The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did he have possession?! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93907-did-he-have-possession.html)

evictor24 Wed Feb 06, 2013 07:44am

Did he have possession?!
 
Last night in our varsity boys contest, Team A is at the free throw line with 1 shot left. Player A1 is lined up correctly between B1 and B2. The FT hits the back of the rim and is coming almost straight down between the three players. A1, who is a good leaper, jumps and intentionally bats the ball with one hand towards mid court. And I don't know if "bats" does this justice. It was a laser! A2 who is near the division line jumps and tries to stop it from going in the backcourt, but only tips it. THEN, A3 Jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands both feet in the frontcourt.

My question is, did team A gain possession when A1 intentionally struck the ball towards his teammates near the division line?

What's your call?

JetMetFan Wed Feb 06, 2013 07:50am

Here's NFHS rule 4-12 arts. 1-3. You tell us....

Quote:

ART. 1

A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.

ART. 2
A team is in control of the ball:

a. When a player of the team is in control.
b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

ART. 3

Team control continues until:

a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.

evictor24 Wed Feb 06, 2013 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 877329)
Here's NFHS rule 4-12 arts. 1-3. You tell us....

I've read the rule, and I need help interpreting the rule in relation to this situation. That's why I've posted it here. :)

APG Wed Feb 06, 2013 08:38am

Would you grant a timeout in the period in which A1 had contact with the ball?

More likely than not, A1 did not have possession of the ball.

Adam Wed Feb 06, 2013 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by evictor24 (Post 877333)
I've read the rule, and I need help interpreting the rule in relation to this situation. That's why I've posted it here. :)

Ok then.

For TC to be established here, pc must be established.

To establish pc, a player must be holding or dribbling the ball. Did your volleyball spike look anything like holding the ball?

Jay R Wed Feb 06, 2013 08:45am

The way I try to simplify it in that situation is to see if the player caught the ball and threw it (even if only with one hand) or did he bat/tip/deflect etc.... the ball. One establishes control and the other doesn't.

evictor24 Wed Feb 06, 2013 08:47am

Thanks fellas!

APG Wed Feb 06, 2013 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 877336)
The way I try to simplify it in that situation is to see if the player caught the ball and threw it (even if only with one hand) or did he bat/tip/deflect etc.... the ball. One establishes control and the other doesn't.

And this is what the NBA uses to determine possession with regard to the shot clock.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1