The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   TN/KY Women's game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94274-tn-ky-womens-game.html)

olddoc08 Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:43pm

TN/KY Women's game
 
Did anyone see at the end of the first half where the referees called a blocking foul on the TN player against Ky player#1 who dished to KY player #2 who then scored at the buzzer. The officials after review counted the basket and then sent KY player #1 to the line for a 1 plus 1.

JetMetFan Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:47am

I just watched it and hopefully I can post it when I get home later this morning.

What had to have been decided - IMO incorrectly - was the block against UT #12 took place as UK #50 was in the act of shooting. Continuous motion would apply since it was a foul on the defense. Obviously the crew couldn't review the blocking foul, specifically the timing of it in relation to the shot by UK #50. All it could check for was whether UK #50 released the shot before the end of the half, which she did.

If I'm as lucky (and fortunate...and thrilled...and whatever other words of that nature you want to use) as I was last year, hopefully I'll be able to ask one of the officials on the game about the play at one of the officiating camps I'm planning to attend this summer.

APG Wed Mar 06, 2013 08:04pm

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/XsWfg0t-cMc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JetMetFan Wed Mar 06, 2013 08:18pm

Sure...post the play just as I'm rendering the thing! :p

cmb Wed Mar 06, 2013 08:31pm

Looks pretty clear that the blocking foul occurs as A2 is receiving the pass and coming down to the ground. The basket should not count.

Raymond Wed Mar 06, 2013 08:45pm

One of his partners should have come in with some 'info'

JetMetFan Wed Mar 06, 2013 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 883392)
One of his partners should have come in with some 'info'

I thought so too but it's possible they may not have known what he was calling until they got to the monitor.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:48pm

No shot...the defender was already knocked over by the time the ball got to the shooter. I can confidently say that this is not continuous motion! :)

deecee Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:48pm

no way i would have counted that bucket. The pass and the contact happen almost at the same time.

bob jenkins Thu Mar 07, 2013 08:47am

TC foul. No basket.

Indianaref Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 883434)
TC foul. No basket.

That's what I have.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 883434)
TC foul. No basket.

TC foul???? Do you consider it legal for the defender to be moving sideways after the passer was airborne? Or do you think she was enough in the path to be OK to be moving?

ballgame99 Thu Mar 07, 2013 02:27pm

That takes continual motion to the next level. No way that bucket counts regardless of the call on the collision. I say punch it! TC, no bucket. She looks like she has LGP to me. Bang Bang play though.

bob jenkins Thu Mar 07, 2013 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 883467)
TC foul???? Do you consider it legal for the defender to be moving sideways after the passer was airborne? Or do you think she was enough in the path to be OK to be moving?

as I see it, the defender's feet were at about the S and the C when the offensive player left the floor. I don't see movement by the defensive player after that except to shift the weight from the left foot to centered -- and that isn't what caused the contact.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 07, 2013 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 883528)
as I see it, the defender's feet were at about the S and the C when the offensive player left the floor. I don't see movement by the defensive player after that except to shift the weight from the left foot to centered -- and that isn't what caused the contact.

OK. I can buy that. I wasn't sure if you were just assuming it was a TC foul when the primary discussion was really around the subsequent shot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1