The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Baseline throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94144-baseline-throw.html)

Wellmer Fri Feb 22, 2013 03:06pm

Baseline throw in
 
I thought someone had brought this up recently but I couldn't find it so here goes. After a made basket, team A is attempting a throw in. A1 passes to A2 who is standing out of bounds also. As the pass is traveling between A1 and A2 outside the boundary line, B1 reaches through the plane and knocks it away. Now I know if the person inbounding the ball is holding the ball and the defender touches the ball, it's a technical foul. Is that the same in this case even though it's being passed instead of being held onto?

A related question is, what if this happens with 3 seconds left in the game, and after a timeout has been granted, this issue I explained above, takes place and the clock operator mistakingly starts the clock when they see the pass from A1 to A2? Do you kill it right away or ????

APG Fri Feb 22, 2013 03:12pm

10.3.10 SITUATION B: After a field goal, the score is A-55, B-54. A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 throws the ball toward A2 who also is out of bounds along the end line. B2 reaches across the end line and grabs or slaps the ball while it is in flight. Time expires close to the moment the official indicates the infraction.

RULING: A technical foul is charged against B2. The remaining time or whether Team B had been previously warned for a delay-of-game situation is not a factor. No free throws are *awarded as the winner of the game has been determined. (9-2-10 Penalty 3, 4)

Wellmer Fri Feb 22, 2013 03:14pm

Thanks APG.

Wellmer Fri Feb 22, 2013 03:22pm

Let's throw a wrinkle into this, what if the team inbounding the ball is down by 1? They get the technical shots, but what about the clock? Did that correctly start when the defense touched it? I guess what I am getting at is what's the best approach if the clock operator starts the clock by mistake when A1 and A2 passed it to each other on the end line?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 22, 2013 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wellmer (Post 881217)
Let's throw a wrinkle into this, what if the team inbounding the ball is down by 1? They get the technical shots, but what about the clock? Did that correctly start when the defense touched it? I guess what I am getting at is what's the best approach if the clock operator starts the clock by mistake when A1 and A2 passed it to each other on the end line?

If you see it, stop it and fix it.

If it runs and B touches the ball, reset it before the FTs.

deecee Fri Feb 22, 2013 05:01pm

Why would the clock start after a made basket? If it's after a TO then the clock should never have started as the inbounds pass was never completed.

Steve, I mean Welmer, I mean WELLMER ;)...I mean nevermind.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1