt from the front court into the backcourt versus already being in the backcourt?

yes -- once the player caught the ball, the ball was in the FC, with team control. So, when the player landed in the BC, it's a violation. The "throw-in exception" applies only to the player to first touch the ball -- once the ball was tipped, that exception no longer applies.

Jdotmozy Thu Jun 06, 2013 08:27am

Got it. Don't have to agree with it, but I will call it if I see it. I just don't like how a player jumping from FC, catching a tipped throw in, landing in BC is a violation. When it's legal on an untapped throw in, or if player was already in the BC. Just seems sketchy to me and doesn't fit IMO.

Camron Rust Thu Jun 06, 2013 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 896771)
yes -- once the player caught the ball, the ball was in the FC, with team control. So, when the player landed in the BC, it's a violation. The "throw-in exception" applies only to the player to first touch the ball -- once the ball was tipped, that exception no longer applies.

And I think that is a silly exception...not that it exists but that it ends too early.

It SHOULD be that the backcourt violations after a throwin, steal, or a shot attempt (not in control of the team catching the ball in the historic definition of team control) don't take effect until after a player inbounds has caught the ball and landed...even if the first player caught the ball and passed it before landing.

It shouldn't matter if the ball was tipped or not or by who it was tipped. It keeps the interpretations and scenarios clean and simple. Allow such extra room in these three cases would rarely come into effect and having them be illegal doesn't really solve a problem needing solving.

BillyMac Thu Jun 06, 2013 04:51pm

For Your Viewing Pleasure ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jdotmozy (Post 896769)
9.9.1 Situation D.

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's
throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball
in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The
throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in
the air after having left the floor from Team A’s frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt
status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt
violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in
ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-3)

Adam Thu Jun 06, 2013 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 896828)
And I think that is a silly exception...not that it exists but that it ends too early.

It SHOULD be that the backcourt violations after a throwin, steal, or a shot attempt (not in control of the team catching the ball in the historic definition of team control) don't take effect until after a player inbounds has caught the ball and landed...even if the first player caught the ball and passed it before landing.

It shouldn't matter if the ball was tipped or not or by who it was tipped. It keeps the interpretations and scenarios clean and simple. Allow such extra room in these three cases would rarely come into effect and having them be illegal doesn't really solve a problem needing solving.

Way back when we had this argument, before the Fed clarified that the previously parenthetical examples were all inclusive, I thought they were only examples and the exception should apply to any player who establishes team control while airborne from his/her front court.

I still think that's how it should be.

mutantducky Fri Jun 07, 2013 04:58am

Quote:

If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.


Is there any restriction on dribbling? Can the player after coming inbounds start, get the ball and then dribble?
If A1 is dribbling, loses the ball or dodges a player and goes out of bounds, can A1 return and continue the dribble? Or would this be like a fumble and can only get the ball but not dribble?

bob jenkins Fri Jun 07, 2013 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 896846)
Is there any restriction on dribbling? Can the player after coming inbounds start, get the ball and then dribble?
If A1 is dribbling, loses the ball or dodges a player and goes out of bounds, can A1 return and continue the dribble? Or would this be like a fumble and can only get the ball but not dribble?

Depends -- did the dribble ever end? That's all you need to know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1