The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kentucky vs FLorida Video Request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94309-kentucky-vs-florida-video-request.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Mar 09, 2013 01:59pm

Kentucky vs FLorida Video Request
 
WIth 4:07 remaining in the second half, a Ryan Harrow player drives into the lane and throws up a little floater for Cauley-Stein, who takes the alley-oop pass and slams it home. While this pass is in the air, Patric Young of FLorida is whistled for a foul committed against Ryan Harrow. This is the 8th team foul. Harrow is sent to the line for two free throws, which he made both.

I'm wondering why he would have been awarded 2 FTs. The CBS camera appeared to show someone, maybe Harrow, asking the official in the lane as they were lining up for the FTs if it was going to be 2 shots. I couldn't tell what the response from the official was, but he did get two FTs, and the players didn't react on the first one at all, as if to confirm that it was ruled a two shot shooting foul.

Can anyone shed some light on this as to why Harrow would have been awarded 2 shots instead of a 1 and 1 bonus situation?

Camron Rust Sat Mar 09, 2013 08:30pm

Having not seen the play, perhaps the official felt he was shooting when he was fouled and either the shot was errant as a result of the foul making it look like a alley oop or maybe he felt he was shooting when fouled but gave up on the shot as a result of the foul.

deecee Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 883941)
Having not seen the play, perhaps the official felt he was shooting when he was fouled and either the shot was errant as a result of the foul making it look like a alley oop or maybe he felt he was shooting when fouled but gave up on the shot as a result of the foul.

Or the team could be in the double bonus.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 10, 2013 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 883977)
Or the team could be in the double bonus.

That may be but I hope that no official would need to ask the question if that were the case.

WhistlesAndStripes Sun Mar 10, 2013 02:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 883977)
Or the team could be in the double bonus.

As stated in the original post, this was the 8th team foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1