The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Minnesota/Wisconsin Block/charge and Out of bounds travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94056-minnesota-wisconsin-block-charge-out-bounds-travel.html)

paulsonj72 Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:05pm

Minnesota/Wisconsin Block/charge and Out of bounds travel
 
Can some get the charge on Minnesota with 22.6 seconds left in regulation as well as the ensuing out of bounds travel on Wisconsin.

Welpe Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:12pm

Out of bounds travel?

Adam Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 879749)
Out of bounds travel?

Breathe.

paulsonj72 Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 879749)
Out of bounds travel?

On the ensuing inbounds play following the charge the Wisconsin player moved on a designated spot throw in, thus the term out of bounds travel.

OKREF Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 879751)
On the ensuing inbounds play following the charge the Wisconsin player moved on a designated spot throw in, thus the term out of bounds travel.

It isn't a travel. It is spot throw in violation.

APG Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 879751)
On the ensuing inbounds play following the charge the Wisconsin player moved on a designated spot throw in, thus the term out of bounds travel.

A player doesn't have to be a statue during a spot throw-in...

paulsonj72 Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 879753)
A player doesn't have to be a statue during a spot throw-in...

He moved outside the three foot space allowef during a spot throw in. It wasn't really debatable. Even Bo Ryan didn't argue.

JetMetFan Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 879754)
He moved outside the three foot space allowef during a spot throw in. It wasn't really debatable. Even Bo Ryan didn't argue.

That's not what we're debating. It's the term you used that made the hair on our necks stand up. :eek:

paulsonj72 Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 879762)
That's not what we're debating. It's the term you used that made the hair on our necks stand up. :eek:

Sorry I used incorrect terminology

APG Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:15am

Just making sure you knew the rule. Too many times, you'll see officials trying to apply the travel rules to the thrower during a throw-in.

Anyhow here are the plays:

First play:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/digmGJnQJek" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Second play:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/0E0zHr-sdgY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

fullor30 Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 879762)
That's not what we're debating. It's the term you used that made the hair on our necks stand up. :eek:

Out of bounds walking would be much better

HawkeyeCubP Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:21am

The announcer is completely wrong in the RA rule. The rule involves being in or over the RA, of which the entire line is a part of. (Big surprise there.)

APG Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 879767)
The announcer is completely wrong in the RA rule. The rule involves being in or over the RA, of which the entire line is a part of. (Big surprise there.)

Yup he's dead wrong in his interpretation there and he'd be wrong under NBA rules as well.

paulsonj72 Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:36am

Ok Now About the Charge
 
OK now what do you have on the charge. To me it looked like the UW player did not have LGP and moved in while the UM player was in the air. But what do you have

HawkeyeCubP Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 879773)
OK now what do you have on the charge. To me it looked like the UW player did not have LGP and moved in while the UM player was in the air. But what do you have

NCAA RA block. HS player control.

stiffler3492 Sat Feb 16, 2013 03:06am

Is B1 not still moving forward, towards A1, after A1 jumped?

bob jenkins Sat Feb 16, 2013 07:08am

Glad to see the official used the correct signal on the throw-in violation.

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 16, 2013 07:09am

I like both calls.

However, the throw-in should have been from the C's side of the key - the opposite side from where the ball was inbounded.

SNIPERBBB Sat Feb 16, 2013 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 879784)
Is B1 not still moving forward, towards A1, after A1 jumped?

Looks to me like B1 is straightening his body and not moving towards A1.

jTheUmp Sat Feb 16, 2013 09:44am

I watched it live, and thought it was a block, as I thought the defender was moving towards the offensive player when the contact occurred. The replays I saw did nothing to dissuade me of my notion. (and no, I'm not a Minnesota homer).

The throw-in violation surprised the hell out of me when it happened, in a "did he really just do that?" kind of way.

Raymond Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:25am

Left heel was over RA arc, block.

Rob1968 Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:36am

Last night, observing BV game, 3-man crew endline spot throw-in, thrower leaves the spot, but the only official that realized it to be a violation was the Trail. He chose not to come in on the call.
After the game I asked him about it, and he admitted having second thoughts, but didn't want to "take over the game," by coming in on his partner.
Thoughts, comments, please.

billyu2 Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 879811)
Last night, observing BV game, 3-man crew endline spot throw-in, thrower leaves the spot, but the only official that realized it to be a violation was the Trail. He chose not to come in on the call.
After the game I asked him about it, and he admitted having second thoughts, but didn't want to "take over the game," by coming in on his partner.
Thoughts, comments, please.

I think he should have made the call. The other night I had a first in 30 yrs. calling a backcourt violation from the lead position: Missed attempt bounced to the corner where on offensive player ran it down and before going OOB threw the ball into the backcourt where a teammate retrieved it. Waited a sec. to see if T or C recognized it and when they didn't, man, I just "took over that game" and made the call.

JetMetFan Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 879811)
Last night, observing BV game, 3-man crew endline spot throw-in, thrower leaves the spot, but the only official that realized it to be a violation was the Trail. He chose not to come in on the call.
After the game I asked him about it, and he admitted having second thoughts, but didn't want to "take over the game," by coming in on his partner.
Thoughts, comments, please.

I had the same situation about 15 years ago in a BV game. I was the new L on a backcourt inbounds play after a time out. A1 left the designated spot along the end line and I came in and called the violation when the new T brain locked and the C didn't pick it up, either. I felt awkward for a moment coming in from 50 feet away but the three of us had gotten together during the TO (it was late in the game) and reminded each other that it was a spot throw-in. I would've felt worse letting the play continue.

JimmyJimmy Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 879754)
He moved outside the three foot space allowef during a spot throw in .

Yep - he is clearly outside the 3 ft space. Just for my understanding though, isn't it true that the thrower does not have to be completely inside the 3ft space - just as long as part of him/her (a foot) is in the 3ft space?

bob jenkins Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyJimmy (Post 879816)
Yep - he is clearly outside the 3 ft space. Just for my understanding though, isn't it true that the thrower does not have to be completely inside the 3ft space - just as long as part of him/her (a foot) is in the 3ft space?

Correct -- in or over the space

Adam Sat Feb 16, 2013 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 879811)
Last night, observing BV game, 3-man crew endline spot throw-in, thrower leaves the spot, but the only official that realized it to be a violation was the Trail. He chose not to come in on the call.
After the game I asked him about it, and he admitted having second thoughts, but didn't want to "take over the game," by coming in on his partner.
Thoughts, comments, please.

We had one last night, FC throw on the end line. I'm C. Thrower starts to slide over under the basket, slowly, and eventually gets to about half-way through the lane before he throws the ball in. I debated making the call, but he would have had to get further before I called it.

L admitted later that he should have called it.

canuckrefguy Sat Feb 16, 2013 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 879749)
Out of bounds travel?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 879750)
Breathe.

hahaha :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1