The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Indiana/Michigan St. Flagrant. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94106-indiana-michigan-st-flagrant.html)

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:26pm

Indiana/Michigan St. Flagrant.
 
15:27 of 2nd half. Watford got a PC foul, looked at video, then upgraded to FF1. Announcers said he got two fouls? Is that right?

APG Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:29pm

I thought they said he received a personal foul...then a dead ball contact T.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:32pm

Also at 12:34 of second half. Block/charge on MSU. Need this clip, Ted Valentine counted the bucket. Need to review this.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 880488)
I thought they said he received a personal foul...then a dead ball contact T.

They called the elbow a PC. How could they call the elbow a PC and a dead ball foul?

just another ref Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 880489)
Also at 12:34 of second half. Block/charge on MSU. Need this clip, Ted Valentine counted the bucket. Need to review this.

Block call was ok, I think. Counting the basket was not, I think.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 880491)
Block call was ok, I think. Counting the basket was not, I think.

I agree on the block, but don't see anyway to count the bucket. I know one thing that game in that atmosphere would be so fun to call.

APG Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 880490)
They called the elbow a PC. How could they call the elbow a PC and a dead ball foul?

Just flipped to the channel from watching another game and heard them say that...they also mentioned that Valentine talked to them so I assumed they didn't mess it up...that bad.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 880493)
Just flipped to the channel from watching another game and heard them say that...they also mentioned that Valentine talked to them so I assumed they didn't mess it up...that bad.

It looked like he got the arm in the chest first, the whistle blew, then on the follow through caught him in the nose. I guess that would justify it.

ODJ Tue Feb 19, 2013 08:56pm

NCAA - If the ball is released before contact, count the bucket.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 880498)
NCAA - If the ball is released before contact, count the bucket.

Oh, it wasn't.

cmb Tue Feb 19, 2013 09:09pm

Hey guys, been a lurker for a while and finally decided to start posting.

Anyways, here's what I saw: during live action, the lead called a foul on the Michigan St. defender. During the ensuing commercial break, they went to the monitor to review for possible elbow contact by the Indiana player to the head of the defender. Since the defensive foul was already called, they ruled the elbow contact to the head of the defender a dead ball contact technical on the offensive player.

In my opinion, the elbow contact came prior to any illegal contact by the defender so the correct call should have been a flagrant 1 on the offensive player. However, that wasn't really an option once they went to the monitor since the personal foul had already been called.

On a side note, if anyone posts a video, Pat Driscoll's mechanics on that play left something to be desired. He ended up pointing repeatedly at the guy on the ground who had just been elbowed pretty hard to the face. It looked almost like an "in your face" gesture, even though I knew he was just calling a foul on him. Wish he would have pointed lower.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmb (Post 880500)
Hey guys, been a lurker for a while and finally decided to start posting.

Anyways, here's what I saw: during live action, the lead called a foul on the Michigan St. defender. During the ensuing commercial break, they went to the monitor to review for possible elbow contact by the Indiana player to the head of the defender. Since the defensive foul was already called, they ruled the elbow contact to the head of the defender a dead ball contact technical on the offensive player.

In my opinion, the elbow contact came prior to any illegal contact by the defender so the correct call should have been a flagrant 1 on the offensive player. However, that wasn't really an option once they went to the monitor since the personal foul had already been called.



On a side note, if anyone posts a video, Pat Driscoll's mechanics on that play left something to be desired. He ended up pointing repeatedly at the guy on the ground who had just been elbowed pretty hard to the face. It looked almost like an "in your face" gesture, even though I knew he was just calling a foul on him. Wish he would have pointed lower.

I thought they called a PC on the Indiana player. Maybe I am wrong.

OKREF Tue Feb 19, 2013 09:21pm

Get a clip of the foul at 3.7 seconds in the game also. I just don't see the foul.

cmb Tue Feb 19, 2013 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 880502)
I thought they called a PC on the Indiana player. Maybe I am wrong.

No, they definitely called a foul on the Mich St player first for the forearm on the dribbler.

pfan1981 Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:31pm

Anyone think the official was wrong to point at the MSU player for so long while he was on the floor?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1