The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94036-over-back.html)

imaxfli Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:22pm

Over and back???
 
On game start jump ball....ball is tipped to frontcourt to player where he control tips it to backcourt to teammate..is this over and back???? I say yes.

#olderthanilook Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:37pm

You posted this using your smart phone, didn't you?

Adam Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaxfli (Post 879416)
On game start jump ball....ball is tipped to frontcourt to player where he control tips it to backcourt to teammate..is this over and back???? I say yes.

There's no such thing as a "control tip." If he didn't hold it, he didn't have control, thus a legal play.

PG_Ref Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaxfli (Post 879416)
On game start jump ball....ball is tipped to frontcourt to player where he control tips it to backcourt to teammate..is this over and back???? I say yes.

What needs to happen for there to be a backcourt violation? Also, look at rule 4-12.

Rule 4-12

ART. 6

Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal

rekent Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 879426)
Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal

But the "jump ball" ended when it was touched by a non-jumper. 6-3-8.

PG_Ref Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 879427)
But the "jump ball" ended when it was touched by a non-jumper. 6-3-8.

True ... but I wasn't trying to suggest that as the only criteria. Just an extra little caveat.

Adam Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 879427)
But the "jump ball" ended when it was touched by a non-jumper. 6-3-8.

True, but when does control get established?

APG Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:50pm

I wouldn't have a backcourt violation.

rekent Thu Feb 14, 2013 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 879430)
True, but when does control get established?

I wasn't trying to imply there'd be a backcourt, I say tip is not enough for control.

Adam Thu Feb 14, 2013 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 879444)
I wasn't trying to imply there'd be a backcourt, I say tip is not enough for control.

I was simply pointing out the intent behind PG's reference.

bauzer714 Thu Feb 14, 2013 01:48pm

If he/she intentionally pushed the ball to the back court, it is control. The ball went where the player intended.

Over and Back

APG Thu Feb 14, 2013 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879454)
If he/she intentionally pushed the ball to the back court, it is control. The ball went where the player intended.

Over and Back

Intent has nothing to do with it...players intentionally bat rebounds into the backcourt all the time and no one would imagine calling a backcourt violation there if a teammate were to recover the ball (and rightfully so).

The only question is as to whether there is player control or not is whether the player was dribbling (no pertinent in this play) or holding the ball.

rockyroad Thu Feb 14, 2013 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879454)
If he/she intentionally pushed the ball to the back court, it is control. The ball went where the player intended.

Over and Back

That's a nice, generic use of the word "control", but it is not the basketball definition of "control".

If you're going to use your definition of control, then we would have to say the initial tap by the jumper established team control.

MD Longhorn Thu Feb 14, 2013 01:56pm

"Control Tip" LOL.... like "Slap bunt" in softball. Two words, mutually exclusive, jammed together to describe something near the border of both.

A slap is not a bunt - it is a type of hit. A bunt cannot be a slap.

A tip is not a type of control - it is the absence of control. Control means possession, and cannot be a tip.

maven Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaxfli (Post 879416)
On game start jump ball....ball is tipped to frontcourt to player where he control tips it to backcourt to teammate..is this over and back???? I say yes.

Tips, no. Catches and passes, yes.

Raymond Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879454)
If he/she intentionally pushed the ball to the back court, it is control. The ball went where the player intended.

Over and Back

I'm betting you don't have a rule book.

bauzer714 Sat Feb 16, 2013 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 879460)
That's a nice, generic use of the word "control", but it is not the basketball definition of "control".

If you're going to use your definition of control, then we would have to say the initial tap by the jumper established team control.

The rule book does say that no player control exists during a jump ball. The player may not have 'control' but the team does. A team has the control during a pass. I would argue a 'controlled tip' is absolutely a pass. Ball location in 4.4.2 puts the 'location' of the ball in the FC, then control tipped (passed) to a teammate in the BC. Thus, O&B.

Adam Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879829)
The rule book does say that no player control exists during a jump ball. The player may not have 'control' but the team does. A team has the control during a pass. I would argue a 'controlled tip' is absolutely a pass. Ball location in 4.4.2 puts the 'location' of the ball in the FC, then control tipped (passed) to a teammate in the BC. Thus, O&B.

It also says no "team control" exists during the jump ball. How does team control get established? When a player establishes player control or when the ball is placed at his disposal for a FT or TI. None of those events has occurred yet.

TC has not been established.

deecee Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879454)
If he/she intentionally pushed the ball to the back court, it is control. The ball went where the player intended.

Over and Back

The only time I would try and gather intent was if I was debating between intentional flagrant foul and a simple intentional foul.

deecee Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879829)
The rule book does say that no player control exists during a jump ball. The player may not have 'control' but the team does. A team has the control during a pass. I would argue a 'controlled tip' is absolutely a pass. Ball location in 4.4.2 puts the 'location' of the ball in the FC, then control tipped (passed) to a teammate in the BC. Thus, O&B.

You cannot establish team control without having player control. Ball gets tipped on the jump ball there is no player or team control until a player first gets control.


A tip and a pass are two different things. Simply batting a ball does not constitute control. If the ball comes to rest (palming) and the player throws the ball like most would a baseball then that's different. That is not a bat or a tip.

rockyroad Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879829)
The rule book does say that no player control exists during a jump ball. The player may not have 'control' but the team does. A team has the control during a pass. I would argue a 'controlled tip' is absolutely a pass. Ball location in 4.4.2 puts the 'location' of the ball in the FC, then control tipped (passed) to a teammate in the BC. Thus, O&B.

If there is no control to start with, how in the world can there suddenly be team control without there ever being any player control?? And to establish player control, there are very definite requirements...and tipping the ball does not meet those requirements.

BillyMac Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:31pm

There's No Judge In Judgment ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879829)
I would argue a 'controlled tip' is absolutely a pass.

During the controlled tip would you grant a request for a timeout? Whether player control exists during a controlled tip, or not, is a judgment call, and that's why we get paid the big bucks, at least here in the Constitution State.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 879831)
The only time I would try and gather intent was if I was debating between intentional flagrant foul and a simple intentional foul.

Sigh, which does not exist, but don't let that stop you from giving advice.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 16, 2013 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bauzer714 (Post 879829)
The rule book does say that no player control exists during a jump ball. The player may not have 'control' but the team does. A team has the control during a pass. I would argue a 'controlled tip' is absolutely a pass. Ball location in 4.4.2 puts the 'location' of the ball in the FC, then control tipped (passed) to a teammate in the BC. Thus, O&B.

You could argue that all you want and you would still be incorrect.
No backcourt violation is possible until a player, who is inbounds, either holds or dribbles the ball. There is nothing else to this.

bauzer714 Sat Feb 16, 2013 03:52pm

Good points were definitely made here. I think you guys are right. I do stand corrected, this is not o&b.

deecee Sat Feb 16, 2013 05:09pm

Typed to fast - flagrant v. intentional. But that won't stop one member from being a nitpicking twit.

rockyroad Sat Feb 16, 2013 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 879850)
Typed to fast - flagrant v. intentional. But that won't stop one member from being a nitpicking twit.

Interestingly enough, those nitpicking twits are usually the ones that get things handled properly when the sh!t hits the fan in a game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1