The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Cal v Ore (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94138-cal-v-ore.html)

#olderthanilook Fri Feb 22, 2013 09:01am

Cal v Ore
 
Elbow to the schnoz. Officials don't call a fall, but stop play a few seconds later when they see player on the floor. Go to monitor and assess an F1.

I think the covering official was straighlined. Thoughts?

Raymond Fri Feb 22, 2013 09:42am

Most people don't watch Pac-12 basketball so we need a video :D

JRutledge Fri Feb 22, 2013 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 881108)
Most people don't watch Pac-12 basketball so we need a video :D

I was thinking something similar. I did see part of the game, but I watch basketball instead of America Idol. ;)

Peace

Tio Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:08am

Flag. #1 was the correct call...Not sure why the trail didn't have a whistle but the play was in the corner (T was at the 28 foot line).

bob jenkins Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 881104)
Elbow to the schnoz. Officials don't call a fall, but stop play a few seconds later when they see player on the floor. Go to monitor and assess an F1.

I think the covering official was straighlined. Thoughts?

My thought is that this is exactly why the rule is in place. We can't always see that play, but it's "serious" enough to go back (via the monitor) and get it.

#olderthanilook Fri Feb 22, 2013 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 881124)
My thought is that this is exactly why the rule is in place. We can't always see that play, but it's "serious" enough to go back (via the monitor) and get it.

It was good to see the crew get it right with the use of the monitor.

Just wasn't sure if the correct protocol was used since no foul was called. Only an official's time out because of a man down.

deecee Fri Feb 22, 2013 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 881184)
It was good to see the crew get it right with the use of the monitor.

Just wasn't sure if the correct protocol was used since no foul was called. Only an official's time out because of a man down.

Correct me if I'm wrong but if nothing was called the officials can go to the monitor only to assess if a FF should have been called. They can't go back and retroactively call a simple old common foul.

OrStBballRef Fri Feb 22, 2013 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 881108)
Most people don't watch Pac-12 basketball so we need a video :D

As a proud Oregon State grad and Pac-12 fan I take offen....ahhh no I don't...it's true. Pac12 has been down in basketball for a long time and probably won't be back up there anytime soon.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 22, 2013 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 881190)
Correct me if I'm wrong but if nothing was called the officials can go to the monitor only to assess if a FF should have been called. They can't go back and retroactively call a simple old common foul.

Correct.

Raymond Fri Feb 22, 2013 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OrStBballRef (Post 881200)
As a proud Oregon State grad and Pac-12 fan I take offen....ahhh no I don't...it's true. Pac12 has been down in basketball for a long time and probably won't be back up there anytime soon.

I'm from California so I grew up watching Pac-10 sports. And I actually know one of OSU's assistant coaches from his military days.

That being said, PAC-12 has been pretty bad lately so I always bypass it when channel surfing.

BillyMac Fri Feb 22, 2013 05:24pm

It's True, It's True ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 881108)
Most people don't watch Pac-12 basketball so we need a video.

And remember that the guys from the Southern California area that are officiating Division I basketball this season were officiating girls middle school games just last season.

JetMetFan Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:59am

Here's the play...
 
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/-RJm-a2_mis?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

maven Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:18pm

Anyone like FF2 there?

JRutledge Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 881368)
Anyone like FF2 there?

No.

But it was a FF1 as there was contact.

Peace

AKOFL Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:37pm

looks like there may have been some intent there, but it will have to be more obvious than that to go flag 2.

JRutledge Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 881375)
looks like there may have been some intent there, but it will have to be more obvious than that to go flag 2.

Intent has nothing to do with the rule.

Peace

The_Rookie Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:41pm

Show me the Money!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 881242)
And remember that the guys from the Southern California area that are officiating Division I basketball this season were officiating girls middle school games just last season.

How about the upgrade in game fees :)

AKOFL Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 881376)
Intent has nothing to do with the rule.

