The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball wedged between rim and backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94176-ball-wedged-between-rim-backboard.html)

Coach Lou Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:51pm

Ball wedged between rim and backboard
 
A1 attempts a shot, B1 fouls. Whistle is blown. Ball gets wedged between rim and backboard.

Does the shooting foul gets down graded to a regular foul and ball goes to possesion arrow?

wyo96 Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:55pm

just a missed shot
 
Nope, just a unsuccessful try.
A1 gets 2 free throws, play on from the 2nd.

Indianaref Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 881741)
A1 attempts a shot, B1 fouls. Whistle is blown. Ball gets wedged between rim and backboard.

Does the shooting foul gets down graded to a regular foul and ball goes to possesion arrow?

If B1 fouls A1, then A1 will shoot free throws, play on from there.

maven Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 881741)
A1 attempts a shot, B1 fouls. Whistle is blown. Ball gets wedged between rim and backboard.

Does the shooting foul gets down graded to a regular foul and ball goes to possesion arrow?

Does the ball becoming wedged mean it wasn't a try?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:08pm

I'm always surprised at how confusing the wedged ball seems to be when it's complicated by anything else -- a foul, the shot clock, etc.

Coach Lou Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:12pm

any reference in the rule book regarding something like this?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 881755)
any reference in the rule book regarding something like this?

What would you need? It was a try. It was unsuccessful. There was a foul. Shoot 2 (or 3) FTs.

maven Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 881755)
any reference in the rule book regarding something like this?

For your scenario, the wedged ball changes nothing. The shooter was fouled, and the try was unsuccessful. Proceed from there.

Coach Lou Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:22pm

Thanks

Camron Rust Mon Feb 25, 2013 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 881757)
What would you need? It was a try. It was unsuccessful. There was a foul. Shoot 2 (or 3) FTs.

I think the confusion come from the fact that the rule/case on the wedge ball says that the result is an AP throwin without mentioning that there is no foul.

When you combine the two rules/cases, it becomes necessary to know the assumptions of each rule in order to apply the correct rule.

In this case, the wedged ball rule is superseded by the foul rules because the assumption in the wedged ball rule is that no other infraction has occurred.

Adam Mon Feb 25, 2013 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 881755)
any reference in the rule book regarding something like this?

6-4-3d, "unless a free throw or throw in follows."

BillyMac Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:38pm

I Couldn't Control Myself ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 881754)
I'm always surprised at how confusing the wedged ball seems to be when it's complicated by anything else -- a foul, the shot clock, etc.

http://ts3.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.45671...11998&pid=15.1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1