The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over & Back (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94010-over-back.html)

Gargil Wed Feb 13, 2013 08:05am

Over & Back
 
I had a situation that I think I kicked. Team A has the ball in the front court and A1 makes a cross court lob pass over the head of A2, the ball bounces twice (the second bounce landed on the half court line) and then A2 recovers with both feet still in the front court. Did the ball gain backcourt status by bouncing on the half court line and therefore I should have called over & back??

BayStateRef Wed Feb 13, 2013 08:19am

Yes.

rawhi1 Wed Feb 13, 2013 08:26am

Check it out!
 
Look at rule 4-13-2. Does this help? And remember last team ( a or b) to touch in frontcourt can't be first to touch in backcourt.

Adam Wed Feb 13, 2013 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rawhi1 (Post 878950)
Look at rule 4-13-2. Does this help? And remember last team ( a or b) to touch in frontcourt can't be first to touch in backcourt.

This is close, but by your wording the OP would be legal since A2 touched the ball in the FC.

The team in control cannot be the last to touch the ball in the FC and then the first to touch after the ball gains BC status. It doesn't matter what the status is when A2 touches it.

Gargil Wed Feb 13, 2013 09:00am

Learn & Move On!
 
I was pretty sure that I should have called the violation but I just was not processing fast enough to react in time. This won't happen again.

Sharpshooternes Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 878953)
This is close, but by your wording the OP would be legal since A2 touched the ball in the FC.

The team in control cannot be the last to touch the ball in the FC and then the first to touch after the ball gains BC status. It doesn't matter what the status is when A2 touches it.

Adam, this is a violation.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 14, 2013 06:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 879306)
Adam, this is a violation.

He knows the bc rule. He's been a regular contributor to the forum for ten years!
He was trying to provide more precision to the language used by another poster.

Adam Thu Feb 14, 2013 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 879322)
He knows the bc rule. He's been a regular contributor to the forum for ten years!
He was trying to provide more precision to the language used by another poster.

Yep, and I called it for the first time last month in a ms girls game. When I explained it to the coach, he responded that "she must have the longest arms....". :shrug:

Ten years? Wow. I hadn't realized that.

Welpe Thu Feb 14, 2013 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 879336)
Ten years? Wow. I hadn't realized that.

Congrats. The flowers are in the mail.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1