Peace

ok. What would make you go with a Flag 2 on a similar play? what would make it flag 1 or 2 in your book? what do you need to see? real question. no sarcasm. i just think intent can get you into trouble without contact. a punch or kick is flag 2 without contact. you intended to hit or kick that player even though you didn't thought?

JRutledge Sat Feb 23, 2013 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 881380)
ok. What would make you go with a Flag 2 on a similar play? what would make it flag 1 or 2 in your book? what do you need to see? real question. no sarcasm. i just think intent can get you into trouble without contact. a punch or kick is flag 2 without contact. you intended to hit or kick that player even though you didn't thought?

First of all a punch and a kick are two different things and fit a different definition that could result in a FF2. This was a basketball play and a because all contact at the NCAA level with the elbows above the shoulders are FFs, then this just fits the definition. But this was not savage in nature or even out of bounds from a common sense point of view.

Here are the definitions.

c. Flagrant 1 personal foul. A flagrant 1 personal foul shall be a personal foul that is deemed excessive in nature and/or unnecessary, but not based solely on the severity of the act. Examples include, but are not limited to:
1. Causing excessive contact with an opponent while playing the ball;
2. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball or player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting;
3. Pushing or holding a player from behind to prevent a score;
4. Fouling a player clearly away from the ball who is not directly involved with the play, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting; and
5. Contact with a player making a throw-in. (Women) This act shall also serve as a team warning for reaching through the boundary. (See Rule 4-17.1.g.)
6. Illegal contact with an elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively per 4-36.7.a.


d. Flagrant 2 personal foul. A flagrant 2 personal foul shall be a personal foul that involves contact with an opponent that is not only excessive, but also severe or extreme while the ball is live.

Peace

AKOFL Sat Feb 23, 2013 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 881382)
First of all a punch and a kick are two different things and fit a different definition that could result in a FF2. This was a basketball play and a because all contact at the NCAA level with the elbows above the shoulders are FFs, then this just fits the definition. But this was not savage in nature or even out of bounds from a common sense point of view.

Here are the definitions.

c. Flagrant 1 personal foul. A flagrant 1 personal foul shall be a personal foul that is deemed excessive in nature and/or unnecessary, but not based solely on the severity of the act. Examples include, but are not limited to:
1. Causing excessive contact with an opponent while playing the ball;
2. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball or player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting;
3. Pushing or holding a player from behind to prevent a score;
4. Fouling a player clearly away from the ball who is not directly involved with the play, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting; and
5. Contact with a player making a throw-in. (Women) This act shall also serve as a team warning for reaching through the boundary. (See Rule 4-17.1.g.)
6. Illegal contact with an elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively per 4-36.7.a.


d. Flagrant 2 personal foul. A flagrant 2 personal foul shall be a personal foul that involves contact with an opponent that is not only excessive, but also severe or extreme while the ball is live.

Peace

agreed.

But if you see a player look right at the defender and swing his elbow in a legal manner right into the head that wouldn't factor into your decision? I open to changing my view on this.

JRutledge Sat Feb 23, 2013 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 881383)
agreed.

But if you see a player look right at the defender and swing his elbow in a legal manner right into the head that wouldn't factor into your decision? I open to changing my view on this.

OK. He looked at him and that is your justification for a FF2? So what if he missed? Are we considering that a punch too?

Do not make this more complicated than it is. You asked and I doubt many officials with any common sense are going to consider this slight contact as savage in nature. I have seen a lot worse that would never result in an ejection and not advocated as such by the powers that be. And really not trying to change your mind, you asked a question and I am giving you an answer. You do with that information whatever you choose to do with it. I know what I would call and what I would not call.

Peace

Camron Rust Sat Feb 23, 2013 03:55pm

Ff1

deecee Sat Feb 23, 2013 04:17pm

That court should be a FF1. It is probably one of the ugliest and most distracting things I have ever seen.

I also love the leads Oh S@#$ mechanics to blow the ball dead.

