The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rebounder Steps on Player Below, Then.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94093-rebounder-steps-player-below-then.html)

Freddy Mon Feb 18, 2013 02:19pm

Rebounder Steps on Player Below, Then....
 
I don't think this slightly different play differs much from the previous thread which considered the rebounder who, after landing on the floor, trips over the opponent lying on the floor and commits a travel violation. But just wanted to throw it by you guys to see. Local debate raging currently on this sitch . . .

B2, for whatever reason (nothing illegal about how he got there or what he is doing there), is lying on the floor under the basket. A1, having gained player control on the rebound, lands with one foot on B2. Loosing his balance, A1, still with player control of the ball, falls to the floor before establishing a pivot foot.

I'm applying the Fed principles of the aforementioned thread and determining that a travel violation has occurred. Others in our area are adamant that they're calling a blocking foul on B2.

Anything you can say one way or the other?

just another ref Mon Feb 18, 2013 02:22pm

There is no backing for a blocking foul on this play as described in NFHS rules.

maven Mon Feb 18, 2013 02:23pm

Been beaten to death in numerous threads.

NFHS: every player entitled to spot on floor, LGP irrelevant since defender is stationary, if defender absolutely stationary this is a no-call/travel.

NCAA: block, due explicit ruling.

OKREF Mon Feb 18, 2013 02:54pm

Have to agree. If the player lying on the floor isn't moving then it is travel. If theplayer on floor moves we have a foul.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 18, 2013 06:10pm

You might even have a PC foul on A1 for jumping on B2.:eek:

BillyMac Mon Feb 18, 2013 06:56pm

I Cannot Tell A Lie ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 880278)
You might even have a PC foul on A1 for jumping on B2.

Did B2 have legal lying position?

Camron Rust Mon Feb 18, 2013 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 880285)
Did B2 have legal lying position?

Doesn't need it. :D

Adam Mon Feb 18, 2013 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 880288)
Doesn't need it. :D

Exactly, he's entitled to his nap.

knockitoff Wed Feb 20, 2013 08:21am

4.23.1
 
"...A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs."

CMHCoachNRef Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 880278)
You might even have a PC foul on A1 for jumping on B2.:eek:

Could not possibly have this unless player was, uh, in position, BEFORE A1 left the floor, correct?

Camron Rust Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 880589)
Could not possibly have this unless player was, uh, in position, BEFORE A1 left the floor, correct?

Yes. From the wording of the OP, I took that to the be the case. If B1 falls under an airborne A1, they have not met the time/distance requirements and can still be called for a block...they didn't get to that spot legally.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1