The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95115-video-request-indiana-miami-foul-causes-travel-video-added.html)

Sharpshooternes Thu May 23, 2013 10:02pm

Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added)
 
2:10 left in First OT, Indiana player drives through the lane gets fouled after the gather and it looks like he took a couple of extra steps there. If you would like to discuss NBE rules go right on ahead but specifically for HS, is this one of the times you wipe off the basket and then shoot 2?

APG Fri May 24, 2013 12:56am

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7YlrovYLzvY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JRutledge Fri May 24, 2013 01:32am

Why would you whip off the basket if he was fouled in the act of shooting? It was not like the contact did not affect his movement. If he traveled on his own then I would agree, but not when fouled like that.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri May 24, 2013 01:37am

By rule and without exception, the ball is dead once a player travels.

They don't get to travel just because they were fouled. Otherwise, we'd have to let players who get fouled when they go up also land and go back up to complete the shot. This is no different. If you did excuse the travel, how many steps? 3? 4? 10? And how do you know how many? What rule would apply?

BillyMac Fri May 24, 2013 06:10am

Quote, Unquote ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 895325)
By rule and without exception, the ball is dead once a player travels. They don't get to travel just because they were fouled.

Agree. I couldn't have said it better myself. In fact, I think that I'll go ahead and say it anyway.

Raymond Fri May 24, 2013 07:01am

I don't clearly see a travel here. I'm counting the basket and no one will think twice about it.

JRutledge Fri May 24, 2013 07:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 895334)
I don't clearly see a travel here. I'm counting the basket and no one will think twice about it.

Same here. I see a guy pushed and throwing the ball up. And I am counting the basket and not thinking twice either. And that is judgment, not just a rule that applies.

Peace

bob jenkins Fri May 24, 2013 07:56am

Agreed with all -- IF it was a travel, then no basket shoot 2. But, I don't see it as a travel (but it looks ugly and is a long step and almost another before the ball is released)

Camron Rust Fri May 24, 2013 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 895349)
Agreed with all -- IF it was a travel, then no basket shoot 2. But, I don't see it as a travel (but it looks ugly and is a long step and almost another before the ball is released)

I can't say for sure whether there was a travel or not....so I'm not calling one.

MathReferee Fri May 24, 2013 12:51pm

I agree. Not a clear travel, so I am counting it. I had right foot as pivot, step with left, then right almost comes back down before he releases.

just another ref Fri May 24, 2013 02:10pm

Left foot was the pivot.

Adam Fri May 24, 2013 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MathReferee (Post 895383)
I agree. Not a clear travel, so I am counting it. I had right foot as pivot, step with left, then right almost comes back down before he releases.

Based on my 4" screen, that's what I have.

BillyMac Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm

Pay Attention Rookies ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 895376)
I can't say for sure whether there was a travel or not....so I'm not calling one.

Words that should be "tattooed" in the brains of all officials.

"When in doubt, don't be." (Yogi Berra)

(I know that he didn't say this, but it sure sounds like he would have said something like this.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1