![]() |
Backcourt Violation on Rebound? NFHS Rules
Is this a backcourt violation under NFHS?
The offensive team controls possession and shoots, draws iron, but misses, at their basket. At no time does a defensive player touch the ball. The offensive team after after the missed shot tips (basically spikes ball) over the mid court line. Again, no defensive player has touched the ball. The offensive team recovers the ball past the mid court line from the basket they are shooting on. Backcourt violation? |
No violation. Team control ended with the release of the try, and according to your description was not reestablished in the frontcourt.
|
But wouldn't the act of tipping the ball by the offensive player reestablish control in the front court?
|
No. A player is in control when holding or dribbling a live ball. A tip is neither.
|
Legal play under all major rulesets in the US.
|
Thank you
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58am. |