The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   certification question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94184-certification-question.html)

PaulH Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:03pm

certification question

I am curious if an official can be certified in multiple states. I know that it wouldn't be common but I live in a town on the boarder and it got me thinking if someone would have to pick a state or work both.

Thumper68 Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:13pm

I am far from an expert on this, but I do know one official who is certified in both Kansas and Nebraska. I assume that it depends on the states.

Nikki Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:22pm

Pretty sure Missouri allows you to be a "Reciprocal" member if you are already registered in a bordering state

Nevadaref Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PaulH (Post 881889)
I am curious if an official can be certified in multiple states. I know that it wouldn't be common but I live in a town on the boarder and it got me thinking if someone would have to pick a state or work both.

The answer is yes. I am certified for HS in both NV and CA. I live only a few miles from the state line.
There are separate officials associations, and obviously separate governing bodies. I pay dues to both and attend meetings for both.
The insurance policy happens to be the same, so I only buy that once. Also both groups use the same NFHS test. I just take it online twice.

JRutledge Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:11pm

Yes you can be licensed (certification means something different here) in two different states. I doubt one state is not going to take your money if you pay them to be licensed. It is just a matter of what another state will require you do do to have a license. Some have reprocity, others have their own process that will not allow reprocity but will allow you to do what others do to get a license. Basically check your local listings.

Peace