![]() |
I'm not calling plays 1 or 2 travels. And I think it's be just fine with my supervisors.
|
Saw all three of these in today's Ohio State/Michigan State game.
None were called. |
Quote:
It is not unusual for some plays to be too close to be sure when viewed live but that doesn't meant they are not travels. It just means the typical officials just can't tell at full speed. That is OK, but, again, it still doesn't mean they are not travels. If an official is, however, able to tell, call it, and gets it right, that doesn't make them wrong just because others are incapable of discerning what is is not a travel when it is close. That just means the others couldn't tell. It should be the goal of all officials to call travels that are travels and not call travels that are not travels....and err on the side of calling nothing if they are unsure. To not call travels because they were not big enough travels or because some others can't tell is a slippery slope...how much is big enough. It is a lot easier to have a black and white line on travels, just like out of bounds....it either is or it isn't (whether we call it right nor not). |
Quote:
A prime example of what I'm talking about is play 1 in the OP. The basics of that play - albeit at at least 2 to 4 times the speed of the OP play - happens probably 20-30 times in almost every college game, when guards pop or weave out in a front court set and receive a pass on the top side of the perimeter. Never called a travel, nor should it be, IMO. I'd say my stance is that some types of travels (as well as all OB violations) should be judged with a black and white line of demarcation, but not others. |
By rule, they're all technical violations of the traveling rule.
#1, When the ball is caught, the players R foot is on the floor, making it the pivot. He puts his left foot down, then steps with his right foot. Traveling. #2, When the player sticks his pivot foot, the toe of the shoe is basically at the midpoint of the FT space. After he spins, the toe is almost on the block. IOW, he slides his foot. Traveling. #3, Airborne player catches the ball, lands with his R foot first, then L, then steps with his R. Traveling. I wouldn't call any of them at full speed as I think it would be guessing. |
Quote:
I would notice #1 but probably not call it in a varsity game. I would see #2 (Or hope I would) and I would call it. #3 wouldn't register on my travel radar. |
Quote:
Case in point, these plays we discussed last season: <iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/wi9fMxwglqU?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you gather (sorry, end the dribble for some of y'all) with a foot on the floor, jump off that foot, and land simultaneously on both feet, then no, you can't pivot. Same would apply if he gathered the ball with both feet in the air, landed on one foot, jumped off that foot and landed on both feet simultaneously. The other type of jump stop is the one where a player gathers their dribble with both feet in the air and lands simultaneously...he may pivot with either foot in this case. |
Quote:
|
I think Camron nailed all three of these. I did have a problem with the first play, though, because he didn't seem to be calling the illegal move, but a legal move that followed. If you come that late with a whistle and show as little conviction as the calling official did, I'm going to look extra hard at the play.
Also, if you're going to have a whistle on that play you're setting an extremely difficult standard to measure up to consistently. I thought the other two were obvious gets. Regardless, if you're going to produce a video entitled "Phantom Travels," they damn sure need to be clear phantom travels. |
Quote:
|
The Rivers play is a travel. In my opinion.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm. |