The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Resumption of Play Issue (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94211-resumption-play-issue.html)

KevinP Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:10am

Could you call a T on team for not coming out on the floor after the 2nd horn? Could this be construed as a unsporting act and it was attempting to disrupt the FT attempt?

PG_Ref Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KevinP (Post 882387)
Could you call a T on team for not coming out on the floor after the 2nd horn? Could this be construed as a unsporting act and it was attempting to disrupt the FT attempt?

The resumption of play procedure covers this situation after a timeout. I think a T in this situation would be a stretch ... unless you have already gone through the RoP procedure and the behavior continued.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 882350)
all of the above posts went through my head when I initially responded (in fact, I changed my post a couple of times before hitting "submit"). I came down on the side of a double violation.

I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning.

In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too.

Again, that is written without the consideration of the RoP situation. It simply doesn't consider what may or should happen when the RoP is in effect.

In any case, the player in the second place who moves after the ball is live hasn't actually occupied the lower space, they've violated by leaving heir own space by breaking the plane of their lane space before they can ever get into the other lane space. And for a while, they're in both as they're moving. In other words, they've already violated before they get to the other space.

MD Longhorn Thu Feb 28, 2013 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 882346)
I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.

That, 99% of the time, is the right answer to any post. "Going with Bob" is a pretty safe play.

Sharpshooternes Thu Feb 28, 2013 02:23pm

So if we get to the replacement throw and there isn't a Team B player in both lower spaces, is the tech a DOG team tech? Does this "count" as the warning as well for throw in boundary plane violations for the rest of the game or am I mixing rules?

rockyroad Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:13pm

Yes it is a T for DofG.

Yes it covers all other potential DofG as it serves as the warning also.

Adam Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 882453)
Yes it is a T for DofG.

Yes it covers all other potential DofG as it serves as the warning also.

I must be missing something.

rockyroad Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 882456)
I must be missing something.

What are you missing?

10.1.5.A tells us it is a delay of game T for not occupying the required marked lane spaces following the RofP procedure.

9.2.10.A tells us that a DofG T also serves as the Warning recorded in the book and told to the HC.

Sharpshooternes Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:55pm

When you guys whistle a DOG, not necessarily for the OP but any DoG, what is your mechanic? Do you actually go over to the offending team's coach or just Holler at the scorer's table?

Raymond Thu Feb 28, 2013 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 882461)
What are you missing?

10.1.5.A tells us it is a delay of game T for not occupying the required marked lane spaces following the RofP procedure.

9.2.10.A tells us that a DofG T also serves as the Warning recorded in the book and told to the HC.

RPP DOG warnings do not count toward the combo of the other 4 DOG warnings (4-47-1 thru 4) as far as I can remember.

Adam Thu Feb 28, 2013 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 882473)
RPP DOG warnings do not count toward the combo of the other 4 DOG warnings (4-47-1 thru 4) as far as I can remember.

Agreed, and 9.2.10a involves the defender committing a violation that would normally get the warning in the process. The RPP T does not involve that.

I don't think this is a warning.

rockyroad Thu Feb 28, 2013 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 882473)
RPP DOG warnings do not count toward the combo of the other 4 DOG warnings (4-47-1 thru 4) as far as I can remember.

Interesting.

We have always been told the opposite of that. The T is still for Delay of Game, and so it applies to any Delay situations.

Do you have a reference or Interp for that?

We were told that the RPP has the "warning" built into it...if they still don't come out, we assess the T and all warnings are off.

Raymond Thu Feb 28, 2013 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 882485)
Interesting.

We have always been told the opposite of that. The T is still for Delay of Game, and so it applies to any Delay situations.

Do you have a reference or Interp for that?

We were told that the RPP has the "warning" built into it...if they still don't come out, we assess the T and all warnings are off.

I'll get back with you late tonight or tomorrow morning on this one if someone else doesn't jump in first. We discussed it at our last association meeting.

rockyroad Thu Feb 28, 2013 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 882490)
I'll get back with you late tonight or tomorrow morning on this one if someone else doesn't jump in first. We discussed it at our last association meeting.

Please do...we had the same discussion about 3 seasons ago when a crew had a team not come out of huddle and went through the RPP and assessed the T... later had a breaking the plane situation and went right to the T on that. State said they handled it correctly.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 28, 2013 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 882445)
So if we get to the replacement throw and there isn't a Team B player in both lower spaces, is the tech a DOG team tech? Does this "count" as the warning as well for throw in boundary plane violations for the rest of the game or am I mixing rules?

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 882453)
Yes it is a T for DofG.

Yes it covers all other potential DofG as it serves as the warning also.

My answers are: Yes, it is a Team Technical for delaying the game & no it does not constitute a warning of any kind as this is not one of the four types of warnings listed.
This is the similar to the team not being ready to start a half and taking more than one minute or a kid not being in the FT semi-circle when the official is ready to administer (player tech). They have nothing to do with official team warnings for delay.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1