The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back court questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94863-back-court-questions.html)

BigT Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:55am

Back court questions
 
*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to
the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball
and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In
(a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from
A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to
touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was
not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second
count.

I thought you had to have player control and team control in the front court to get this over and back call. So deflecting is control? What happens if it hits his player in the back while standing in front court and comes back into backcourt and is grabbed by A3? Is that a violation?

This came from a question from a fellow official.

Any case scenarios pertaining to A1 with possession in the front court, ball slapped by B1 away from A1, touches any part of any A player and then is recovered by any A player in backcourt. Is this a violation?

Any clarification would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

OKREF Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 891739)
*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to
the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball
and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In
(a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from
A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to
touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was
not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second
count.

I thought you had to have player control and team control in the front court to get this over and back call. So deflecting is control? What happens if it hits his player in the back while standing in front court and comes back into backcourt and is grabbed by A3? Is that a violation?

Backcourt 9.9.1 A1 is dribbling in backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt A2 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt.

RULING: It is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the backcourt.


This came from a question from a fellow official.

Any case scenarios pertaining to A1 with possession in the front court, ball slapped by B1 away from A1, touches any part of any A player and then is recovered by any A player in backcourt. Is this a violation?

Any clarification would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Backcourt. Loose ball is still in team control of the last team to have possession. A touched it last and recovered in the backcourt.

bob jenkins Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 891739)
I thought you had to have player control and team control in the front court to get this over and back call. So deflecting is control? What happens if it hits his player in the back while standing in front court and comes back into backcourt and is grabbed by A3? Is that a violation?

This came from a question from a fellow official.

Any case scenarios pertaining to A1 with possession in the front court, ball slapped by B1 away from A1, touches any part of any A player and then is recovered by any A player in backcourt. Is this a violation?

Any clarification would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

You need player control, and the ball needs to reach the FC. You don't need "PC in the FC".

All the plays you mention are violations.

BigT Mon Apr 22, 2013 03:34pm

Thank you both.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1