The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95017-backcourt-violation.html)

BigT Mon May 13, 2013 10:48am

Backcourt violation?
 
A1 has a throw-in at the 28 foot volleyball line in his front court. He passes to A2 which is near half court. B2 deflects the ball and A2 touches the ball after B2 deflects it. It then goes into the backcourt and is recovered by A2.

Because he didnt have control of it is it not a backcourt?

APG Mon May 13, 2013 10:49am

Legal play...no backcourt violation

Adam Mon May 13, 2013 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 893898)
A1 has a throw-in at the 28 foot volleyball line in his front court. He passes to A2 which is near half court. B2 deflects the ball and A2 touches the ball after B2 deflects it. It then goes into the backcourt and is recovered by A2.

Because he didnt have control of it is it not a backcourt?

Where was PC first established inbounds?

referee99 Mon May 13, 2013 12:25pm

BigT, just remember...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 893898)
A1 has a throw-in at the 28 foot volleyball line in his front court. He passes to A2 which is near half court. B2 deflects the ball and A2 touches the ball after B2 deflects it. It then goes into the backcourt and is recovered by A2.

Because he didnt have control of it is it not a backcourt?

... that the location of the throw-in, while helpful for visualizing the play, has no bearing on the play. If the same play occurs with the throw-in from either endline or either sideline, the result would be the same.

dvboa Mon May 13, 2013 01:03pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/0pQMdZ32nSI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Similar play minus the defensive deflection - same result. This play was called incorrectly. Should have been a no-call.

BigT Mon May 13, 2013 01:25pm

New situation. What if I am holding the ball and it gets knocked out of my hands. I go t get it and fumble it into the back court and get it again. Is that a violation?

Raymond Mon May 13, 2013 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 893956)
New situation. What if I am holding the ball and it gets knocked out of my hands. I go t get it and fumble it into the back court and get it again. Is that a violation?

Did you have Player Control when the play started?

dvboa Mon May 13, 2013 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 893956)
New situation. What if I am holding the ball and it gets knocked out of my hands. I go t get it and fumble it into the back court and get it again. Is that a violation?

NFHS Rule Definitions
4-4-2 - A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

By touching the ball in the frontcourt - by rule - would give you frontcourt status so by going into the backcourt to retrieve it would be a backcourt violation.

Team control existed when you had the ball in the frontcourt and continued during your interrupted dribble/fumble.

(edit thanks to Nevada) : )

referee99 Mon May 13, 2013 01:49pm

Break it down.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 893956)
New situation. What if I am holding the ball

In the front court? Team control established. Front court established.
Quote:

and it gets knocked out of my hands. I go t0 get it and fumble it into the back court and get it again.
You were last to touch in the front court?
First to touch in the back court?
Quote:

Is that a violation?
Yup.

deecee Mon May 13, 2013 02:41pm

During play and when the ball is in the front court I just think "first to touch/last to touch". In other words was the team to touch the ball in the BC the last to touch in the FC? Yes (and it was the offensive team) then BC violation.

rekent Mon May 13, 2013 07:24pm

You know, having dvboa as a member might be pretty handy with that large catalog of video plays he says he has...

Nevadaref Mon May 13, 2013 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 894013)
You know, having dvboa as a member might be pretty handy with that large catalog of video plays he says he has...

And we can teach him that NFHS rules citations are written X-Y-Z and case book plays are in the form a.b.c

:)

dvboa Mon May 13, 2013 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 894032)
And we can teach him that NFHS rules citations are written X-Y-Z and case book plays are in the form a.b.c

:)

Thanks Nevada. Just learned something. I'm gonna love coming here - sounds like you guys will keep me straight!

Nevadaref Mon May 13, 2013 11:36pm

Great, and as I just posted in another thread, welcome to the forum.
Many officials don't notice the formats, but pull out your copies of the rules and case books and take a look. You will see that the NFHS consistently does it that way. Sticking to that method helps keep us on the same page during discussions.

Adam Mon May 13, 2013 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dvboa (Post 894034)
Thanks Nevada. Just learned something. I'm gonna love coming here - sounds like you guys will keep me straight!

We can be a persnickety bunch, but as Nevada notes, it really helps to keep everyone on the same page when hashing out rules and case plays.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1