The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clarifying Block/Charge in regard to RA (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94506-clarifying-block-charge-regard-ra.html)

AremRed Sun Mar 24, 2013 04:46pm

Clarifying Block/Charge in regard to RA
 
Player A1 drives baseline. Secondary defender B2 comes form the weakside, and establishes legal guarding position outside the restricted area. Player A1 initiates the contact, not trying to go around B2. B2 slides his right foot back as contact occurs, and his foot is then inside the RA.

My question: once a player established LGP outside the RA, can he move back his feet at all? If a player with LGP is moving backward as he is defending, moves his feet into the RA, and the offensive player initiates contact, what is the call?

APG Sun Mar 24, 2013 04:50pm

What rule set are you asking for?

AremRed Sun Mar 24, 2013 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 886559)
What rule set are you asking for?

NCAA Men, a similar play just happened in Kansas v North Carolina. 15:33 1st half.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 24, 2013 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 886557)
Player A1 drives baseline. Secondary defender B2 comes form the weakside, and establishes legal guarding position outside the restricted area. Player A1 initiates the contact, not trying to go around B2. B2 slides his right foot back as contact occurs, and his foot is then inside the RA.

My question: once a player established LGP outside the RA, can he move back his feet at all? If a player with LGP is moving backward as he is defending, moves his feet into the RA, and the offensive player initiates contact, what is the call?

Charge. RA is only relevant to initial LGP.

AremRed Sun Mar 24, 2013 05:48pm

Cool! So once a player has LGP outside the RA, they can draw a charge anywhere?

I suppose I got confused by all these threads regarding the block/charge while dealing with secondary defenders.

JetMetFan Sun Mar 24, 2013 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 886575)
Cool! So once a player has LGP outside the RA, they can draw a charge anywhere?

I suppose I got confused by all these threads regarding the block/charge while dealing with secondary defenders.

The RA just deals with where you establish LGP as a secondary defender. If you establish outside it doesn't mean you have to stand there like a statue and let the offense go around you.

A defender can still play defense if he/she establishes LGP inside the RA, i.e., try to block a shot. What a defender cannot do is establish LGP in the RA and then draw a PC/charge while still inside the RA unless the offense kicks out a leg or does something else egregious to create contact.

bob jenkins Sun Mar 24, 2013 07:25pm

And, despite what the common-taters said oin the Ohios State - Iowa state game, being OVER the arc is the same as being IN the arc.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1