The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Foul question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94006-double-foul-question.html)

Dave9819 Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:25pm

Double Foul question
 
Here is the scenario:

Held ball called, possession arrow points to Team A.

Team A awarded alternating possession throw-in on end line.

A1 has the ball for the alternating possession throw-in.

Before A1 releases the ball, A2 and B2 are called for a double-foul.

I know we go with point of interruption. A2 and B2 are charged with the fouls, and Team A will have the ball for the throw-in.

My question is, is this still an alternating possession throw-in, or just a throw-in?

I am confused because when we say point of interruption, would we consider the point of interruption the AP throw-in, or does the double foul cause the throw-in to be just a "regular" throw-in, with the arrow not being changed?

Thanks!

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:39pm

POI is the AP throw-in.

Dave9819 Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:42pm

That is what I thought, and that is what I called. Team B's coach disagreed (no surprise), but what really got me second guessing myself is in the locker room after the game, my partner disagreed with my ruling.

Glad I stuck to my guns.

I guess reading the rules does come in handy, lol.

Raymond Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave9819 (Post 878907)
That is what I thought, and that is what I called. Team B's coach disagreed (no surprise), but what really got me second guessing myself is in the locker room after the game, my partner disagreed with my ruling.

Glad I stuck to my guns.

I guess reading the rules does come in handy, lol.

Yep you got it right b/c an AP throw-in is a specific type of throw-in and it was the POI.

JetMetFan Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave9819 (Post 878907)
my partner disagreed with my ruling.

What did your partner think you should have done? Just curious.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 13, 2013 05:52am

Let me put it this way--had there been a double technical foul prior to the official handing the ball to the thrower for the AP throw-in would you still be second guessing yourself?
You should ask your partner if he would administer an AP or a normal throw-in following a double T. There is no rules difference between that and the play you described.

Coach Lou Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:27am

Does the possesion arrow stay with A or Switches to B?

bob jenkins Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 879061)
Does the possesion arrow stay with A or Switches to B?

It's still an AP throw-in. What happens when an AP throw-in ends?

mplagrow Wed Feb 13, 2013 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Lou (Post 879061)
Does the possesion arrow stay with A or Switches to B?

The arrow doesn't change until the throw-in is successfully completed. Continue the play as you would have if no double foul occurred--so the arrow stays with A.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Feb 13, 2013 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow (Post 879111)
The arrow doesn't change until the throw-in touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player, or until the throwing team violates.

Fixed it for you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1