AKOFL Sat Feb 23, 2013 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 881386)
OK. He looked at him and that is your justification for a FF2? So what if he missed? Are we considering that a punch too?

Do not make this more complicated than it is. You asked and I doubt many officials with any common sense are going to consider this slight contact as savage in nature. I have seen a lot worse that would never result in an ejection and not advocated as such by the powers that be. And really not trying to change your mind, you asked a question and I am giving you an answer. You do with that information whatever you choose to do with it. I know what I would call and what I would not call.

Peace

point taken. on a side note, thanks for noticing my lack of common sense.

JRutledge Sat Feb 23, 2013 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 881401)
point taken. on a side note, thanks for noticing my lack of common sense.

I do not recall that you were on the game, so you were asking a question if anyone felt that it was a FF2 right?

Peace

AKOFL Sat Feb 23, 2013 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 881402)
I do not recall that you were on the game, so you were asking a question if anyone felt that it was a FF2 right?

Peace

not that play. it was ff1 all the way. my question was if you could clearly see some one was throwing the elbow on purpose and made contact, ( similar to post) that would not be enought for u to upgrade to ff2. the contact would have to be severe in nature. just because he was trying to elbow him in the head is not enough. You cannot use intent to get that call. I get it now. just fail to understand why i have no common sense:)

JRutledge Sat Feb 23, 2013 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 881405)
not that play. it was ff1 all the way. my question was if you could clearly see some one was throwing the elbow on purpose and made contact, ( similar to post) that would not be enought for u to upgrade to ff2. the contact would have to be severe in nature. just because he was trying to elbow him in the head is not enough. You cannot use intent to get that call. I get it now. just fail to understand why i have no common sense:)

It is the action, not the intent or lack there of. The player can hit someone in the face with an elbow and it could be accidental and be a FF1 or 2.

And your lack of common sense is something you will have to evaluate. I just said that an official with common sense would not look at this on video and say, "That was a FF2." Now since you were not reviewing the play in this particular game and making a decision (same as me), not sure why the common sense part of my stance applied to you at all? But then again is the day in the life of people on this board, personalize everything. ;)

Peace

Lotto Sat Feb 23, 2013 06:19pm

Here's the NCAA rule (2-13.2.d)
 
Art 2. Officials may use such available equipment [Replay/Television Equipment] only in the following situations:
d. Fouls.
1. Determine if a flagrant 2 personal foul, flagrant 2 contact technical foul or (women) flagrant 1 personal foul for illegal contact with an elbow above the shoulders of an opponent or a (women) contact dead ball technical foul for illegal contact with an elbow above the shoulders of an opponent occurred. When it is determined that a flagrant 2 contact technical foul did not occur but a flagrant 1 personal foul, or contact dead ball technical foul did occur, those fouls shall be penalized accordingly. However, no other infractions may be penalized.
a. When there is a foul called for contact, the officials, with a plausible reason, may review the severity of that foul during the dead ball period following the call. When the ball becomes live, there shall be no review of the made call.
b. A coach may request a monitor review to determine if any of the fouls in 2-13.2.d.1 occurred. When no such foul is assessed, a timeout shall be charged to that team.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 23, 2013 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 881405)
not that play. it was ff1 all the way. my question was if you could clearly see some one was throwing the elbow on purpose and made contact, ( similar to post) that would not be enought for u to upgrade to ff2. the contact would have to be severe in nature. just because he was trying to elbow him in the head is not enough. You cannot use intent to get that call. I get it now. just fail to understand why i have no common sense:)

Yes you can. If there's intent to strike, then get the FF2. Or, if the elbows are swung excessively (meaning faster than the torso; using the shoulders as a pivot), and there's contact above the shoulders.

This play was a FF1.

ODJ Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:20pm

Seeing it live, first thought was a flop as Kazemi fell straight back, plus there was no immediate call.
Both L and T were straight-lined so they missed it.

With an injured player, just stop the game, to hell with mechanics.

Kazemi suffered a cut around his gum line.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1